Saturday 5th April 2025 - kick-off 3pm

Scottish Premiership: Ross County v Aberdeen

41 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

Just back, great performance, probably the best of the season. Completely dominated them, despite an horrendous refereeing performance. Clarkson just immense again, and the player we signed. I'd be offering him an extended deal tonight. Nisbet also brilliant, leading the line superbly and organising the front four like a captain - I'd sign him tomorrow if possible. Shinnie really good on the left and Palaversa did well in the middle. Knoester is a class act, and Dorrington is a comfortable right sided defender. Jensen was okay and Okkels too. Gueye was really poor in the number ten role where he started, but Thelin seemed to switch them at a point and Gueye improved the more he was kept out of the way, winning some good headers and creating space for others. Doohan did well in goals, dealing with some difficult crosses. 

They were pish, as was the ref. That decision to not play on when Morris was away should see him reffing league one for the next five seasons.

What have you got against league one?  He also allowed their physio on twice to treat "injured" players and, on neither occasion,  made the Well player go off. 

48 minutes ago, dons8321 said:

What have you got against league one?  He also allowed their physio on twice to treat "injured" players and, on neither occasion,  made the Well player go off. 

I think I missed whether the player went off or not, such was the seethe at some of the shite he was giving. Although, do players have to go off when the ref stops play? I don't think there's any written rule. I know that they can't insist that they go off if there was a booking, not sure about the other way round. One of his worst today was when their centre half made his second attempt to get Gueye sent off. Threw himself to the ground holding his face, and the ref stopped play for a head knock. It's a nonsense, that rule should be for concussion, but the guy was clearly writhing around and had nothing serious wrong with him. There should be leeway to apply common sense for those ones. 

To put today's result into perspective, top six confirmed which means third at the end of the season and European league football guaranteed  is still on (Hi Rico) 😉

I'm checking my passport expiry date

45 minutes ago, manc_don said:

When would any first euro fixtures for us be played? Back over between June and July…

We should settle for sixth in my opinion, then you'd get to see, perhaps, an Alloa game, or East Kilbride or some other giant of the game.

• Haha 1
1 hour ago, RicoS321 said:

I think I missed whether the player went off or not, such was the seethe at some of the shite he was giving. Although, do players have to go off when the ref stops play? I don't think there's any written rule. I know that they can't insist that they go off if there was a booking, not sure about the other way round. One of his worst today was when their centre half made his second attempt to get Gueye sent off. Threw himself to the ground holding his face, and the ref stopped play for a head knock. It's a nonsense, that rule should be for concussion, but the guy was clearly writhing around and had nothing serious wrong with him. There should be leeway to apply common sense for those ones. 

Thought the rule was that if the player had to be treated onfield by the physio then he had to go off to the sidelines.   When Palaversa and the Motherwell player collided he had to go off the field (maybe a head knock has different connotations) and wasn't ushered back onto the field by the ref. for a least a minute.

Really pleased with that performance other than the goal we conceded. Clarkson and Palaversa were excellent. Better from Okkels but no way I would pay a fee for him. Thought Gueye was lucky not to get a red for his challenge in first half without having seen if back on TV. Nisbet lead forward line brilliantly. Still not sure how his second dipped so much. Ross Hardie is a terrible referee and probably does need some time back in lower leagues. Should not be officiating top flight games. Very pleasant journey back to capital tonight. 

12 minutes ago, dons8321 said:

Thought the rule was that if the player had to be treated onfield by the physio then he had to go off to the sidelines.   When Palaversa and the Motherwell player collided he had to go off the field (maybe a head knock has different connotations) and wasn't ushered back onto the field by the ref. for a least a minute.

Aye, that sounds right. They did have a guy go off for about half a second. He was waved straight on as the ref was dropping it. Palaversa I think went to the dugout briefly when he was off, as we weren't sure if he was coming back on. I didn't pay attention to the other ones they had, as there was clearly fuck all wrong with any of their players.

35 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

We should settle for sixth in my opinion, then you'd get to see, perhaps, an Alloa game, or East Kilbride or some other giant of the game.

Nae use mate 

Been to both of them before

Would rather a trip to Liechtenstein or Malta for a European qualifier 😉

Posted (edited)
26 minutes ago, RicoS321 said:

Aye, that sounds right. They did have a guy go off for about half a second. He was waved straight on as the ref was dropping it. Palaversa I think went to the dugout briefly when he was off, as we weren't sure if he was coming back on. I didn't pay attention to the other ones they had, as there was clearly fuck all wrong with any of their players.

It would be good if any player went down for any reason and the ref. stops the game, 'cos it might be serious (game against Hearts away when their player went for the ball and pulled up immediately and  the ref. blew for a stoppage because it was obvious he'd torn his hamstring...think the ref was  Clancy!) ...the player has to go off to the sideline and can't return until the ball has next gone out of play

Edited by dons8321
1 minute ago, dons8321 said:

It would be good if any player went down for any reason and the ref. stops the game, 'cos it might be serious (game against Hearts away when their player went for the ball and pulled up immediately and  the ref. blew for a stoppage because it was obvious he'd torn his hamstring...thinkthe ref was  Clancy!) ...the player has to go off to the sideline and can't return until the ball has next gone out of play

There's a thing creeping into the game now where a player will now go down holding his head, because if it is a potential head injury the referee has to stop the game. Helps time waste and stop another team's attack.

6 minutes ago, Panda said:

There's a thing creeping into the game now where a player will now go down holding his head, because if it is a potential head injury the referee has to stop the game. Helps time waste and stop another team's attack.

Yes I agree but, if say their CB goes down holding his head and the ref. stops the game, physio comes on, gives him a bit of TLC and confirms that he's good to go on but the ref. says he has to go off until the next time the ball is out of play.  Bet many CBs wouldn't be quite so "sensitive" to challenges in the air.

Whoever the cunt commentating on our game for the Glasgow Broadcasting Company aka BBC is almost incandescent that Gueye didn't see a straight red.

No mention surprisingly (not) of the Motherwell numerous attempts to get Pape sent off 🙄 

44 minutes ago, dons8321 said:

Yes I agree but, if say their CB goes down holding his head and the ref. stops the game, physio comes on, gives him a bit of TLC and confirms that he's good to go on but the ref. says he has to go off until the next time the ball is out of play.  Bet many CBs wouldn't be quite so "sensitive" to challenges in the air.

Aye, that'd actually be a good addition. Write to the lads at uefa 

Posted (edited)

Dear Alex,

I've visited your country twice with my weans (young children) in recent times and thoroughly enjoyed being in such a lovely country.  Anyway, enough flattery as I'm sure being an administrator you are immune to such obvious underhand subterfuse, so I'll get right to the point...some players in the modern game are pretending to be hurt and trying to stop the flow of the match.  I know, it beggars belief, but there you go.  So, here's a suggestion, make any player who has been shot by a sniper in the stands/just falls down for no reason, go off the field until the next a stoppage in play...if your team had to play for 3/4 minutes (10 or 12 if Spain were involved!) with 10 men don't you think that players would think twice about faking injuries?  

Edited by dons8321
2 hours ago, dons8321 said:

2 hours ago, RicoS321 said:

Aye, that'd actually be a good addition. Write to the lads at uefa 

That's fine if VAR says he's faking it.

Otherwise, Lawrence Shankland takes out Mats Knoester. Ref orders Knoester off the pitch. While Aberdeen are down to 10 men, Elton Kabangu scores, and your rule just lost us the semi-final.

7 hours ago, Panda said:

Otherwise, Lawrence Shankland takes out Mats Knoester. Ref orders Knoester off the pitch. While Aberdeen are down to 10 men, Elton Kabangu scores, and your rule just lost us the semi-final.

Mats can stop being a total fanny. If it's not an assault worthy of a booking, then get up and get on with it. Kids in my day would play with broken legs. On shattered glass.

I enjoyed that a lot though we REALLY need to be doing better with cross balls. 

All the plaudits have already been said so I won't parrot them but I will say I agree that was Okkels best game in red.   His assist for Dorrington was simple enough but still a bit under rated imo.  I can't help but wonder what he would look like if he could get himself a goal.  Anyway, regardless whether or not we keep him, with the split approaching and the semi on the horizon it's no bad time for him to start putting in a more noteworthy contribution so here's hoping this isn't a plateau.

I’ll add this re Clarkson, thought he did a good job driving forward, didn’t just settle for square balls and worldie long passes. Really did drop to pick up the ball as sivert does, but was also an excellent attacking threat, got his goal and involved in the third. Think Clarkson and palaversa may be our best central midfield combo. 
okkels is a little like Morris in a way, shows glimpses of good play but not nearly consistent enough. Morris has been more consistent of late but neither are the type of player you pay good money for. Just don’t see okkels being bought when there will be other out of contract options. Topi is young but I think it’s fair to say he gets involved in every game, need the same on the other side which okkels did yesterday to be fair. I’d like to see a left winger with more pace who can get down the line, that’s not okkels as far as we see.

Posted (edited)
16 hours ago, Panda said:

Wouldn't happen as we'd be 3 up by the time the sniper's wet dream got anywhere near enough to take out Knoester.  And also we'd had been given the free kick so could launch it straight into touch to allow Mats back on.

Edited by dons8321
  • Thanks 2