manc_don Posted December 28, 2024 Report Posted December 28, 2024 Feeling very nervous about this one. Arabs have the chance to go within 3 points of us and have been in some decent form of late so this is definitely going to be a tough one. Not sure how the hell we set up given so many of our players are out of form. The Jan window can’t come quick enough. Seen someone suggest playing duk up front alone, but not sure I’d be doing that at all. It is quite the change though so maybe we should be open to it ? Out Bed hopefully try to catch it online back home 2-0 no dons scorer Quote
Jute Posted December 28, 2024 Report Posted December 28, 2024 Seen some wild team suggestions on line. McDonald was hopeless on Thursday and surprised to see folk suggesting sticking with him. Even wilder is folk suggesting bringing McGarry back into team. At least nobody is suggesting continuing with Ambrose who I think needs to go out on loan in January as he needs to be playing every week to try and develop his game. As much as I am not keen on Molloy and Rubi as a partnership at the back think we need to stick with it until we can get new players in. In midfield we again need to change something but Palaversa has made us worse when he came on in recent games. With Nilsen being booked again he has suspension coming up so not sure manager will drop him for this one so might be Shinnie who drops out with maybe Polvara coming in. I don’t think we can have Morris or Duk starting for this one as neither do enough defensively to support full backs which we will need in this game. Think it has to be McGrath and Keskinen wide. Duk has some of his best games through the middle with Miovski beside him so maybe try Sokler and him together for a couple of games in a 4-4-2. United in a good run of form so would expect this to be a difficult game even if we were still playing well. Given our collapse in form fully expect to lose. In Train then pub Away end Train back to capital 2-0 no dons scorer. Quote
OrlandoDon Posted December 28, 2024 Report Posted December 28, 2024 Hard to pick a team, lots of reasons to leave people out. I think JT is certainly learning what his players can and cannot too, and it’s times like this where you really learn what you have. Looking forward to the window and some new blood coming in. mitov - devlin-ruby-molloy-mackenzie thats our best 5, provided devlin is fit. Mackenzie was our best player a short time ago, mcgarry just isn’t good enough to replace him. Macdonald doesn’t improve us and for ruby and Molloy’s flaws, they are our best 2. topi on the right and McGrath on the left, our best two for attacking and defending. Vinnie would have been left if fit. Not sure why we haven’t seen Morris much of late but I’d give him 45 mins unless both topi and Jamie are playing well. I’d prefer we left duk in Aberdeen, not a fan at all, but bring him on in the second half if needed. In the middle id go for palaversa shinnie and sivert, give shinnie the more advanced role. Haven’t seen the three together yet, worth the try. I’d play shinnie every week when fit and suspension free, but work the other two and give polvara 45 mins. Sokler up top and nisbet when he’s gassed. not sure why but I say 2-1 us. Shinnie and sokler. Quote
BigAl Posted December 29, 2024 Report Posted December 29, 2024 My last three away games read as played three, lost three, goals scored one, conceded TWELVE The good news is I don't have a ticket for today's game, the bad news is I very much doubt my absence will make any difference to the outcome. Out Watching sport Premier Sports Nothing much 3-1 to the Arabs, Topi with our goal The next bit of bad news is I have a ticket for Fir Park next Sunday Quote
Kowalski Posted December 29, 2024 Report Posted December 29, 2024 Apparently Devlin has been playing with broken ribs. I’d like to see Clarkson and Palaversa starting with the later doing the strong arm role to allow Clarkson some freedom. Quote
JessianK Posted December 29, 2024 Report Posted December 29, 2024 Like everyone else, our form since the cup game has been nothing short of Ebbe Skodhal era. Has that result really burst everyone's confidence? It is the same players who went on a fantastic run that now seem to not want to play football. Where is the constant attacking style game? We need physical players in there. old style midfielders. Once again the seasons been ruined not by the managers, but by these same bloody players we have had since Mcinnes left (ones new to the club so far get pass marks, except ambrose.) Quote
RicoS321 Posted December 29, 2024 Report Posted December 29, 2024 4 minutes ago, JessianK said: but by these same bloody players we have had since Mcinnes left MacKenzie? Quote
OrlandoDon Posted December 29, 2024 Report Posted December 29, 2024 Rangers two down in the first half. As shit as our form is, win today and back into 2nd?? Wouldn’t be surprised if rangers still win, certainly hope not. Fired up for this one, hope the team is too!! Really hope the central 3 is sivert palaversa with shinnie ahead of them. Quote
JessianK Posted December 29, 2024 Report Posted December 29, 2024 Lets hope the team are watching the huns game, just shows right mental attitude and get the win today Quote
RicoS321 Posted December 29, 2024 Report Posted December 29, 2024 46 minutes ago, OrlandoDon said: Rangers two down in the first half. As shit as our form is, win today and back into 2nd?? Wouldn’t be surprised if rangers still win, certainly hope not. Fired up for this one, hope the team is too!! Really hope the central 3 is sivert palaversa with shinnie ahead of them. No Shinnie. Quote
RicoS321 Posted December 29, 2024 Report Posted December 29, 2024 Decent lineup. Keeps the lads who should be subs as subs for their impact. For some strange reason, Ambrose appears not to be floating in the North sea. Quote
dons8321 Posted December 29, 2024 Report Posted December 29, 2024 1 hour ago, OrlandoDon said: Rangers two down in the first half. As shit as our form is, win today and back into 2nd?? Wouldn’t be surprised if rangers still win, certainly hope not. Fired up for this one, hope the team is too!! Really hope the central 3 is sivert palaversa with shinnie ahead of them. 2-2 now with 10mins added on time (or until the Hun score). Quote
BigAl Posted December 29, 2024 Report Posted December 29, 2024 Night and day from Rugby Park performance. Entertaining first half and could go either way on the basis of what has gone so far. If the penalty had stood, I genuinely think I would have walked away from football and taken up something more accustomed to my age. Maybe indoor bowls or playing bridge Quote
Elgindon Posted December 29, 2024 Report Posted December 29, 2024 Not a bad watch first half. Wee bit disjointed at times in attack,maybe the wind not helping. All set up for Morris to rip them second half Quote
dons8321 Posted December 29, 2024 Report Posted December 29, 2024 7 minutes ago, BigAl said: Night and day from Rugby Park performance. Entertaining first half and could go either way on the basis of what has gone so far. If the penalty had stood, I genuinely think I would have walked away from football and taken up something more accustomed to my age. Maybe indoor bowls or playing bridge But it really shouldn't have been awarded in the first place...Beaton had a clear view as Devlin put his arms together across his body (big jessie should have controlled it with his chest and started a counter-attack (or transition as you youngsters would say). 1 Quote
redordead Posted December 29, 2024 Report Posted December 29, 2024 Is mitov our play maker now? Quote
manc_don Posted December 29, 2024 Author Report Posted December 29, 2024 How they didn’t score there is beyond me. Great save from mitov. Under a bit of pressure since the subs. Quote
Slim Posted December 29, 2024 Report Posted December 29, 2024 Morris on for McGrath is well overdue. 1 Quote
redordead Posted December 29, 2024 Report Posted December 29, 2024 (edited) We're far too deep and laboured trying to play forward. Need to be getting that ball up to the wingers a damn sight faster. Ps McGrath is a total fraud. Tackles like an under 10s girl. Just doesn't have it in him to roll the sleeves up but amazingly always seems to stay on the pitch Edited December 29, 2024 by redordead Quote
manc_don Posted December 29, 2024 Author Report Posted December 29, 2024 McGrath should have buried his chance. Best of the game by far. Very finely poised Quote
Slim Posted December 29, 2024 Report Posted December 29, 2024 Nilsen there with the cherry on the top of a turd of a performance. Waiting until 90 minutes to bring on Morris and Polvara was ridiculous, especially when you see a walking dead Devlin skip past their left back so easily about 10 minutes earlier. Quote
redordead Posted December 29, 2024 Report Posted December 29, 2024 United deserved that. We're toothless and we have a weak streak through this team. Imagine losing to Goodwin. Jimmy has a big few weeks. Can he be ruthless and add backbone to this squad because that's what's missing Quote
manc_don Posted December 29, 2024 Author Report Posted December 29, 2024 Aye, they were the better side which makes me sick saying that. Absolute piss poor defending again for their winner; but they were the only team that really wanted it. Thought Duk did well when he came on and our performance overall was better than recent weeks, but that was a very low bar. Jimmy has a lot of thinking to do over the next month, and it needs to yield results. also, Beaton needs to be dealt with. Cretin. But let’s not allow that to excuse our performance and the result. Quote
BigAl Posted December 29, 2024 Report Posted December 29, 2024 8 minutes ago, manc_don said: Aye, they were the better side which makes me sick saying that. Absolute piss poor defending again for their winner; but they were the only team that really wanted it. Thought Duk did well when he came on and our performance overall was better than recent weeks, but that was a very low bar. Jimmy has a lot of thinking to do over the next month, and it needs to yield results. also, Beaton needs to be dealt with. Cretin. But let’s not allow that to excuse our performance and the result. Last paragraph is correct BUT not exactly the first time Cheating Beaton has done us over and I will take anyone's bet that wishes to stake that he won't do it again. Huge improvement on Thursday and we will, and indeed have, play worse and win Quote
BigAl Posted December 29, 2024 Report Posted December 29, 2024 What a fucking ludicrous interview from thon female on Premier Sports Call herself a journalist Quote