Panda Posted September 23 Report Posted September 23 This kinda feels like I'm basically posting a BBC press release here, but for anyone interested Sportscene is showing the Masters live on 14 November, which is in Aberdeen this year - not Augusta. Aberdeen, Dundee United, Celtic and Rangers are the four teams. Six-a-side. So not just the treble this year but the quadruple up for grabs. Aberdeen: Russell Anderson, Eoin Jess, Joe Lewis, Derek Young, Jonny Hayes, Gavin Rae, Kevin McNaughton and Lee Miller. Rangers: Barry Ferguson, Jermain Defoe, Kris Boyd, Lee McCulloch, Graham Dorrans, Pedro Mendes, Roy Carroll and Dean Sheils. Celtic: Stiliyan Petrov, Scott Brown, Charlie Mulgrew, Simon Donnelly, Gary Hooper, Darren O’Dea, Joe Ledley and Michael McGovern. Dundee United: Willo Flood, Mark Wilson, Craig Conway, Gary Kenneth, John Rankin, Jon Daly, Danny Swanson, Paul Gallacher I dunno if we want separate match threads for each game to piss off Rico? Anyway, be good to see Eoin Jess and Kevin McNaughton in particular again in Aberdeen shirts. Dunno why Scott Brown is turning out for Celtic, presumably couldn't get in the Dons team. 2 Quote
RicoS321 Posted September 23 Report Posted September 23 I've actually always really enjoyed the masters and good that it's on the BBC. However, I really hope they sort out a proper pitch this season, as last year's (I think it was last year) was a joke. It was a ridiculously thin piece of carpet, which I think was on concrete, and the carpet was folding over at the seams, with players tripping over it. Felt like they'd really cheaped out on it. Obviously, there's not really an indoor venue with proper 4G with the option of stands, which would be great, so it'll be interesting to see what they come up with this year. Quote
Reekie_Red Posted September 24 Report Posted September 24 I watched the masters yeeeeears ago. McLeish, Bobby Connor, Soapy Joe Miller, pretty sure Duncan Shearer were all playing for us Quote
Panda Posted September 24 Author Report Posted September 24 Aye Sky Sports used to do some masters tournament. We weren't in the Scottish one though, we got bumped into the "north-east" one with Sunderland, Middlesbrough and Newcastle. We basically sent the Gothenburg team and despite having the oldest team we won it, cos we're the fucking Dons min. Can't remember what year that was. Quote
Reekie_Red Posted November 13 Report Posted November 13 Did Gavin Rae play for us? Pretty sure he's an Aberdonian, but I didn't think he ever played for us. Maybe as a youth? Updated squads for this year: Aberdeen Players: Russell Anderson, Eoin Jess, Joe Lewis, Kevin McNaughton, Derek Young, Jonny Hayes, Gavin Rae & Lee Miller Rangers Players: Barry Ferguson, Kris Boyd, Lee McCulloch, Jermain Defoe, Roy Carroll, Pedro Mendes, Graham Dorrans & Nacho Novo Celtic Players: Stiliyan Petrov, Scott Brown, Charlie Mulgrew, Michael McGovern, Darren O'Dea, Joe Ledley, Simon Donnelly & Gary Hooper Dundee Utd Players: Willo Flood, Craig Conway, Garry Kenneth, John Rankin, Paul Gallacher, Mark Wilson, Danny Swanson & Jon Daly Quote
RicoS321 Posted November 13 Report Posted November 13 20 minutes ago, Reekie_Red said: Did Gavin Rae play for us? Pretty sure he's an Aberdonian, but I didn't think he ever played for us. Maybe as a youth? Signed by Craig Brown towards the end of his career. Didn't play a huge number of games. Was technically good but not the fittest lad. Think injuries got to him. 1 Quote
RicoS321 Posted November 13 Report Posted November 13 I got free tickets. Might see if I can challenge Kris Boyd to a race. 1 Quote
BigAl Posted November 13 Report Posted November 13 1 minute ago, RicoS321 said: I got free tickets. Might see if I can challenge Kris Boyd to a race. If it's to the pie queue I wouldn't bother embarrassing yourself 5 Quote
Kowalski Posted November 14 Report Posted November 14 You wonder how many ex players turned it down before Gavin Rae got the call. Anyway, pretty poor first game. Quote
BigAl Posted November 14 Report Posted November 14 Sumo's hair transplant seems to be failing Lee Miller still knows where the back of the net is Quote
BigAl Posted November 14 Report Posted November 14 Think Lee McCulloch has been to Turkey recently. Seriously had to turn the brightness on my TV down a notch or two. Quote
wee toon red Posted November 14 Report Posted November 14 What’s going on here? Just put it on before our game against the jutes and they’ve shown a table where we’ve got zero points even though we’ve won a game?! Quote
wee toon red Posted November 14 Report Posted November 14 Good old rob McLean’s sorted out the bbc live reporter’s obvious errors Quote
Jute Posted November 14 Report Posted November 14 8 minutes ago, wee toon red said: What’s going on here? Just put it on before our game against the jutes and they’ve shown a table where we’ve got zero points even though we’ve won a game?! Aye we have been wondering about that. Quote
BigAl Posted November 14 Report Posted November 14 1 minute ago, wee toon red said: Good old rob McLean’s sorted out the bbc live reporter’s obvious errors Good old BBC Scotland Nae like them to make a cunt of things Quote
Jute Posted November 14 Report Posted November 14 Dons through to the final against blue bigots. Quote
BigAl Posted November 14 Report Posted November 14 With finishing like that, Cadger has wasted his career playing as a central defender Quote
wee toon red Posted November 14 Report Posted November 14 Good to see super Kev in amongst it after he had a hard time not so long ago. 1 Quote
RicoS321 Posted November 14 Report Posted November 14 Best ever night as a Dons' fan. Beating the Huns on penalties, keeper scoring a goal. Roy of the fucking etc A good moment when a photographer refused to return the ball to Barry Ferguson, who got very upset. The photographer obviously said something (I'm assuming he called him a Hun cunt) and threw him the ball back, Ferguson continued the argument whilst the photographer took photos of his irate ratface. Good event though, very enjoyable. £9 a pint is quite the stretch. Worth it to see Eoin Jess bang one in again. The only true master of the tournament, maybe 6 years older than the next oldest? Reckon I would challenge a few of them for fitness though. Would have shat it against Gary Kenneth mind you. 3 Quote