Sharpie Posted May 18, 2008 Report Posted May 18, 2008 Stockport have had fairly decent strikers for the past two seasons. I think we should put in a cheeky wee bid for him. Is Jermain Easter still there? Easter plays for Wycombe innit? Quote
manc_don Posted May 18, 2008 Report Posted May 18, 2008 Easter plays for Wycombe innit? Ah yes, and after quickly looking, he's been shite this season. Scott Mcgleish on the other hand, 26 goals this season http://www.soccerbase.com/players_details.sd?playerid=5108 Quote
minijc Posted May 18, 2008 Report Posted May 18, 2008 There is a league two striker with 24 goals for the league season which is outstanding, I think his name is Mclean or something. Quote
manc_don Posted May 18, 2008 Report Posted May 18, 2008 There is a league two striker with 24 goals for the league season which is outstanding, I think his name is Mclean or something. Aye plays for Peterborough. Was league 2 top scorer with 29 followed by Mcgleish Quote
minijc Posted May 18, 2008 Report Posted May 18, 2008 Aye plays for Peterborough. Was league 2 top scorer with 29 followed by Mcgleish Ahh ok, see these are guys we should be looking at, in a lower league to ours but they have the ability to score, not saying they'd score that up here but i reckon they'd score atleast 15 in our league if they can score 25+ downthere. Quote
manc_don Posted May 18, 2008 Report Posted May 18, 2008 Completely agree. I doubt they will be on very much more and won't command that big a fee. We just need someone that is a proven goalscorer (apart from Lovell). I'd imagine that league two is quite physical so its not like they should get bullied off the ball easily. Quote
minijc Posted May 18, 2008 Report Posted May 18, 2008 Completely agree. I doubt they will be on very much more and won't command that big a fee. We just need someone that is a proven goalscorer (apart from Lovell). I'd imagine that league two is quite physical so its not like they should get bullied off the ball easily. Yeah i watched the league one play off on friday, even though SOuthend got humped 5-1 from a very good DOncaster side i thought some of their players were really good, these are the leagues we should be looking at, i know they aint world beaters but they have to be better than Dutch nobodys and dundee united rejects. Quote
stonefish100 Posted May 19, 2008 Report Posted May 19, 2008 As mentioned earlier in this thread I still think Andy Dorman would be a cracking signing. Also, Medhi Taoul from Killie looks a flair player who can unlock a defence. Supposedly attracting interest from Hertz, surely we're a more attractive prospect than them at the moment Quote
Harcus Posted May 20, 2008 Report Posted May 20, 2008 Dorman supposedly getting interest from Bolton, and a number of Champ. sides. Quote
baggy89 Posted May 20, 2008 Report Posted May 20, 2008 Wathced the league two play off final between Stockport and Yeovil Town after the fa cup yesterday. The striker who scored the winner for Stockport,Liam Dickenson, looked quite decent, tall lad with really good feet - showed in his goal. If they dont win the final may be worth a wee look at buying http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/eng_div_3/7393798.stm Wycombe, I'd say plenty of bargains to be had in League One and Two, McGleish is getting on a bit, think Easters with Clarke and Anderson at Plymouth now, don't think he went there for £20 million though . He was always about pace though never seemed to do much the times I saw him. Nicky Maynard (Crewe) impressed at the end of the season and Steven Gillespie (Cheltenham) has always impressed me, maturing into an excellent striker, if he stays at Cheltenham next season I would expect him to go for big money next summer. Quote
Madbadteacher Posted June 4, 2008 Report Posted June 4, 2008 Sunderland boss Roy Keane has begun his summer cull by telling eight players he will not be renewing their deals. Veteran striker Andy Cole, along with defenders Ian Harte, Stanislav Varga and Stephen Wright have all been released, as have four youngsters. Any of these? Quote
Madbadteacher Posted June 4, 2008 Report Posted June 4, 2008 Worth a look thread? OK. Ta. Couldna see it. Quote
Madbadteacher Posted June 4, 2008 Report Posted June 4, 2008 In a word, no. But that's 4 words! Quote
Tyrant Posted June 11, 2008 Report Posted June 11, 2008 Burton O'Brien has quit Sheffield Wednesday and apparently Falkirk are going after him. Jimmy previously wanted Burton. Remember him being a very decent player. Thoughts? Quote
Sweetchuck Posted June 11, 2008 Report Posted June 11, 2008 Says in today's EE that he's a possibility. Keen to move back north. Quote
Simplistic Posted June 12, 2008 Report Posted June 12, 2008 Nobby Solano? http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/w/west_ham_utd/7451377.stm Quote
Tyrant Posted June 16, 2008 Report Posted June 16, 2008 Nobby Solano? http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/w/west_ham_utd/7451377.stm It says he moved to London for family reasons so can't see him being overly keen to join up with us. Quote
Guest ally s Posted June 17, 2008 Report Posted June 17, 2008 I see Paul Dixon (left back for Dundee) has opened talk with Dundee Utd. I thought we were supposed to be in for him too? Quote
Jute Posted June 17, 2008 Report Posted June 17, 2008 See Gow is going to Burnley as part of Lafferty deal. Another off the list. Quote
Tyrant Posted June 17, 2008 Report Posted June 17, 2008 Don't worry, lads. Jan Koller is mulling over his contract offer with a cup of tea and a custard cream in a wee cupboard room in the Dick Donald stand and will undoubtedly sign any minute. Quote
BigAl Posted June 17, 2008 Report Posted June 17, 2008 Don't worry, lads. Jan Koller is mulling over his contract offer with a cup of tea and a custard cream in a wee cupboard room in the Dick Donald stand and will undoubtedly sign any minute. Hope he'll pass the fitness test after being assualted the other night Quote
Tyrant Posted June 17, 2008 Report Posted June 17, 2008 Hope he'll pass the fitness test after being assualted the other night Dinna worry min. AFC don't bother wi fitness tests. Quote