Saturday 26th April 2025 - kick-off 3pm

Scottish Premiership: Aberdeen v Hibernian

🔴⚪️ COME ON YOU REDS! ⚪️🔴

Not been to Falkirk for a while so no first hand knowledge but mates son who played for Stirling Uni on it last season said it was awful. St Johnstone pitch was damaged, according to them, after a game was put on as SKY cameras were there when it should have been called off. St Mirren I am convinced have allowed their pitch to be like that as it suits their style. In the end a well maintained grass pitch imo is always going to be better than a plastic one. 

Posted (edited)

Fantastic entertainment at Hampden once again, as the plucky underdogs storm into a three goal lead. What an achievement. Does anyone actually watch that pish?

Edit: four, as @wee toon red points out. Shouldn't have taken so long to write my post.

Edited by RicoS321

"This is like a home game for Celtic" says the commentator.

And that is exactly why us being offered anything less than a 50/50 split for the final simply hands Celtic an advantage before a ball is kicked, and they clearly don't need many more of those.

15 minutes ago, Panda said:

"This is like a home game for Celtic" says the commentator.

And that is exactly why us being offered anything less than a 50/50 split for the final simply hands Celtic an advantage before a ball is kicked, and they clearly don't need many more of those.

I don’t know why our fans place so much emphasis on the ticket split being such a great advantage.

If you want proof of this just look at our record. At HOME, we have played Celtic 51 times since 2000/2001 and have won 5 of those games. Coincidentally we have also played them 51 times away in that period and have won 5 of those.
If anyone really thinks a 60:40 ticket split for the final will make any difference to the result they are deluded. We might well win the final but the ticket split will make absolutely no difference to the result.

34 minutes ago, wokinginashearerwonderland said:

I don’t know why our fans place so much emphasis on the ticket split being such a great advantage.

If you want proof of this just look at our record. At HOME, we have played Celtic 51 times since 2000/2001 and have won 5 of those games. Coincidentally we have also played them 51 times away in that period and have won 5 of those.
If anyone really thinks a 60:40 ticket split for the final will make any difference to the result they are deluded. We might well win the final but the ticket split will make absolutely no difference to the result.

Okay well, thanks for your "deluded" insult. 

So you don't think players get a lift when the crowd is louder?

No-one is saying that will be the main factor in whether we get a positive result or not, but Celtic having the majority of the crowd, and Aberdeen's being miles from the pitch behind the goal, gives then yet another advantage, of which they'll already have many on the day.

1 hour ago, wokinginashearerwonderland said:

Interesting. I suspect points won might be a better barometer. Or stats involving other teams to get an idea, overall, of home advantage. Either way, we get better results, and play better, at home against them. We don't beat them home or away very often, so it's probably not a good benchmark. Other factors might explain those victories better.

Aye but it's supposed to be a neutral venue. It should be 50:50 to begin with, and if Aberdeen don't sell their allocation in a certain time frame, the remainder can be offered to Celtic. It was said here well before the semis, we will be punished for not bringing a full allocation to Glasgow for a 12.30 semi-final kickoff. Had Saturdays game been a 3pm kickoff, I am confident we would've matched Hearts crowd-wise 

Was at Sunderland v Blackburn today and on today’s evidence cannot see Sunderland making it up through play offs. Plenty of possession with loads of pretty side ways passes but created very few clear cut chances. 

IMG_0467.jpeg

On 20/04/2025 at 17:52, Panda said:

Okay well, thanks for your "deluded" insult. 

So you don't think players get a lift when the crowd is louder?

No-one is saying that will be the main factor in whether we get a positive result or not, but Celtic having the majority of the crowd, and Aberdeen's being miles from the pitch behind the goal, gives then yet another advantage, of which they'll already have many on the day.

It was not an insult, just a belief that what you say is not true.

I really don't believe that the players would notice any significant difference between having 26,000 fans of each team in the stadium or 31,000 Celtic fans versus 21,000 of our own.  I am not saying that it should not be a 50:50 split, just that it won't make any difference to the result. If it really made such a difference then our home record against them would be a lot better.

2 hours ago, wokinginashearerwonderland said:

It was not an insult, just a belief that what you say is not true.

I really don't believe that the players would notice any significant difference between having 26,000 fans of each team in the stadium or 31,000 Celtic fans versus 21,000 of our own.  I am not saying that it should not be a 50:50 split, just that it won't make any difference to the result. If it really made such a difference then our home record against them would be a lot better.

If we don't get a 50-50 split we won't be getting 21,000, never mind 26,000.

We'd get around 18,000, the majority stuck behind the goal, miles away from the pitch, while Celtic would have fans filling the rest of the stadium including the whole of the north stand.

It's not "deluded" to suggest Celtic would get some advantage from that.