Jarviescombover Posted September 12, 2009 Report Posted September 12, 2009 Alright, I'm Jarviescombover. I've been a member of DonsTalk since 2003 but I've not used it for a number of years. I used to live in Aberdeen but have just moved to St Paul, Minnesota. It's a nice place to live, but pretty chilly in the winter (-40 odd). My first Aberdeen game was at East End Park to watch the Dons Vs Dunfermline in the 91/92 season (I think) which finished in a 0-0 draw. I play every Tuesday for a 6-aside team in Minneapolis. A couple of decent lads, some real baw bags though. Quote
Jarviescombover Posted September 12, 2009 Report Posted September 12, 2009 Unfortunately we play in the same team. Quote
mizer Posted September 12, 2009 Report Posted September 12, 2009 some real baw bags though. Snap them then! Quote
Jarviescombover Posted September 12, 2009 Report Posted September 12, 2009 Wasting members of your own team isn't a good winning strategy. Quote
Madbadteacher Posted September 12, 2009 Report Posted September 12, 2009 Suppose so. But surely you play for the joy? Quote
Jarviescombover Posted September 12, 2009 Report Posted September 12, 2009 I do. It's different here, almost at times a completely different game. From my experience the referees are much worse, to the extent that it's not even a contact sport. No slide tackles etc and that's outdoor. Quote
Madbadteacher Posted September 12, 2009 Report Posted September 12, 2009 You should introduce them to shinty! Quote
Jarviescombover Posted September 12, 2009 Report Posted September 12, 2009 Not a bad idea. But they'd probably wear all sorts of armour. Quote
Dandy_Don Posted September 12, 2009 Report Posted September 12, 2009 Jarvie, do you ever watch the ice hockey? I guess it would be the Minnesota Wild with you? What made you move there? Quote
Jarviescombover Posted September 12, 2009 Report Posted September 12, 2009 The wife's from Detroit Lakes so she wanted to move closer to family. She's more of a baseball fan but I have been watching the Wild a bit. They've got a new coach this year, so expectations are pretty high. I guess the Wild's fanbase is pretty loyal, every game is sold out. Quote
RAZOR Posted November 27, 2009 Report Posted November 27, 2009 Hi there im Razor from Balmedie,20 year old Vice chairmen of Ullevi Dons,give us a shout if anyone fancies coming down on the bus Quote
mizer Posted November 27, 2009 Report Posted November 27, 2009 Hi there im Razor from Balmedie,20 year old Vice chairmen of Ullevi Dons,give us a shout if anyone fancies coming down on the bus Aye aye, welcome aboard min. Quote
Well Red Posted February 15, 2010 Report Posted February 15, 2010 Well Red. That Well Red? Aye. From back in the day when Reekie was rimming Big Al, BobbyB was chibbing huns and listening to Neil Young, and Heed the Baw was getting advice on his nails and girly lunches from Bazig. Dandy was about 12 and as yet unbowed by life. RednProud was the board gimp, and Rach / Dolly got a bag on because receptionists didn't HAVE to answer the phone. So. What's changed, lads? Quote
Well Red Posted February 16, 2010 Report Posted February 16, 2010 Like, chief! Christ, but the member list here takes me back. Drewsome, Slim, Dave, glasgowsheep... See mostly all the old bassas are admin and mods. I'm RIGHT in the shecht when I'm spotted... Quote
Well Red Posted February 16, 2010 Report Posted February 16, 2010 'k, min - cheers. Though, in a funny way, it's good to see the "brown" option is still alive and well. "Mizer", eh. Noted. Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted February 16, 2010 Report Posted February 16, 2010 Well Red. That Well Red? Aye. From back in the day when Reekie was rimming Big Al, BobbyB was chibbing huns and listening to Neil Young, and Heed the Baw was getting advice on his nails and girly lunches from Bazig. Dandy was about 12 and as yet unbowed by life. RednProud was the board gimp, and Rach / Dolly got a bag on because receptionists didn't HAVE to answer the phone. So. What's changed, lads? My word... how you doing? Welcome back mate. ps Rach still has a bag on about anything you want to mention, but doesn't post here, still see her fairly regularly though Quote
Sandaldinho Posted March 3, 2010 Report Posted March 3, 2010 Alright i'm Sandaldinho been a member of DT for a while and occasionally logged on to the old DT but never posted much until recently. Live in Burntisland, Fife and play 7's once a week (spend most of my time kicking people rather than the ball), but Basketball was the sport i played. Can't remember my first game, most likely against Dunfermline or Raith. I play with expensive tools all day and have a Pub in my garden Quote
manc_don Posted March 7, 2010 Report Posted March 7, 2010 Welcome aboard the good ship! How many can the bar hold? Dt lock in is required i think Quote
Sandaldinho Posted March 16, 2010 Report Posted March 16, 2010 we've had about 15 in it? so its quite small, but it does have been on tap! Dt lock in is required i think sorry, no lock in's.....the bar never closes Quote
Roccovellhung Posted March 25, 2010 Report Posted March 25, 2010 RoccoVellhung, in my 30's for a little while longer and bide just doon the road from Somerfield (although I think its gradually becoming a Co-op now, which isnae so good as they don't appear to have as much offers on the red wine.....saying that they do have a well tasty Rioja for just under a fiver so not all bad ) Quote
mizer Posted March 25, 2010 Report Posted March 25, 2010 they do have a well tasty Rioja for just under a fiver so not all bad ) Jagerdeen will be gutted hes offshore the now then Quote
daytripping Posted March 29, 2010 Report Posted March 29, 2010 I'm daytripping fae Aberdeen, fit like folks. I'm barred fae Donsmad where my username was "daytripping" I'm 41 years of age and usually followed Aberdeen with the naughtier group of fans, long retired now but still go along to the occasional away day oot with them for the laugh. Can be found in section Y or in my living room on match days, not as loyal as I once was, there was a time I went to every game home and away, now pick and choose. Work in the oil industry with one of the bigger service companies. I'm partial to a cheeky wee red of an evening and like Tennants on tap, I'm a smoker too, L & B, around 30 a day. Anything else anyone wants to know? Quote
dave_min Posted March 30, 2010 Report Posted March 30, 2010 Anything else anyone wants to know? Yeah, i've got a few questions: 1. Whats you shoe size? 2. What was your first girlfriends name? 3. What is your favourite Bruce Springsteen Album? Quote