manc_don Posted December 2 Report Posted December 2 Not expecting anything from this game in all honesty. They’ve fairly charged on since our game and we’ve now got a couple of injuries to deal with. Be interesting to see of those who started against hearts, start again on wed. Doohan obviously is pretty much guaranteed but unsure of the rest. Does polvara get a chance in this one, be good to get some minutes in his legs after being out for so long. If we get this wrong and it could be a bit of a doing like the cup semi. Be nice if we can keep the GD tally down. Also need all our players to turn up and put in a good shift! Out bed work work 3-0 them, no dons scorer. Quote
Jute Posted December 2 Report Posted December 2 Got a really bad feeling about this one. Think our small squad is starting to show strain of number of games of late. Can see the green bigots going all out to give us another semi final style doing. Thankfully work is busy at the moment so not able to make the game. oot work TV flat 4-0 no dons scorer Quote
Jute Posted December 3 Report Posted December 3 Mitov missing for this and next 6 weeks with a lot of games. Think we need to be looking at getting an emergency loan in sharpish. Quote
BigAl Posted December 3 Report Posted December 3 5 minutes ago, Jute said: Mitov missing for this and next 6 weeks with of games. Think we need to be looking at getting an emergency loan in sharpish. Can't remember the criteria of being allowed an emergency loan signing but given Doohan is fit, I am not sure we'd be allowed More than happy to be proved wrong though Jute. Quote
BigAl Posted December 3 Report Posted December 3 Tom Ritchie recalled from loan spell @ Bonnyrigg Rose and I guess he will go onto the bench as cover for Doohan Quote
RicoS321 Posted December 3 Report Posted December 3 (edited) 2 hours ago, BigAl said: Tom Ritchie recalled from loan spell @ Bonnyrigg Rose and I guess he will go onto the bench as cover for Doohan Surely he's not worse than Doohan? He got great reviews when at Huntly, and he's currently Bonnyrigg's first choice. Would Doohan get a game at that level? Goalie is such a leveller in this league. It's really difficult to get two good keepers, there are only two teams that can afford that. The only way there isn't significant drop off is if you have a really good young goalie coming through that maybe isn't quite ready for the first team. Otherwise you're stuck with merry-go-round jobbers. Of course there are teams (Hibs) for whom both keepers are pish. Perhaps that's easier to deal with in a way! Hearts have two fairly decent ones, but that's because Gordon is a fan, and came through the ranks. That's quite unusual. Doohan is going to lose us points (arguably has already, flappy cunt!). I think his shot stopping is half decent, but he doesn't come for crosses and, the biggest problem, he doesn't build the play from the back the way Mitov does. It's a bit of a disaster to be honest. Edited December 3 by RicoS321 Quote
Jute Posted December 3 Report Posted December 3 Need to arrange for Doohan to have an escape to victory style “accident” and get in a decent loan. Quote
manc_don Posted December 3 Author Report Posted December 3 None of this fills me with any positivity at all. Happy to be proven wrong. Isn’t Ritchie pish? Quote
Jute Posted December 3 Report Posted December 3 22 minutes ago, manc_don said: None of this fills me with any positivity at all. Happy to be proven wrong. Isn’t Ritchie pish? Bonnyrigg fans were initially quite pleased with him but think he’s had a couple of poor games and was dropped after a 5-0 defeat to East Fife for a game. 1 Quote
manc_don Posted December 3 Author Report Posted December 3 1 hour ago, Jute said: Bonnyrigg fans were initially quite pleased with him but think he’s had a couple of poor games and was dropped after a 5-0 defeat to East Fife for a game. Well this is going to end well, isn't it? Quote
BigAl Posted December 4 Report Posted December 4 Out Dinner Sky Sports Bed 0-4** ** Could get worse in the second half Quote
RicoS321 Posted December 4 Report Posted December 4 Lovely night for it. Nothing better than watching your team get a doin whilst getting battered by the wind and rain*. I'm going for a 2-2 draw, with Doohan making amends for two absolute fuck ups, by heading in a 97th minute equaliser, after a Devlin screamer to pull one back in the 93rd. *Obviously, I will be sheltered and comfortable on my leather seat in the posh section Quote
Jute Posted December 4 Report Posted December 4 I already had the fear before I saw this. Just climbing behind the couch. Quote
RicoS321 Posted December 4 Report Posted December 4 30 minutes ago, Jute said: I already had the fear before I saw this. Just climbing behind the couch. Nisbet to stretch them with his constant running? Not sure JT has got to grips with the best combination in that front three. I think Keskinen and Nisbet probably work together better than Keskinen and Sokler, but equally Nisbet would probably benefit most from Morris' crossing. Quote
OrlandoDon Posted December 4 Report Posted December 4 Other than duk id say that’s the best we have. I just think duk is a bench guy who comes on second half, like Morris. I’d even prefer Vinny starting there. nor sure what to expect. Celtic are a class above, can afford to rest players, and are cruising. Surely they are due a hiccup, why not tonight when we are not at our best…? Quote
OxfordDon Posted December 4 Report Posted December 4 Baptism of fire for Doohan, given the opposition and the conditions. Hope he shines. Quote
OxfordDon Posted December 4 Report Posted December 4 Thats some crowd on a night like this btw. Quote
BigAl Posted December 4 Report Posted December 4 Frightened to talk too soon, but all going ok so far COYR Quote
Jute Posted December 4 Report Posted December 4 Happy with first half. Restricted them to a couple of chances. Quote
BigAl Posted December 4 Report Posted December 4 Seen it so many times before..... you don't take a big chance and then they scored out of nothing Doohan in particular didn't deserve that. Devlin positioning questionable for the goal ? 1 Quote
wee toon red Posted December 4 Report Posted December 4 The oldest footballing tale of woe in the book. Battle and compete all night, miss your golden opportunity and they go up the park and score A pretty decent effort all in throughout atrocious conditions. Special mention to Doohan for stepping up, would’ve been easy to crumble after getting smashed right at the start but pulled off a couple of brilliant saves to keep us in it. Quote
redordead Posted December 4 Report Posted December 4 Had our chances. 4 on target each. Doohan did well Only criticism is that they just seemed a bit physically stronger in the tackle. I though Nilsen was a force in there again. Quote
redordead Posted December 4 Report Posted December 4 2 minutes ago, BigAl said: Seen it so many times before..... you don't take a big chance and then they scored out of nothing Doohan in particular didn't deserve that. Devlin positioning questionable for the goal ? Aye he should've been out with the line. 1 Quote
manc_don Posted December 4 Author Report Posted December 4 I think frustrating is how I'd sum that up. We definitely went toe to toe with them, which was the level of performance we've been missing, but fuck me, CLARKSON! Had all the time in the world to sort that shot out and then the one moment Devlin has a complete brain fart when the rest of the defence did their job, they score. I thought Doohan was great tonight and I think he deserves a mention, McGarry. He did his job and didn't really put a foot wrong. Had one wayward pass (because of the conditions) but as did many others. I wanted him to take a shot in the second but instead it went back to Nilsen. Conditions were a great leveller but just a shame we couldn't see it out. Some block by CV for Soklers effort though. Not sure why Rob McLean was saying just get it on target (it was, it got blocked). Quote