Saturday 18th January 2025 - kick-off 3pm

Scottish Cup 4th Round - Elgin City v Aberdeen

Bavidge was already at Ayr so no change to the numbers there and I doubt Stewart is high in Jimmy’s plans this year.

Our problem isn’t numbers, it’s quality. We’ve got plenty of players but not enough good ones.

59 minutes ago, wee toon red said:

Bavidge was already at Ayr so no change to the numbers there and I doubt Stewart is high in Jimmy’s plans this year.

Bavidge was back though after loan

Add in the fact that he went out on loan before Pape and Sokler were injured, so maybe numbers are important.

Add into the striker scenario the fact that Millwall could recall Nisbet yet 

Doubt we are going with Ambrose alone until the end of the season

I'll give you the point regarding Stewart however 😉

Posted (edited)
29 minutes ago, BigAl said:

Bavidge was back though after loan

Add in the fact that he went out on loan before Pape and Sokler were injured, so maybe numbers are important.

Add into the striker scenario the fact that Millwall could recall Nisbet yet 

Doubt we are going with Ambrose alone until the end of the season

I'll give you the point regarding Stewart however 😉

Bavidge was recalled from Ayr to be sent to Caley going by the article on the official site. It’s a pity as I’d rather see him being the third striker (at worst) after sokler and nisbet but if Gueye is nearing fitness then I suppose Bavidge might not get much time on the park and so long-term will be better served playing ever week in Inverness.

Edited by wee toon red
7 minutes ago, wee toon red said:

Bavidge was recalled from Ayr to be sent to Caley going by the article on the official site. It’s a pity as I’d rather see him being the third striker (at worst) after sokler and nisbet but if Gueye is nearing fitness then I suppose Bavidge might not get much time on the park and so long-term will be better served playing ever week in Inverness.

I guess in Jimmy we must trust.

Tend to agree that he will get more game at Inverness all things being equal.

Aye, Bavidge needs game time. He wasn't good enough to nail down a start for Ayr and unlikely he'd get used here, so hopefully he can develop at ICT. Ambrose being shite doesn't mean Bavidge is the answer. Hopefully he'll get better and better, and we can reassess in the summer. 

11 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said:

What’s the story/rumor there??

Jimmy saying both have long term injuries and he hopes we will see them again this season. Rumour is Sokler is done for season and Molloy has broken collar bone so out long term if not the season. 

13 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said:

What’s the story/rumor there??

They're done for the season. As in injured. According to the rumours. Big Pape is also dead, according to stories.

4 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

They're done for the season. As in injured. According to the rumours. Big Pape is also dead, according to stories.

There is also a rumour there may be an offer in for Gueye. 

Not seen anything to back that up so suspect it’s bullshit.

• Haha 1

Scott Burns reporting it’s a loan deal with option to buy. 

Only played 5 games for Utrecht and 10 games for Preston in last two years. 

Wonder if this means Duk or McGrath are away in this window?

51 minutes ago, Jute said:

Scott Burns reporting it’s a loan deal with option to buy. 

Only played 5 games for Utrecht and 10 games for Preston in last two years. 

Wonder if this means Duk or McGrath are away in this window?

Given his form, I’d happily see McGrath go. Hopefully we get a fee of sorts? We need to build around players that are staying and focused. 

8 hours ago, manc_don said:

Given his form, I’d happily see McGrath go. Hopefully we get a fee of sorts? We need to build around players that are staying and focused. 

McGrath doesn't appear to lack focus, it's fitness. He's played nearly every game this season and rarely gets taken off. He's taken a few belters to the heid in that time too. If we limit ourselves to players that are going in any given season, we're going to have a lot of difficulty fulfilling fixtures. What about the guy who's coming in on a six month loan? Is McGrath any different to Nisbet in that he's playing for his future elsewhere? Or Miovski last season? 

In my opinion, McGrath is just suffering from the same drop of form that Shinnie, Nilsen, Devlin and numerous others are experiencing after an intense start to the season and a light squad. Difficult to tell with MacKenzie, but looks like he isn't fully fit after his injury 

Always felt that McGrath is one of those players who looks great in a winning team but is one of those who disappears when team is struggling. Agree with Rico that McKenzie looks like he is still not fully fit after injury. Think Devlin looks like he might playing with an injury. 

That said with a winger coming in I suspect McGrath might be away this window. 

Mmm, gone 3pm and no official announcement of the loan signing of Okkels.

Are we holding off to announce our new central defensive partnership and thirty goals a season striker at the same time or has the deal hit the buffers 😉