wee toon red Posted September 14 Share Posted September 14 10/10 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
OrlandoDon Posted September 14 Share Posted September 14 12 minutes ago, redordead said: Have to say that Morris had looked really dangerous again. I'd like to see us play him right with topi left next week. Proper pace with pape between them. Should blow Spartans away. In Yeah, we’ve tried to start him, he’s had chances, but confidence has certainly improved. coming off the bench when opponents are tired may be helping him. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
OrlandoDon Posted September 14 Share Posted September 14 First impressions of palaversa? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted September 14 Share Posted September 14 30 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said: First impressions of palaversa? Very positive from me Takes no shit and can spot a pass. Decent debut and hopefully can go from strength to strength. Can't believe the transformation in Pape Gueye. Difficult to believe this is the same player that I watched playing up front for us in Helsinki. He is starting to look like one of these players that is going to regularly get the crowd on their feet when he gets the ball. Lightening pace for such a big man and you can visibly see his confidence growing with each passing week. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted September 14 Share Posted September 14 Another great win that we made hard work of in the end. We're going to need to be a bit more careful with the subs if we're going to continue on our run. Sokler and Ambrose both dogshit when they came on, and they weren't subs we needed to be making. Similarly, Clarkson for Palaversa was a poor sub. With Clarkson just returning to fitness, don't take him on as one of the holding players, that's not his strength. We'll lose points attempting that in future, one of the three subs would have been fine. Anyway, we dominated completely, with everyone playing a part. Palaversa was good, eased his way through it without being spectacular (probably should have been booked). Keskinen okay, but his lack of pace is going to hold him back, it's his one issue. A really intelligent player, but can't beat his man in a foot race. Unlike Morris, who came on with one instruction and executed it perfectly. Nisbet wasn't up to much, movement wasn't especially good. I think we should send all our shite players to Norway, as Gueye was excellent today. His all round play and movement was top notch. He'd have been my MOTM, if it wasn't for Nilsen. His best game for the Dons (among some good ones), he completely bossed midfield put in some lovely passes, whilst not putting a foot wrong. He also did some of the work Shinnie usually does, as Palaversa was quite reserved in terms of movement. We're definitely winning the league. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted September 14 Share Posted September 14 (edited) Left to catch the train at 2 - 0. Heard theyd got a goal back on King st,then thought I overheard it was a draw on the train.Nice surprise to hear of the win. Thought we were pretty good for most of the game,with a big thanks to the surprisingly good Pape.Mentioned last time he had the ability of looking dangerous to Clydesdale-esque within a short space,but today had to rub my eyes a couple of times(did I just see that??). Looked by far the most dangerous of all the strikers even without the goals. Midfield were good,but would have benefitted more from Shinnie in there,though Palaversa had a solid debut.Topi's not managing to impose himself yet in games,but hopefully just an adjustment issue.Got glimpses of what he can do Defence were ok,though I thought Rubi and Molloy could have stood off there men a bit more at times,a bit over enthusuiastic,and Rubi still a bit rash. Good win,deserved the 3 points despite Well being decent in attack at times. Edited September 14 by Elgindon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
OrlandoDon Posted September 14 Share Posted September 14 (edited) Considering it’s early season work in progress, over the moon. Still feel we’re finding our feet, integrating players, and will become more ruthless. From today palaversa, nisbet, and clarkson aren’t match sharp. I understand fresh legs too but against the toughest teams I doubt we’ll sub so much, all lessons for JT to learn as he navigates teams in Scotland. good to hear palaversa seems solid, nice to be able to still enforce in midfield without shinnie. Think we’ll be solid in there all season provided two play, and McGrath and clarkson are given the freedom to be creative…..maybe adding gueye here too. while our start is impressive, equally impressed with hearts. And their next league game isn’t easy, love it. Hoping Huns and utd draw tomorrow. Edited September 14 by OrlandoDon Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RicoS321 Posted September 14 Share Posted September 14 We had fifteen points at Christmas last year. Fully expect us to be on thirty by the end of October. Anything less would be hugely disappointing. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dons8321 Posted September 14 Share Posted September 14 3 hours ago, BigAl said: Very positive from me Takes no shit and can spot a pass. Decent debut and hopefully can go from strength to strength. Can't believe the transformation in Pape Gueye. Difficult to believe this is the same player that I watched playing up front for us in Helsinki. He is starting to look like one of these players that is going to regularly get the crowd on their feet when he gets the ball. Lightening pace for such a big man and you can visibly see his confidence growing with each passing week. Totally agree his performance in Helsinki was abysmal but, really! "Lightening pace for such a big man"...you do know that Usain Bolt was 6' 5"? Cliché of the day award goes to you! (I'm way to old to put a smiley thingy here) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted September 14 Share Posted September 14 13 minutes ago, dons8321 said: Totally agree his performance in Helsinki was abysmal but, really! "Lightening pace for such a big man"...you do know that Usain Bolt was 6' 5"? Cliché of the day award goes to you! (I'm way to old to put a smiley thingy here) What's your point caller Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tlg1903 Posted September 14 Share Posted September 14 Kettlewell whining has just put a extra wee cherry on top. Suck it up you shit bearded fud. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dons8321 Posted September 14 Share Posted September 14 18 minutes ago, BigAl said: What's your point caller Well, you are suggesting that if you're a big man, say, 6'5", you can't run fast. I would suggest that Bolt had disproved that theory. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted September 14 Share Posted September 14 16 minutes ago, dons8321 said: Well, you are suggesting that if you're a big man, say, 6'5", you can't run fast. I would suggest that Bolt had disproved that theory. No I am suggesting that not every 6ft plus male has lightening pace Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dons8321 Posted September 15 Share Posted September 15 17 minutes ago, BigAl said: No I am suggesting that not every 6ft plus male has lightening pace Really?...but that isn't what you said, "Lightening pace for such a big man". Your point seemed to suggest that lightening pace and big man/male were mutually exclusive and I suggested an alternative. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tlg1903 Posted September 15 Share Posted September 15 11 hours ago, RicoS321 said: Another great win that we made hard work of in the end. We're going to need to be a bit more careful with the subs if we're going to continue on our run. Sokler and Ambrose both dogshit when they came on, and they weren't subs we needed to be making. Similarly, Clarkson for Palaversa was a poor sub. With Clarkson just returning to fitness, don't take him on as one of the holding players, that's not his strength. We'll lose points attempting that in future, one of the three subs would have been fine. Anyway, we dominated completely, with everyone playing a part. Palaversa was good, eased his way through it without being spectacular (probably should have been booked). Keskinen okay, but his lack of pace is going to hold him back, it's his one issue. A really intelligent player, but can't beat his man in a foot race. Unlike Morris, who came on with one instruction and executed it perfectly. Nisbet wasn't up to much, movement wasn't especially good. I think we should send all our shite players to Norway, as Gueye was excellent today. His all round play and movement was top notch. He'd have been my MOTM, if it wasn't for Nilsen. His best game for the Dons (among some good ones), he completely bossed midfield put in some lovely passes, whilst not putting a foot wrong. He also did some of the work Shinnie usually does, as Palaversa was quite reserved in terms of movement. We're definitely winning the league. Disagree to an extent re Nisbet, I thought he did well enough first half and he was making the Motherwell defence nervous but I would agree he faded in the second half. It's been great to see the progression at the top end of the pitch but we are far from the finished article and quite frankly we still have plenty of defensive lessons to be learning if that last ten minutes is anything to go by. The defending for the goal was incredibily lax and it was highly preventable. Not to say that Motherwell hadn't become a handful (tavares in particular was lively and I'm surprised he didn't start) but for a spell we looked a bit panicky at the back and don't get me started on how often we gave the ball away needlessly. You could argue if Shinnie was on the pitch we would have coped with them better but he wasn't and we didn't. We got away with it but the warning shot across the bow was quite clear to me and there are sterner tests on the horizon than Motherwell at home. Possibly not the worst thing in the world though for the team to have a reminder it's not all going to go their way this season. We still got the win but we need to learn from that last ten. Spartans at home next week is obviously a wee bit of a curve ball but no-one expects them to be coming to dominate the game. Dens the week after though, they'll try and get at us then October it's Hearts H tims A utd H huns H so we need to sharpen it up at the back when under pressure quickly. 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted September 15 Share Posted September 15 6 hours ago, dons8321 said: Really?...but that isn't what you said, "Lightening pace for such a big man". Your point seemed to suggest that lightening pace and big man/male were mutually exclusive and I suggested an alternative. All about interpretation of language and we have obviously have different views on it, as backed up by your use of the word "seemed" Anyway, let's park it and just agree on the fact he is capable of putting the after burners on and showed some pace when making that run down the line culminating in the finish for our opening goal Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted September 15 Author Share Posted September 15 All of this is almost enough to tempt me back to redtv, almost. The highlights don’t really give me enough of an impression, but have to say Gueye was excellent for his first and his second was all down to Morris. Fair play. Two outsiders have had a complete turn around this season. I’m desperately trying not to get too excited by it all, buts a joy listening to the interviews coming out of the club at the mo, and some of the added stuff like the tifo / pyro. Think I’m still sticking by my B+ marking so far, but will review come Octobers end. Loving it. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Elgindon Posted September 15 Share Posted September 15 Speaking of highlights 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reekie_Red Posted September 15 Share Posted September 15 I was looking for these highlights around midnight UK time (ie when they usually appear online). Instead I got these. Leighton, Anderson, Glass, Bernard, Jess, Windass. How did Aitken fair so poorly with this squad?! 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
redordead Posted September 15 Share Posted September 15 If we can keep big HN fit we are in for a very good season. He's a joy to watch, gliding through the game like it's in slow motion. Winning everything and some of his passing under pressure today was outstanding. What I loved today was him going mental when we were slack with the ball. He's the absolute leader in that squad. Something we've not seen since Bobby biscuit. I thought palaversa was solid enough but as mentioned above more of a holding player again. Good cover for HN and shinnie. Felt Clarkson was desperate for the Hollywood pass to get his place back and ultimately put us under pressure multiple times by giving the ball away. I'm not sure where he goes in this system. Great to see that table tonight. That's got to put the fear into teams facing us. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tlg1903 Posted September 15 Share Posted September 15 3 hours ago, manc_don said: All of this is almost enough to tempt me back to redtv, almost. The highlights don’t really give me enough of an impression, but have to say Gueye was excellent for his first and his second was all down to Morris. Fair play. Two outsiders have had a complete turn around this season. I’m desperately trying not to get too excited by it all, buts a joy listening to the interviews coming out of the club at the mo, and some of the added stuff like the tifo / pyro. Think I’m still sticking by my B+ marking so far, but will review come Octobers end. Loving it. October has the potential to be a season defining month 2bh. If we take a positive slant and say we get to the hearts game with 12 wins out of 12 then do the job against them the celtic game becomes incredibly interesting. Hard to see us beating celtic or even getting draw at the San girò but that's a free swing as far as I'm concerned. If we could win the other 3 though what a position that would put us in, especially if we do the business at dens. 1 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
OxfordDon Posted September 15 Share Posted September 15 (edited) 11 hours ago, dons8321 said: Really?...but that isn't what you said, "Lightening pace for such a big man". Your point seemed to suggest that lightening pace and big man/male were mutually exclusive and I suggested an alternative. 4 hours ago, BigAl said: All about interpretation of language and we have obviously have different views on it, as backed up by your use of the word "seemed" Anyway, let's park it and just agree on the fact he is capable of putting the after burners on and showed some pace when making that run down the line culminating in the finish for our opening goal In such troubling times of strife and discord, behold the soothing calm of the humble Venn diagram: Edited September 15 by OxfordDon 2 2 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted September 15 Share Posted September 15 1 hour ago, OxfordDon said: In such troubling times of strife and discord, behold the soothing calm of the humble Venn diagram: Brilliant min Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
tlg1903 Posted September 15 Share Posted September 15 8 hours ago, OxfordDon said: In such troubling times of strife and discord, behold the soothing calm of the humble Venn diagram: Oh, bravo Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reekie_Red Posted September 19 Share Posted September 19 On 15/09/2024 at 22:02, redordead said: What I loved today was him going mental when we were slack with the ball. He's the absolute leader in that squad. Something we've not seen since Bobby biscuit. Hmmmm. Bisconti was a real hard-man, who won the red army over with the accuracy in his aggressive tackling. But he was no leader, and often went AWOL in the big games against the Old Firm. Remember also he was playing alongside Darren Young - of course he's gonna look good next to that pish Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...