sheepheid Posted May 4, 2008 Share Posted May 4, 2008 On the one hand i want aberdeen to qualify for europe but i dont want to see the huns win anything But i dont believe we have a strong enough team/squad for europe Then again even if we play a few games in europe the money will help invest in aberdeen shit what a choice to have to make maybe the best i can hope for is us to qualify for europe by beating the huns last day of the season and that said result also losing them the league If (IF) we are still in with a shout of Europe on the last day, then I think it's perfectly feasible that we can beat Rangers at Pittodrie, put ourselves into Europe and spoil their party. We needed a performance from the team on the last day of last season and we got it. However, I too agree that the title is swinging Celtic's way at the moment. Rangers are scraping results at the moment and their players are looking tired. I must say, the UEFA final might be the first time I've ever wished Ricksen to play well and be on the winning team!!!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
boboisared Posted May 4, 2008 Share Posted May 4, 2008 If (IF) we are still in with a shout of Europe on the last day, then I think it's perfectly feasible that we can beat Rangers at Pittodrie, put ourselves into Europe and spoil their party. We needed a performance from the team on the last day of last season and we got it. However, I too agree that the title is swinging Celtic's way at the moment. Rangers are scraping results at the moment and their players are looking tired. I must say, the UEFA final might be the first time I've ever wished Ricksen to play well and be on the winning team!!!! Fuck it min he can play shit as long as the other 9 (keeper won't be needed) play out of their skins. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stewart Posted May 4, 2008 Share Posted May 4, 2008 I don't even need to be asked that question. Finish as high as possible and don't care what anyone else is doing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Aberdeen_Ladette Posted May 5, 2008 Share Posted May 5, 2008 For us tae get in Europe we need them tae win every game, but am wonderin if ye wid sacrifice that to see them lose the league, UEFA Cup and Scottish Cup? Oor best chance o' gettin in Europe is for them to have the league wrapped up before they come to Pittodrie on the last day, so that they can rest players for the finals and have a better chance o' victory. Granted the two cup finals dinnae hae any bearing on our league position, but if they could win the league before the last day they'd be able to rest players givin them a better chance in the two cup finals. So, would ye be happy tae see them win the quadruple so we can get in Europe, or wid ye rather they won fuck all else, and we didnae mak it into the UEFA next year? They will have played in UEFA final before they play us so that is irrelevant in the equation. Under no circumstances would I be happy to see them win the quadruple, I'd rather walk over hot coals. Them winning UEFA makes me feel all queasy even typing it! I wanted Cellic to beat Motherwell on Sat, huns to win today and to win again and put as many goals in Motherwell net on Wednesday as possible. I want what is best for Aberdeen FC Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mentorred Posted May 5, 2008 Share Posted May 5, 2008 Same here. Don't really care if they win the domestic trophies. Would hate them to win the UEFA cup though. We can help stop them winning the league, but we have to rely on Ricksen and co to stop them winning the UEFA Agree I may be living in the past but I still get a fuzzy feeling when I think that we are the last Scottish team to win a European trophy and the only Scottish team to win 2 European trophies, both these records would be gone if the huns win the UEFA Cup. Although John Hewitt would probably be the last scotsman to score the winning goal in a European final as the chances of a scotsman scoring the winner for them is slim. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mackie's ace! Posted May 5, 2008 Share Posted May 5, 2008 The Scottish Premier League has rejected Rangers' request to have Saturday's clash with Dundee United postponed ahead of the UEFA Cup final.The Light Blues, who are embroiled in a hectic end to their season, take on Motherwell at Ibrox on Wednesday then welcome the Tannadice side to Govan in the SPL just three days before their European final against Zenit St Petersburg at the City of Manchester Stadium. After Rangers' goalless draw against Hibernian at Easter Road on Sunday, which began a run of eight games in 21 days for the Govan club, Ibrox boss Walter Smith again criticised the SPL for not offering them any help to prepare for their first European final in 36 years. A further plea for help on Monday by Rangers was knocked back although it is understood that SPL executive chairman Lex Gold and the Ibrox club are still trying to find a solution. A spokesman for the SPL said: "We had a request from Rangers earlier in the day to have the Dundee United game postponed. "We have not been able to agree to that request. "Postponing that game would have a knock-on effect for the rest of the programme. "We would have to move all the top-six fixtures to end the season with all the teams playing at the same time." They're never happy. I hope they screw everything up themselves. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldie03 Posted May 5, 2008 Share Posted May 5, 2008 I want Rangers to just finish with just the Diddy Insurance Cup. I think Aberdeen have left it too late to get into Europe, and as controversial as it sounds, we don't deserve to be in the UEFA Cup next season based on some of the results and performances we have had this season. I'm kinda thinking the same Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Robo Posted May 5, 2008 Share Posted May 5, 2008 Cheer on Rangers? HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA I'd rather grate my own balls than support that shower of shite. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CtS Posted May 5, 2008 Share Posted May 5, 2008 Although John Hewitt would probably be the last scotsman to score the winning goal in a European final as the chances of a scotsman scoring the winner for them is slim. Is he playing for Rangers now? Feckin traitor. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SWA Posted May 6, 2008 Author Share Posted May 6, 2008 Cheer on Rangers? HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA I'd rather grate my own balls than support that shower of shite. Aye, fair enough, but for us tae hae any chance o' Europe we need them tae win their games? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest bloo_toon_red Posted May 6, 2008 Share Posted May 6, 2008 I hope Rangers beat Motherwell in both of their "games in hand". I can't see any problem with that for the simple reason that it gives us an advantage in the race for third. Some Dons "fans" really need to get over this Rangers thing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SWA Posted May 6, 2008 Author Share Posted May 6, 2008 Some Dons "fans" really need to get over this Rangers thing. Couldnae have put it any better masel. I seriously cannae believe the mentality of fans that wid rather Rangers lost than we got intae Europe. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vanderark14 Posted May 6, 2008 Share Posted May 6, 2008 i want Rangers to keep winning in the league until we have secured or fucked up our chances of 3rd. any other cometition they are in i want them to get humped. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
sheep_shagger Posted May 6, 2008 Share Posted May 6, 2008 Will be hoping Rangers hump Motherwell tomorrow night and United on Saturday and then for us to beat Motherwell. If we fail to beat Motherwell on Saturday, and that is likely, then i will go back to hoping the huns get humped. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Robo Posted May 6, 2008 Share Posted May 6, 2008 Aye, fair enough, but for us tae hae any chance o' Europe we need them tae win their games? For us to get into Europe, I'd say Aberdeen would need to deserve it, and on a whole I don't believe we deserve to be in Europe again no matter HOW MUCH I WANT THEM TO BE THERE!!! We're almost as boring to watch as Rangers are. HOOOOOOOOOOF to Miller, he dives or goes down too easily, nothing given HOOOOOOOOOOF to Miller, he dives or goes down too easily, nothing given HOOOOOOOOOOF to Miller, he dives or goes down to easily, nothing given. so on and so forth. Yeah thats about as entertaining as watching an Anna Nicole Smith porno (shes deid!) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest bloo_toon_red Posted May 6, 2008 Share Posted May 6, 2008 For us to get into Europe, I'd say Aberdeen would need to deserve it, and on a whole I don't believe we deserve to be in Europe again The league doesn't lie. If we finish third, then we'll deserve it, no matter how we got there. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SWA Posted May 6, 2008 Author Share Posted May 6, 2008 We're almost as boring to watch as Rangers are. HOOOOOOOOOOF to Miller, he dives or goes down too easily, nothing given HOOOOOOOOOOF to Miller, he dives or goes down too easily, nothing given HOOOOOOOOOOF to Miller, he dives or goes down to easily, nothing given. so on and so forth. Yeah thats about as entertaining as watching an Anna Nicole Smith porno (shes deid!) And you're a Liverpool fan? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
vanderark14 Posted May 6, 2008 Share Posted May 6, 2008 And you're a Liverpool fan? whats that got to do with it? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jute Posted May 6, 2008 Share Posted May 6, 2008 Surprised by the number of folk who would rather see Rangers fail than Aberdeen succeed. Personally if Rangers winning every league game apart from the one against us is the price of us getting uefa place again then it is one I am prepared to accept. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SWA Posted May 6, 2008 Author Share Posted May 6, 2008 whats that got to do with it? Sayin that Aberdeen and Rangers are boring to watch Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Robo Posted May 6, 2008 Share Posted May 6, 2008 Why does everyone bring Liverpool into threads about Aberdeen or the SPL, seriously. I don't mind talking about Liverpool in other football chat, but it gets boring after a while hearing digs about Liverpool in Aberdeen threads. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SWA Posted May 6, 2008 Author Share Posted May 6, 2008 Why does everyone bring Liverpool into threads about Aberdeen or the SPL, seriously. I don't mind talking about Liverpool in other football chat, but it gets boring after a while hearing digs about Liverpool in Aberdeen threads. But the random camel/arab jokes and typing 'random' is hilarious? It's the same way that ye always go on aboot Aberdeen being boring tae watch. I jus find 'at a bit hypocritical bearin in mind yer a Liverpool fan. This site's one big merry-go-roond Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guest Robo Posted May 6, 2008 Share Posted May 6, 2008 But the random camel/arab jokes and typing 'random' is hilarious? It's the same way that ye always go on aboot Aberdeen being boring tae watch. I jus find 'at a bit hypocritical bearin in mind yer a Liverpool fan. This site's one big merry-go-roond Erm..........random Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
SWA Posted May 6, 2008 Author Share Posted May 6, 2008 Erm..........random TWO Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
glasgowdon Posted May 6, 2008 Share Posted May 6, 2008 I'd be willing to wager the people that would rather Rangers lost than us get in to Europe have something wrong with them and/or didn't make it to any European away games. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...