Saturday 15th March 2025 - kick-off 3pm

Scottish Premiership: St Johnstone v Aberdeen

Well, this is a big one.  Hopefully parkhead will be well out of the minds of ours whilst utd will still be stewing over their goal being disallowed.  

A win here would set us up so nicely for the run in to the split and all those games are very winnable. 

Expect Mitov to be back, would quite like to see Gueye back in the side but wide left. It is where he has played best for us and Okkels is very hit and miss at the moment. 

3-1 dons, Nisbet, Keskinen and Dabbagh 

Good shout with Gueye on the left,...might act as a gentle hoof up the arse for Okkels too. Hopefully Mitov back in,...peace breaks out in defence.A wee 20 min run out for Boyd after Morris has wreaked havoc on the Jute defence.Forecast good,crowd looks healthy...

In - Y

Prediction 3 - 0 Dons  Gueye,Morris,Boyd

55 minutes ago, BigAl said:

This thread is off to a good start, none of that apostrophe pish 😉

We’re doomed. 

should be a cracker I think. Both teams need to win to keep each other and hibs at bay. Hoping for a traditional derby collapse for Hibs. 

wouldn’t be against Gueye being on the left, actually. I mean, it is where our goal at the tattie dome came from. Be interesting to see if he reverts to the winning team formation.

not sure, probably more 5th birthday shenanigans. 

2-1 Dons. Keskinen and Dabbagh.

As others have said hopefully see Mitov back in as just no faith in Doohan. Would rather see Keskinen on the left rather than Gueye. Okkels just doesn’t look good enough for me. If Devlin is fit I would be tempted to play him at right back and Jensen at right mid. Would stick with Nisbet and Dabbagh up front to try and give them games to build a partnership. Expect Goodwin to put his team out not to lose first and maybe try to nick something second. Not sure I will be heading up as I managed to break my shoulder last weekend and while not in too much pain in my more sensible moments I do think it might be better just to watch this at home. 

Oot at the moment.

couch

couch 

couch

2-0 Nisbet and Dabbagh

4 hours ago, Jute said:

Not sure I will be heading up as I manage to break my shoulder last weekend and while not in too much pain in my more sensible moments I do think it might be better just to watch this at home. 

What’s the next excuse, the dog ate my ticket? 

• Haha 2

This is a first for me, something I never thought I'd ever say. But... I'd start Morris. Think his performances off the bench in the last few games merit a start.

Keskinen on the left, Morris on the right, if Dabbagh is fit then him and Nesbit.

Who starts in midfield will be interesting. Think there's an expectation Palaversa plays because he didn't in midweek, but I think Nilsen and Shinnie did okay on Tuesday. Yes, Shinnie was wasteful at times defensively, but he drives forward and brings energy in the midfield in a way no-one else in our midfield does. Plus, do you bench the captain for the fourth time in five games? 

5 hours ago, Panda said:

This is a first for me, something I never thought I'd ever say. But... I'd start Morris. Think his performances off the bench in the last few games merit a start.

Keskinen on the left, Morris on the right, if Dabbagh is fit then him and Nesbit.

Who starts in midfield will be interesting. Think there's an expectation Palaversa plays because he didn't in midweek, but I think Nilsen and Shinnie did okay on Tuesday. Yes, Shinnie was wasteful at times defensively, but he drives forward and brings energy in the midfield in a way no-one else in our midfield does. Plus, do you bench the captain for the fourth time in five games? 

This what happens with Morris. He looks okay against a tiring full back off the bench so folk call for him to start. Then he starts against a fresh player and is completely ineffective and gets hooked at half time. I think we have to accept that Morris is an impact sub only rather than a starter. 

8 minutes ago, Jute said:

This what happens with Morris. He looks okay against a tiring full back off the bench so folk call for him to start. Then he starts against a fresh player and is completely ineffective and gets hooked at half time. I think we have to accept that Morris is an impact sub only rather than a starter. 

Aye, but that has to be weighed against the fact that Okkels.

5 hours ago, Panda said:

Yes, you can bench him, especially if it's down to fitness. I also agree though that Nilsen and Shinnie were better than Nilsen and Palaversa in the previous game (Clarkson was also better than Palaversa when he came on in the same role). If I were dropping either of the two, though, it'd be Nilsen. Despite having the better game on the ball, he was largely responsible for the gaping holes in behind as he doesn't get back and doesn't sit when Shinnie goes. Of course, that was against a good team, and not hugely relevant against utd, where we'd probably want his ability on the ball. The biggest thing for me though was that he was down to walking pace when he came off. Ten minutes prior, MacKenzie was 2 on 1 at left back, and was pointing for Nilsen to track his man, but he just stood in the worst possible position, because he knew he wasn't going to be able to match the run, leaving MacKenzie to pick up both players. 

Declan Gallagher, asked if he enjoys going back to Pittodrie, said: “Absolutely not, but it is one that I'm looking forward to. Listen, there's some great people at Aberdeen, even though when I was in the club that wasn't the best of times. I did love the club, it was great, but obviously the fans have got a dislike for me and obviously, I’m not too fond of them either, so that will make for a good atmosphere for me.”

That's cute.

Personally, I think like most Aberdeen fans, I don't have any feelings for him. If anything I wish him well as I'd rather see Dundee United finish fourth than Hibs or Hearts because I see those clubs as a bigger threat in the long term.

He just wasn't good enough for us then and isn't good enough for us now. 

Heading up for this game. ticket for X stand somewhere. Hopefully get to park again in disabled section behind main stand. 

fingers crossed my condition ok to drive back :) 

21 hours ago, Panda said:

"obviously the fans have got a dislike for me and obviously, I’m not too fond of them either, so that will make for a good atmosphere for me.”

TBH i forgot he played for us. If he really wants to see what "dislike" looks like from the Red Army, maybe he should have a chat to Wright and Barron 

It’s our best 11, with the exception of devlin/jensen which may be debatable. We also don’t know enough about dabbagh yet and nisbet has found a little form.

Glad we stuck with gueye at 10 and okkels wide. The endless chopping and changing of recent weeks/months didn’t help us. I also want okkels given an extended run to get match sharp after months not playing, really want to be sure of investing 1M or sending him home.

COYR!

That’s Hibs beaten Hearts which is not what we would’ve wanted ideally. Think even if we can find some form we have a real battle on for third. Think we need to get the confidence up and win as many games as possible prior to the split now. 

18 minutes ago, DantheDon said:

That’s Hibs beaten Hearts which is not what we would’ve wanted ideally. Think even if we can find some form we have a real battle on for third. Think we need to get the confidence up and win as many games as possible prior to the split now. 

As much a hope as any but 9 more league games to play, can’t see hibs sustaining it for the remainder of the season. Their next two are Celtic away in the cup then killie away, two good games to derail their season.

Bit disappointed we are not sticking with Nisbet and Dabbagh as a starting pairing not really giving them time to develop and understanding. Don’t think Gueye has done anything to justify a starting place since coming back from injury. Guessing he is playing for his size against United. 

On 01/03/2025 at 01:20, Panda said:

Declan Gallagher, asked if he enjoys going back to Pittodrie, said: “Absolutely not, but it is one that I'm looking forward to. Listen, there's some great people at Aberdeen, even though when I was in the club that wasn't the best of times. I did love the club, it was great, but obviously the fans have got a dislike for me and obviously, I’m not too fond of them either, so that will make for a good atmosphere for me.”

That's cute.

Personally, I think like most Aberdeen fans, I don't have any feelings for him. If anything I wish him well as I'd rather see Dundee United finish fourth than Hibs or Hearts because I see those clubs as a bigger threat in the long term.

He just wasn't good enough for us then and isn't good enough for us now. 

When did he play for us?

Get mitov to fuck.

All starts when he can't communicate as the ball comes back.

A massive weakness in his game. Panics when the ball is coming back towards him.

That effort to save the header was abysmal. Aye doohan had a hard night at Celtic park but I'm a lot more assured when he's in goal. 

No point being a great shot stopper if you give away chances with the simple stuff.

Nisbet as good as I've seen him for us. Topi twelve touches really not in it. Gueye on the edge of the box is pointless and okkels is still stealing a shirt. 

We're really square when we get up there and seem incapable of penetrating or taking a shot.