redordead Posted December 13, 2023 Share Posted December 13, 2023 I didn't have the points for the initial batch and was too lazy/busy for the general. I probably average about 10 games a season between European mid weeks, away games that suit and the odd pittodrie trip so can't grumble. The recent performances also made me question another Hampden trip to sit in the rain watching us 2 down at half time. ( I appreciate it isn't Celtic this time) I'll turn it into Superbowl day in the house with the boys and some friends. I am headed to Frankfurt with the boys and weirdly hoping that we can put out a second string that will be competitive. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted December 13, 2023 Share Posted December 13, 2023 1 hour ago, redordead said: I am headed to Frankfurt with the boys You do realise it's at pittodrie? 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DantheDon Posted December 14, 2023 Share Posted December 14, 2023 (edited) 4 hours ago, RicoS321 said: You do realise it's at pittodrie? I read it that way as well but I assume redordead means the frankfurt game at Pittodrie. In for a shock if not. Edited December 14, 2023 by DantheDon 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted December 14, 2023 Share Posted December 14, 2023 Miovski injury doubt? https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/sport/football/aberdeen-fc/6291515/aberdeen-face-injury-sweat-on-star-striker-bojan-miovski-for-euro-clash-and-potentially-viaplay-cup-final/ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted December 14, 2023 Share Posted December 14, 2023 1 hour ago, Elgindon said: Miovski injury doubt? https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/sport/football/aberdeen-fc/6291515/aberdeen-face-injury-sweat-on-star-striker-bojan-miovski-for-euro-clash-and-potentially-viaplay-cup-final/ Hopefully mind games, certainly hope we don’t see him against Frankfurt! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted December 14, 2023 Share Posted December 14, 2023 Hopefully we'll keep him wrapped in cotton wool ahead of Wednesday's crucial relegation battle against Livingston. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tlg1903 Posted December 14, 2023 Share Posted December 14, 2023 See Cuntwell didn't travel with the hun squad to seville for personal matters.... Reeks of he's had a falling out with the manager (who, 2bf, doesn't seem a sufferer of fools). Fingers crossed for a blood bath in seville tonight to decimate their squad further Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
OrlandoDon Posted December 14, 2023 Share Posted December 14, 2023 Great win for us today, two good wins in a row to take into the final. Good win for the Huns too I’ll reluctantly acknowledge but I don’t think that mattered. Pretty sure the travel and that game took more out of their players than ours extended tonight. Plus nothing like topping your euro group and advancing to the last 16, then back down to earth with a cup final loss to wee Aberdeen. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted December 15, 2023 Share Posted December 15, 2023 The BBC have certainly got value for money from the 2014 league cup article. It's tradition to regurgitate it seems. Robson's booze war chest Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
DantheDon Posted December 15, 2023 Share Posted December 15, 2023 4 hours ago, RicoS321 said: The BBC have certainly got value for money from the 2014 league cup article. It's tradition to regurgitate it seems. Robson's booze war chest I clicked on the comments and they were all talking about us playing Celtic which confused me. Then I realised they are all from 2018 lol. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted December 15, 2023 Share Posted December 15, 2023 23 minutes ago, DantheDon said: I clicked on the comments and they were all talking about us playing Celtic which confused me. Then I realised they are all from 2018 lol. Yep, that confused me the last time they rolled the article out too. Think it was the Hun semi it was last used for. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panda Posted December 16, 2023 Author Share Posted December 16, 2023 13 hours ago, RicoS321 said: The BBC have certainly got value for money from the 2014 league cup article. It's tradition to regurgitate it seems. Robson's booze war chest The BBC are committed to reducing their carbon footprint and saving the planet. Rather than making unnecessary travel to conduct more interviews, they have - rather admirably I would argue - recycled some articles. I think the words you're looking for are "thank you". 1 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted December 16, 2023 Share Posted December 16, 2023 7 hours ago, Panda said: The BBC are committed to reducing their carbon footprint and saving the planet. Rather than making unnecessary travel to conduct more interviews, they have - rather admirably I would argue - recycled some articles. I think the words you're looking for are "thank you". Ahh, that explains why their stories never leave Glasgow. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jute Posted December 16, 2023 Share Posted December 16, 2023 Hopefully Miovski is fit as think him playing is key to us having any chance of winning. Personally I would start with Miovski and Sokler from the start but can see Robson opting for an extra midfielder probably Polvara to start with. Big concern for me is left back/wing back. Don’t like McGarry defensively and just don’t think Hayes has the legs for playing wing back. Hopefully Tribute Act are knackered after their game on Thursday. Not going myself as previously stated not paying £39 to watch football in Scotland. It’s not worth it even for a final. oot Christmas shopping with daughter tv flat 2-1 Miovski and Sokler Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
OxfordDon Posted December 16, 2023 Share Posted December 16, 2023 10 hours ago, Panda said: The BBC are committed to reducing their carbon footprint and saving the planet. Rather than making unnecessary travel to conduct more interviews, they have - rather admirably I would argue - recycled some articles. I think the words you're looking for are "thank you". I do the same thing with my jokes Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted December 16, 2023 Share Posted December 16, 2023 It’s been a very long time since I took a car to Hampden. Any advice on parking near our end? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
OrlandoDon Posted December 16, 2023 Share Posted December 16, 2023 27 minutes ago, Kowalski said: It’s been a very long time since I took a car to Hampden. Any advice on parking near our end? Switch it off and lock the doors? 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panda Posted December 16, 2023 Author Share Posted December 16, 2023 2 hours ago, Kowalski said: It’s been a very long time since I took a car to Hampden. Any advice on parking near our end? There are parking restrictions on match day which means you need to be usually at least a 20 minute walk away. Try to park near Glasgow Road / Mill Street. You'll be close to Dons friendly pubs in Rutherglen and it's at most a 30 minute walk to Hampden (quicker if you're sprightly on your feet). From memory the Quarry Bar was full of Rangers fans at the semi-final last time, so avoid going there or walking past with colours on. Millcroft will have Dons fans in it though. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted December 16, 2023 Share Posted December 16, 2023 36 minutes ago, Panda said: There are parking restrictions on match day which means you need to be usually at least a 20 minute walk away. Try to park near Glasgow Road / Mill Street. You'll be close to Dons friendly pubs in Rutherglen and it's at most a 30 minute walk to Hampden (quicker if you're sprightly on your feet). From memory the Quarry Bar was full of Rangers fans at the semi-final last time, so avoid going there or walking past with colours on. Millcroft will have Dons fans in it though. Nice one cheers Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panda Posted December 16, 2023 Author Share Posted December 16, 2023 Think Miovski will start. He wouldn't be posting all his Instagram professionally done preview stuff if he thought he wasn't playing. Robson's told him he wouldn't be playing v Frankfurt so he may as well play up the injury stuff. I think Solker and Duk will both start on the bench, and it'll be Polvara and McGrath supporting Miovski. Hopefully MacDonald plays too. Dons to win it 2-0, Polvara first goal. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted December 16, 2023 Share Posted December 16, 2023 2 hours ago, Panda said: Hopefully MacDonald plays too I can't make my mind up on MacDonald over Rubezic. MacDonald is a better footballer, obviously, but I think we sit deeper when he's in the team (on the little evidence we've had). I think the three with Rubezic works better, and I think it'll take us further up the pitch and make us more likely to score, but it's such a gamble because you're then only a Rubezic away from catastrophe. I think I'd toss a coin if I was Robson. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Panda Posted December 16, 2023 Author Share Posted December 16, 2023 51 minutes ago, RicoS321 said: I can't make my mind up on MacDonald over Rubezic. MacDonald is a better footballer, obviously, but I think we sit deeper when he's in the team (on the little evidence we've had). I think the three with Rubezic works better, and I think it'll take us further up the pitch and make us more likely to score, but it's such a gamble because you're then only a Rubezic away from catastrophe. I think I'd toss a coin if I was Robson. I'm going to be controversial here Rico. You're gonna disagree but you'll think about it on the way down tomorrow and eventually agree with me. I'd be inclined to start playing MacDonald over Gartenmann. Gartenmann in a few games now, notably Hibs, Hearts and Frankfurt, so often doesn't bother his arse following the runner and gets caught out. It makes him a liability. He's actually pretty lazy. Jensen Pollock MacDonald in January thanks. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CulterDon Posted December 16, 2023 Share Posted December 16, 2023 New to this….. Can’t wait until tomorrow. I’d say Gartenmann McDonald Jensen. would love to see Pollock back tho Tbh I was just saying how good Gartenmann is and that we should try to get on a permanent COYR 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted December 17, 2023 Share Posted December 17, 2023 1 hour ago, CulterDon said: New to this….. Can’t wait until tomorrow. I’d say Gartenmann McDonald Jensen. would love to see Pollock back tho Tbh I was just saying how good Gartenmann is and that we should try to get on a permanent COYR Welcome aboard! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted December 17, 2023 Share Posted December 17, 2023 Match day! Heid first and right into the bastards. McGarry special for the winner (at the right end) would do me fine about time he showed his shooting boots in red. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...