manc_don Posted November 5 Report Posted November 5 Fourth sell out in a row, pretty impressive, but more importantly, I hope we see a really positive reaction to us being absolutely pumped at the weekend. We’ve had a dream start to the season and it would be a shame for one result to cause the wobble. They can have their Diddy cup anyway Dundee came back from 2-0 down to beat killie at the weekend, so they’ll have plenty of confidence coming into this. After quite a varied October , they’ll be looking to push on. Obviously I’m hoping we put that to bed. Do we make some changes to give some of the team a rest and introduce some rotation or is a week between fixtures enough and put faith in those that failed last weekend but performed so well a few days prior? I’d prefer to see duk brought on as he’s more impactful then. Sylla was pretty robust last time around so expect nilsen to have to deal with him. I thought sokler played well on the weekend despite missing the chance we needed him to bury. out bed bed weather dependent 2-1 dons, Clarkson and sokler Quote
Jute Posted November 5 Report Posted November 5 With a week between this game and the semi final then the international break coming up I would think there is no need for squad rotation if everyone is fit. However I agree with Manc that Duk looks more effective from the bench. I would be tempted to go back to Clarkson in behind the striker with Keskinen and McGrath wide. Up front would have Nisbet in for Sokler. Dundee’s keeper seems to be having a form slump at the moment so need to be getting after him from the off. Half 5 kick off again means not getting home until midnight which is starting to be a pain in the arse. In train then pub Y pub then train 2-0 Nisbet and Duk. Quote
manc_don Posted November 5 Author Report Posted November 5 I didn’t actually realise it was a 530 kick off, means it’s watchable Quote
tlg1903 Posted November 5 Report Posted November 5 13 hours ago, manc_don said: Fourth sell out in a row, pretty impressive, but more importantly, I hope we see a really positive reaction to us being absolutely pumped at the weekend. We’ve had a dream start to the season and it would be a shame for one result to cause the wobble. They can have their Diddy cup anyway Dundee came back from 2-0 down to beat killie at the weekend, so they’ll have plenty of confidence coming into this. After quite a varied October , they’ll be looking to push on. Obviously I’m hoping we put that to bed. Do we make some changes to give some of the team a rest and introduce some rotation or is a week between fixtures enough and put faith in those that failed last weekend but performed so well a few days prior? I’d prefer to see duk brought on as he’s more impactful then. Sylla was pretty robust last time around so expect nilsen to have to deal with him. I thought sokler played well on the weekend despite missing the chance we needed him to bury. out bed bed weather dependent 2-1 dons, Clarkson and sokler I'm not overly worried about a wobble 2bh. In fact I think it will be quite the opposite and we will go for their throats from the off. It will be very interesting to see what lineup Thelin goes with given the weekends result, I personally think he will make a couple of changes. Morris has earned a start to my eye though I think I would drop Topi whom whilst being very lively in general has been hoora wasteful at times. 3-0 dons Morris, and a Sokler brace. Quote
OrlandoDon Posted November 7 Report Posted November 7 Looking forward to this and expect us to be up for the game and motivated to bounce back in style! think we need to bench Morris (coming in second half as normal) and duk, neither are consistent enough to play 90 mins and I even think duk hurts us because he’s not really a team player and doesn’t help us play better as a team. He’s effective when opponents are tired, carrying bookings etc. 3-1 us. Sokler shinnie McGrath Quote
Elgindon Posted November 8 Report Posted November 8 (edited) Wee bit nervy about this, been saying that the last few months though,but Dundee are a useful side.Looking forward to see what were made of post thrashing In Furryboots - SS Y Prediction 3 - 2 McGrath,Palaversa,Morris. Ps anyone know of Gueyes progress? Expected time of return. Was enjoying his unique brand of strikership Pps - just noticed it's an evening kickoff on Jutes comment. 'sake Edited November 8 by Elgindon Quote
Reekie_Red Posted November 8 Report Posted November 8 some games we have scraped to a 1 goal win. Other games we have absolutely dominated ... to a 1 goal win. It's about time we absolutely whipped someone's ass. This will be a real acid test for Jimmy. Doc will know we are starting from the hammering we got at Hampden, but will his team be able to contain us? I am going for 4‐0 Dons - Topi, Rubi, Devlin and Duk to score 1 Quote
STFU_Donny Posted November 8 Report Posted November 8 6 hours ago, Reekie_Red said: some games we have scraped to a 1 goal win. Other games we have absolutely dominated ... to a 1 goal win. It's about time we absolutely whipped someone's ass. This will be a real acid test for Jimmy. Doc will know we are starting from the hammering we got at Hampden, but will his team be able to contain us? I am going for 4‐0 Dons - Topi, Rubi, Devlin and Duk to score Yes, it’s about time we gave someone a hiding. No better time to start than tomorrow night and exorcise the ghosts of hampden. In RDR 5-0 to The Famous. Sokler, MacKenzie, Duk, Topi and Morris. Quote
Jute Posted November 9 Report Posted November 9 Seen it being suggested elsewhere that McGrath might be out for today which is a blow if true. Quote
OrlandoDon Posted November 9 Report Posted November 9 Really hoping for clarkson starting and him getting back to normal, McGrath left. Think we are a better passing team with both, duk’s very individual and hard to predict, even for his team mates. If McGrath is out I wouldn’t mind Vinny getting the start. as mentioned, we’re due a game to click and smash someone, at the same time, given last week any win is acceptable! Quote
OrlandoDon Posted November 9 Report Posted November 9 No sivert or McGrath. Don’t mind palaversa getting a start, opportunity for him and the reason we have 3 for 2 there. Sivert injured/suspended?? McGrath out for a month?? Quote
wokinginashearerwonderland Posted November 9 Report Posted November 9 Do wish Rob McLean would quit calling players by their first names like their his mates. Quote
OrlandoDon Posted November 9 Report Posted November 9 Very even game. We’ve been meh so far. Miss sivert in the middle and mcgrath’s creativity. easy to blame sokler but he hasn’t done much, nisbet will replace him sooner than later. Also expect the usual Morris topi sub. Would prefer Vinny on the left, maybe duk at 10?? Quote
Elgindon Posted November 9 Report Posted November 9 Lucky to be level,Dundee much more efficient going forward.Penalty aside, they probably should have scored before now. Impressed with them. Might need to be the ShadyMo show again. Duk off,Topi left Quote
OrlandoDon Posted November 9 Report Posted November 9 20 minutes ago, Elgindon said: Lucky to be level,Dundee much more efficient going forward.Penalty aside, they probably should have scored before now. Impressed with them. Might need to be the ShadyMo show again. Duk off,Topi left Prefer topi but duk is doing more. Goal aside, nisbet and morris please. Quote
OrlandoDon Posted November 9 Report Posted November 9 Should have subbed topi before his goal. Meh haha! 2-0 , what a change in fortune. Quote
manc_don Posted November 9 Author Report Posted November 9 Been quite the game, end to end at quite a pace. Made some decent changes and they’ve paid off. Missed the third goal due to one of my boys but pleased for vinnie! The first half I think it’s fair to say Dundee were the better side but only just. Minus the brain fade for their goal, we’ve been relatively in control of this half. Need to manage it a bit better though in the closing stages. Quote
OrlandoDon Posted November 9 Report Posted November 9 Meh performance but good enough, and a good bounce back win. strange to say that for a 4-1 game. Not unlike the hearts game and one or two others where our opponents didn’t take chances. Our press has been a little off and I dont think we’ve been as sharp, but the first 15 mins of the second half won the game. While we have missed sivert, palaversa played well. I will add, thought nisbet looked lively and sharp for a first time this season. Maybe we picked it up second half or Dundee got worse, stroll in the end. Job done. Quote
manc_don Posted November 9 Author Report Posted November 9 24 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said: Meh performance but good enough, and a good bounce back win. strange to say that for a 4-1 game. Not unlike the hearts game and one or two others where our opponents didn’t take chances. Our press has been a little off and I dont think we’ve been as sharp, but the first 15 mins of the second half won the game. While we have missed sivert, palaversa played well. I will add, thought nisbet looked lively and sharp for a first time this season. Maybe we picked it up second half or Dundee got worse, stroll in the end. Job done. Nisbet, in fact all the subs deserve plaudits. All added to the performance when we were trying to ump the ante. First half was very even and seemed like a bit of a hangover but the second was more like it. As we’ve all said, can see there’s still plenty of work to do but at least we’re finding ways to win. Have to say, Dundee countered our press really well but thank fuck their pen was shite. my greatest joy so far is seeing how many different goalscorers we have. Everyone is pitching in. What a time to be alive. 1 Quote
RicoS321 Posted November 9 Report Posted November 9 Getting a bit tedious this winning pish. Terrible day out. We struggled to create much in the first half, they pressed us well and created the better chances. Mitov kept us in it with a great save again after Molloy made a real arse of it (he was otherwise really good in that half). Once again, though, the manager just sorts it all out. Devlin clearly told to get as far up the pitch as possible and that gave Keskinen and then Morris the space to do damage. We roasted them in that first fifteen minutes, and each sub that came on once again offered something to the team (Ambrose wasn't really up to much, but worked hard). Shinnie excellent again. The back four were great, they're going to make errors, but everything is building from them, and quickly too. Palaversa struggled a lot in the first half but came into it in the second and did okay. Clarkson was good and was always looking for the killer pass, it's frustrating to hear people criticising him when his game relies on taking the gamble with very difficult first time balls. Duk never really settled in the game but was okay. Keskinen was okay too and significantly better when Devlin pushed forward. Both Duk and Keskinen could make better decisions. Morris, Besuijen and Nisbet all came on and played really well. Nisbet was determined to score a goal. 1 Quote
Elgindon Posted November 9 Report Posted November 9 4 - 1 probably flattered us,but I'll take it.A defeat might have let the doubts in,but the result wont do our confidence any harm.Fair play Mitov for bailing out Molloy,who as said had been having a good game,but was out foxed/muscled for the pen(as far as I could see from the Y) Great strike from Palaversa for the first goal,and what a ball from Nisbet for the third,good to see Besuijen getting a goal. All in all an OK performance,we can do better,but a good day out for all the kids who were there.Fair play to Dundee though,thats one of their better sides Ive seen.Quick moving,smart thinking,just a bit lacking in the box.If thats a typical Doc side,then we should be having a word before Jimmy heads to Old Trafford Quote