??? Posted August 26, 2008 Report Posted August 26, 2008 if we don't bring in the players we need (RB and CB for starters) by the end of the transfer window? It's been obvious for months that we've needed to replace Michael Hart and Russell Anderson, yet it's still not happened. So who's to blame? 1. Jimmy Calderwood 2. Willie Miller 3. The board 4. Darren f*cking Mackie Quote
mizer Posted August 26, 2008 Report Posted August 26, 2008 A) Calderwood and his henchmen The 6 week holiday he has is ridiculous. But then who agreed to it....... Quote
Guest swaddon Posted August 26, 2008 Report Posted August 26, 2008 There's still almost a week left until the window shuts, so there's no need for finger pointing just yet. And if we don't sign these players, then no-one should be blamed; we can't just click our fingers and expect decent players to sign for us. We have a budget to work to, and you can't get great quality for little money all of the time. Quote
Ajja Posted August 26, 2008 Report Posted August 26, 2008 Blame is useless as a tool for change. It simply allows us to attribute fault without the authority to act to punish. sup·port·er Pronunciation[suh-pawr-ter, -pohr-] Pronunciation Key - Show IPA Pronunciation –noun 1. a person or thing that supports. 2. an adherent, follower, backer, or advocate. Shift focus dude before you eat yourself from the inside out Quote
??? Posted August 26, 2008 Author Report Posted August 26, 2008 I'm not blaming anyone, I'm just curious who'll take the blame from the pessimists. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted August 26, 2008 Report Posted August 26, 2008 I'm not blaming anyone, I'm just curious who'll take the blame from the pessimists. Funny how you say that yet begin a thread wishing to apportion blame for something that has, as yet, not happened. Quote
??? Posted August 26, 2008 Author Report Posted August 26, 2008 Funny how you say that yet begin a thread wishing to apportion blame for something that has, as yet, not happened. That's why in the first post I ask, "Who'll take the blame if we don't bring in the players we need (RB and CB for starters) by the end of the transfer window?" Is that okay? We do need a right back first and foremost, everyone's aware of that. So if we don't bring in anyone, who's responsible? I'm just curious who the pessimists will blame after reading a similar thread elsewhere about Man. United in which Sir Alex is being blamed for the lack of signings this summer. Quote
glasgow sheep Posted August 26, 2008 Report Posted August 26, 2008 surely it will be the fans fault Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted August 26, 2008 Report Posted August 26, 2008 Is that okay? No. It's too pessimistic a thread. Quote
??? Posted August 26, 2008 Author Report Posted August 26, 2008 No. It's too pessimistic a thread. Tough. I want to know who they'll blame. And why. Quote
Aberdeen_Ladette Posted August 26, 2008 Report Posted August 26, 2008 surely it will be the fans fault You may have hit the nail on the head GS, as I wouldn't be surprised if the fans are blamed to some extent , ..... ... reduction in budget for JC due to drop in ST sales We should compose story now for Charlie to copy!! Quote
caledonia Posted August 26, 2008 Report Posted August 26, 2008 Although Calderwood is a fud of the highest order If Stewart Milne would get his hand in his moth ridden wallet maybe we would be better off.. And please spare me the self financing pish that usually follows a mention of spending money.. Quote
Jute Posted August 27, 2008 Report Posted August 27, 2008 Blame can be shared pretty much equally between the first three options. Quote
bilbobaggins Posted August 27, 2008 Report Posted August 27, 2008 I blame the parents and tartazine. Quote
Slim Posted August 27, 2008 Report Posted August 27, 2008 I don't want to put all of the blame on 9/11, but it certainly didn't help. Quote
tlg1903 Posted August 27, 2008 Report Posted August 27, 2008 More than anyone i blame players who dont want to further their career simpl;y because they dont want to move north of the central belt. Aberdeen's location hinders us a lot in terms of signing recognised players Quote
??? Posted August 27, 2008 Author Report Posted August 27, 2008 5. Georgia Let the Russians deal with it. A new 'Cold War' should sort it... Quote
Guest Robo Posted August 27, 2008 Report Posted August 27, 2008 Hopefully Calderwood blames Tommy Wright, and Wright turns round and does a Crawford, but hopefully does a better job of it that Crawford did!!!!! Quote
Superstar Tradesman Posted August 27, 2008 Report Posted August 27, 2008 Why must there always be someone to point the finger at? Perhaps it's down to a whole host of reasons far outwith our understanding? Maybe it is just down to one person and it's all his fault? But what exactly are we going to gain from a lengthy witch hunt where we finally corner the individual(s) and collectively stand there going "it's his fault!"? Will people actually feel any better because of this? Nothing will change down at Pittodrie as a result of those findings and we haven't even got to the point where the window is closed. Even after it is we can still sign players who are out of contract so it's hardly time to start sharpening the pitchforks. Quote
glasgow sheep Posted August 27, 2008 Report Posted August 27, 2008 hang on Is it not obviously the SFA. It usually is. Quote
Kowalski Posted August 27, 2008 Report Posted August 27, 2008 I blame the people who create threads that start pointing fingers before the transfer window closes! Quote
??? Posted August 27, 2008 Author Report Posted August 27, 2008 I blame the people who create threads that start pointing fingers before the transfer window closes! I'm just curious as to who will take the flak, and for what reason they'll take the flak. See Caledonia's post for example. He wants us to splash the cash even though this is one of the reasons why the club is f*cked just now. Some people's logic is bizarre. Quote
rednek Posted August 27, 2008 Report Posted August 27, 2008 Hud on. In my honest opinion this is a shocking thread. Ive said it before on here but some people are just to negative. They are always looking for someone to blame at the club when we dont sign ronaldo or win the champions league. I imagine that its difficult to attract players to a club where the biggest attraction on match day are the gulls. We cant offer big wages so most players we want would have to take a massive paycut. Does anyone actually know for a fact that JC's not actively looking for players? Quote
Ajja Posted August 27, 2008 Report Posted August 27, 2008 Why must there always be someone to point the finger at? Perhaps it's down to a whole host of reasons far outwith our understanding? Maybe it is just down to one person and it's all his fault? But what exactly are we going to gain from a lengthy witch hunt where we finally corner the individual(s) and collectively stand there going "it's his fault!"? Will people actually feel any better because of this? Nothing will change down at Pittodrie as a result of those findings and we haven't even got to the point where the window is closed. Even after it is we can still sign players who are out of contract so it's hardly time to start sharpening the pitchforks. Thats what I said, only with a little less despair. Quote