Stewart Posted April 21, 2008 Report Posted April 21, 2008 Updated story Jimmy Calderwood confirmed at lunchtime that Jackie McNamara has left the club. Jimmy spoke to the former Celt this morning and it was agreed that he would leave with immediate effect. "He had a year left in his contract but he has decided not to take it up. It is very sad for us. He is a great professional and it has been a pleasure to work with him." "I didn't want a knee-jerk reaction following the disappointments of the Queen of the South game and gave him time to discuss matters with his family. However between travelling and injuries it's been a frustrating spell for him and he's decided to leave. He'll certainly be a big loss" Quote
Jute Posted April 21, 2008 Report Posted April 21, 2008 Cannot believe that Claderwood tried to keep him. Should have been offering to pack his bag for him and carry it to the car. Quote
manc_don Posted April 21, 2008 Report Posted April 21, 2008 Shame it didn't work out but you won't be missed Jackie. Quote
Jute Posted April 21, 2008 Report Posted April 21, 2008 Shame it didn't work out but you won't be missed Jackie. Was never going to work. Guy was finished before he came here. He hardly played in over two years before he came to us as his knees were gone and should not have been touched. And before people say anything about 20/20 hindsight please look at old posts on AFC chat and on here when we first signed him and you will say me saying something similar. Quote
Jute Posted April 21, 2008 Report Posted April 21, 2008 Backs up my suspicion that professional footballers are the biggest bunch of drama queens out there. I've worked with hundreds of men and women who spend their working week away from their families so they can give them a better standard of living. I've also worked with plenty who have over 2 hours daily commute to and from work who just get on with it. But poor Jackie can't manage to drive up to Aberdeen a couple times a week. Tough fucking tittie. You shouldn't need to ask. If you're paying someone a wage and they're turning up fucked then either you bin them or tell them to move because it's effecting their work. Thoughts? Mair and Langfield? Quote
TheChimp Posted April 21, 2008 Report Posted April 21, 2008 Was never going to work. Guy was finished before he came here. He hardly played in over two years before he came to us as his knees were gone and should not have been touched. And before people say anything about 20/20 hindsight please look at old posts on AFC chat and on here when we first signed him and you will say me saying something similar. Yes yes, you were right. Anyway, he's gone. Quote
mizer Posted April 21, 2008 Author Report Posted April 21, 2008 Another one bites the dust Another one bites the dust And another one gone, and another one gone Another one bites the dust Hey, Im gonna get you too Another one bites the dust Quote
Harcus Posted April 21, 2008 Report Posted April 21, 2008 Cannot believe that Claderwood tried to keep him. Should have been offering to pack his bag for him and carry it to the car. He's hardly going to come out and say 'Thank fuck for that.' Just looks like standard practice when someone's leaving to me - 'great professional, big loss, etc etc.' Quote
sheep_shagger Posted April 21, 2008 Report Posted April 21, 2008 Two weeks fucking late but at least he has gone!! Quote
Superstar Tradesman Posted April 21, 2008 Report Posted April 21, 2008 Exactly, he should be told in no uncertain terms that he's expected at training at 9am, Monday to Friday for the next year. If he's got a problem with that it's up to him to negotiate a way out. "We won't be too hard to deal with." Why the fuck not, nobody ever does us any favours. As usual afc roll over and get shafted up the arse, the way the club is run is often baffling. I know we won't miss Jackie, but there is principle at stake here. Well the other ways of doing it are: • We demand he honours his contract, then he does a Kiriakov and probably doesn’t even get a game at the weekend. We end up paying for a player that doesn’t bother putting the effort into training and doesn’t play where we are then wasting a wage. • We pay off his contract for the remaining time he has left just to get him off the books which wastes money we could spend on new players. Personally I think we’ve got the best deal possible. Quote
CtS Posted April 21, 2008 Report Posted April 21, 2008 You're so dull when you're being sensible. It is of course better to have a dis-interested player off the pay roll, but it just seems like afc getting fucked about again. So who will replace Russell's replacement? Scott Wilson? Quote
El Padre™ Posted April 21, 2008 Report Posted April 21, 2008 This frees up a wage for Sol Bamba surely? Quote
Kowalski Posted April 21, 2008 Report Posted April 21, 2008 This frees up a wage for Sol Bamba surely? And Andy Reid. Quote
mizer Posted April 21, 2008 Author Report Posted April 21, 2008 This frees up a wage for Sol Bamba surely? Calm doon................. .......................ok now I'm scared Quote
oldred Posted April 21, 2008 Report Posted April 21, 2008 No cant will want to come & play for us we the fockin antics o this coachin staff .Stories flyin about were a fockin laughin stock o scottish fitba :hammer: Quote
phil-stellaartois-mcguire Posted April 21, 2008 Report Posted April 21, 2008 No cant will want to come & play for us we the fockin antics o this coachin staff .Stories flyin about were a fockin laughin stock o scottish fitba :hammer: I'll need time to congest and understand that but jackie - cheerio - you'd be great in the oil industry. Quote
glasgowdon Posted April 21, 2008 Report Posted April 21, 2008 He was shite for us anyway. Journey man only interested in topping up his retirement fund so he can laminate all his Celtic shorts so they are wipe clean after his wank fests. Die. Quote
phil-stellaartois-mcguire Posted April 21, 2008 Report Posted April 21, 2008 coincidence http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/football/teams/f/forfar_athletic/7358815.stm Quote
Millers Tache Posted April 21, 2008 Report Posted April 21, 2008 Nah, Livingstone have just had an investment from a Celtic fan. If i was a betting man, i'd put my house on him ending up there. However, the last person who told me they'd do that was very wrong indeed. I like the way he's just leaving. No notice period, no "i'll leave at the end of the season", just "i'm off". So long you cowardly wage thief. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted April 21, 2008 Report Posted April 21, 2008 http://www.afc.premiumtv.co.uk/javaImages/c2/e3/0,,10284~3400642,00.jpg[/img] The picture to sum up his season. Where's Smith's stretcher too? Quote
glasgowdon Posted April 21, 2008 Report Posted April 21, 2008 Nah, Livingstone have just had an investment from a Celtic fan. If i was a betting man, i'd put my house on him ending up there. However, the last person who told me they'd do that was very wrong indeed. I like the way he's just leaving. No notice period, no "i'll leave at the end of the season", just "i'm off". So long you cowardly wage thief. Quote