Guest Johnny Mac Posted March 14, 2007 Report Posted March 14, 2007 Nobody else think he could do a good job at left back? Better than Byrne i would have thought, and a safer defensive option than Foster when up against the bigger teams. Anyone would be better than the Byrne! Give the guy a chance, I'm sure he'll do a good job for us! Quote
Guest swaddon Posted March 14, 2007 Report Posted March 14, 2007 I'm not exactly thrilled at the prospect of Lee Mair joining us, but we'll see. I think he might be the new Danny Griffin. Quote
Guest efan_ekoku Posted March 15, 2007 Report Posted March 15, 2007 Not sure about Lee Mair like. Another injury prone player. And this comes not long after Jimmy saying he wanted to sign wingers. I can only presume that he fears for losing Anderson or Hart who both have a year to go on their contract and he may look to cash in on them if contract talks stall in the summer Quote
Guest BTR Posted March 15, 2007 Report Posted March 15, 2007 As much as I don't rate Lee Mair as a potential AFC first-teamer, with him being able to play right-back as well as in the centre, we have to remember we don't have effective cover for Hart at right-back. I'd stick my neck out and suggest JC has moved to Mair as an alternative to his previous target, Greig Shields. We should however be setting our sights higher. Quote
Madbadteacher Posted March 15, 2007 Report Posted March 15, 2007 As much as I don't rate Lee Mair as a potential AFC first-teamer, with him being able to play right-back as well as in the centre, we have to remember we don't have effective cover for Hart at right-back. I'd stick my neck out and suggest JC has moved to Mair as an alternative to his previous target, Greig Shields. We should however be setting our sights higher. I'm sure JC would be IF WE HAD ANY FU**ING MONEY! Quote
Drewsome Posted March 15, 2007 Report Posted March 15, 2007 Relax lads the £££ will come. Anyone remember the extra cash we got from the game with Hertha Berlin a few years ago? That's why European qualification is so important. Quote
Guest efan_ekoku Posted March 16, 2007 Report Posted March 16, 2007 Latest is that it sounds like Mair has come through his medical: http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/a/aberdeen/6457629.stm Quote
Slim Posted March 16, 2007 Report Posted March 16, 2007 Looks like he's being signed as a replacement for both David Donald and Gary Dempsey. Have to admit, I've never seen him play in midfield, and I'm not exactly enthusiastic about that prospect. Quote
Guest efan_ekoku Posted March 16, 2007 Report Posted March 16, 2007 Looks like he's being signed as a replacement for both David Donald and Gary Dempsey. Have to admit, I've never seen him play in midfield, and I'm not exactly enthusiastic about that prospect. I've never seen him in midfield either but if it prevents Severin going to centre half and gives us good cover in a few positions then it'll be of benefit. If Diamond does stay, then hopefully it can be a kick up the back side for him to go back to just being a defender and nothing else as he was when he first came on the scene, not a centre half who thinks he can take on the world himself Quote
wee toon red Posted March 16, 2007 Report Posted March 16, 2007 As I've said already, I can't see any real down side to signing Lee Mair. I can see why people would be unhappy if we were signing him INSTEAD of a much-needed winger, but as a squad player I think he'll do a good job for us. Quote
Guest highriggsdon Posted March 16, 2007 Report Posted March 16, 2007 I don't understand why everyone is so worried either. The entire season has been spent complaining that we have a squad that is too small, JC looks to sign a player to give us extra cover in several positions and everyone is annoyed? He's not going to be on big wages so what is the problem? Quote
Slim Posted March 16, 2007 Report Posted March 16, 2007 I think a lot of people are concerned that he's either not very good, or very injury prone. And some people will be worried about the stigma of us signing a player who can't get a game for Dundee Utd. Those complaints may or may not be fair/accurate, but the reaction is understandable I'd say. Quote
K-9 Posted March 16, 2007 Report Posted March 16, 2007 I think a lot of people are concerned that he's either not very good, or very injury prone. And some people will be worried about the stigma of us signing a player who can't get a game for Dundee Utd. Those complaints may or may not be fair/accurate, but the reaction is understandable I'd say. Aye a risk for a player plagued with injury but hopefully will prove to be a good addition. Quote
Drewsome Posted March 16, 2007 Report Posted March 16, 2007 Tis the curse when you have budgetary issues. You have to sign on Potential Quote
glasgowdon Posted March 16, 2007 Report Posted March 16, 2007 Will be good for a bit of depth in the squad. I seriously hope Zander stays though, he'll come good for Aberdeen. Quote
Lucas Davenport Posted March 17, 2007 Report Posted March 17, 2007 Will be good for a bit of depth in the squad. I seriously hope Zander stays though, he'll come good for Aberdeen. At last some sense that i have seen when i quickly browsed through this. He WILL be better than Clark IF playing in midfeild. You guys moan about not having depth in the squad and as soon as Jimmy tries to add a bit depth you guys go away on one! Give the lad a chance, i personally think its an average signing not the best but not the worse. Just calm down here. Quote