BobbyBiscuit Posted January 20, 2009 Report Posted January 20, 2009 Can I just say that Willie Miller should go, as we've seen no improvement in the youth set up at Pittodrie. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted January 20, 2009 Report Posted January 20, 2009 Attendance: 175 For fuck sake FFS Miller, is that all you can muster to watch the young players we aren't bringing through? What the fuck WTF does he fucking do? He's clearly completely alienated the Maltese with his remarks in the EE. Quote
Jute Posted January 20, 2009 Report Posted January 20, 2009 We had this sort of representation before in the U17 ,U18 and U19 set ups problem is they do not seem to make the step on from there. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted January 20, 2009 Report Posted January 20, 2009 We had this sort of representation before in the U17 ,U18 and U19 set ups problem is they do not seem to make the step on from there. Yeah though this isn't entirely a problem only at AFC. Quote
Jute Posted January 20, 2009 Report Posted January 20, 2009 Yeah though this isn't entirely a problem only at AFC. True. Only got to look at Huns. A few years back they had 9 or 10 players in U17 squad and of them only Fleck (who was playing above his age level) has made it anywhere near the first team. Was just pointing out that we have had this sort of numbers before at this level and nothing has come of it. Quote
Cove_Sheep Posted January 20, 2009 Report Posted January 20, 2009 True. Only got to look at Huns. A few years back they had 9 or 10 players in U17 squad and of them only Fleck (who was playing above his age level) has made it anywhere near the first team. Was just pointing out that we have had this sort of numbers before at this level and nothing has come of it. That was prior to George Adams getting the boot wasn't it? Obviously it should be easier for our young players to make the step up than it is for the Huns. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted January 20, 2009 Report Posted January 20, 2009 True. Only got to look at Huns. A few years back they had 9 or 10 players in U17 squad and of them only Fleck (who was playing above his age level) has made it anywhere near the first team. Was just pointing out that we have had this sort of numbers before at this level and nothing has come of it. Birds, booze and some cash in their hipper. It all comes way too easy nowadays. Hopefully this lot have the necessary to want it enough. Quote
Ajja Posted January 20, 2009 Report Posted January 20, 2009 Birds, booze and some cash in their hipper. It all comes way too easy nowadays. Hopefully this lot have the necessary to want it enough. Don't forgot them all being too small Quote
baggy89 Posted January 20, 2009 Report Posted January 20, 2009 I'm guessing Mitchell Meginson is a School boy international and is actually Faroese? Quote
bilbobaggins Posted January 21, 2009 Report Posted January 21, 2009 I'm guessing Mitchell Meginson is a School boy international and is actually Faroese? Nope, his dad is a Highland League legend. Aberdeen all the way. Quote
boboisared Posted January 21, 2009 Report Posted January 21, 2009 "small" was likely the word used to let them doon gently, while "not SPL standard" would have been a more appropriate phrase. Like Maloney? Quote
boboisared Posted January 21, 2009 Report Posted January 21, 2009 OK that's one who went on to bigger if not perhaps better things... did he leave or was he pushed though? I'm nae sure. And that was before we did bring some of our own youth through. How many AFC youth players have gone onto bigger and better things since guys like Anderson and MacNaughton broke through - nae that many, if any, but they all seem to say it's because they didn't get their chance. I would say it's cos they weren't good enough. In a few years we will see the product of the youth system coming through again like we did when the team went through it's early cutbacks in the Ebbe years. I'm fairly certain of that as long as we can keep building the club and getting Europe and consistent league finishes and hopefully a Cup win We never actually had him. Scouted him and said he was too small. Quote
Cove_Sheep Posted January 21, 2009 Report Posted January 21, 2009 We never actually had him. Scouted him and said he was too small. Maloney is a tim and always wanted to go to Celtic. Quote
boboisared Posted January 21, 2009 Report Posted January 21, 2009 Maloney is a tim and always wanted to go to Celtic. Whats your point? We never offered him a deal for him to make a choice. Quote
boboisared Posted January 21, 2009 Report Posted January 21, 2009 What's your point?!? This thread is about youngsters who are/were at the club. Not celtic boys club I gave you an example of a player who had bags of ability that was too small who we never took a chance on. Good enough for you? Quote
Mackie's ace! Posted January 21, 2009 Report Posted January 21, 2009 I reckon this "too small" nonsense is made up by kids who are gutted not to have been taken on by us, it sounds like pish to me. One of my friends is friends with that Paul Coutts boy and told me that story last week. Quote
boboisared Posted January 21, 2009 Report Posted January 21, 2009 I reckon this "too small" nonsense is made up by kids who are gutted not to have been taken on by us, it sounds like pish to me. One of my friends is friends with that Paul Coutts boy and told me that story last week. Thats your opinion but I know of plenty talented footballers who unfortunately were too small to play at professional standard, up and down the leagues. Also know people who were bluntly told they weren't good enough. Quote
Mackie's ace! Posted January 21, 2009 Report Posted January 21, 2009 Thats your opinion but I know of plenty talented footballers who unfortunately were too small to play at professional standard, up and down the leagues. Also know people who were bluntly told they weren't good enough. Well the players would obviously have to be small too, if they were 6 foot the story would sound a bit suss. But if you're good enough, you can make it. Jamie Smith is a midget and he's a good player who happens to have injury problems, Barry Nic isn't a big guy...I'm sure you can think of plenty too. Quote
boboisared Posted January 21, 2009 Report Posted January 21, 2009 Well the players would obviously have to be small too, if they were 6 foot the story would sound a bit suss. But if you're good enough, you can make it. Jamie Smith is a midget and he's a good player who happens to have injury problems, Barry Nic isn't a big guy...I'm sure you can think of plenty too. Yeah but they never came through our youth system. I understand what your saying, I just know people who have beenpunted for those reasons. Quote
Kowalski Posted January 27, 2009 Report Posted January 27, 2009 Can I just say that Willie Miller should go, as we've seen no improvement in the youth set up at Pittodrie. He should be out knocking on doors trying to get money instead. Quote
??? Posted January 27, 2009 Report Posted January 27, 2009 He should be out knocking on doors trying to get money instead. Oil money Quote
stoney Posted January 28, 2009 Report Posted January 28, 2009 things are looking good at the moment. Nice to see four of our young lads involved, got over excited before with bagshaw he captained one of the young teams. Hope they get a chance to show what they are made off up here Quote
??? Posted January 29, 2009 Report Posted January 29, 2009 they call that premature ejaculation. I hope they only get a chance to show what they are made of (f)" if they are good enough, and as long as they don't get a run out in a game just for the hell of it. Every point matters in this league and if we swap in a youngster and lose points, it will be as damaging to Aberdeen's ambitions as it is to his own, especially when fuckin idiots like Stoney get on his back booing and saying he's shite before 10 minutes are up. Big Stoney knows. Quote