Sunday 6th October 2024 - kick-off 3pm

Scottish Premiership: Aberdeen v Hearts

EE: Aberdeen FC ‘would be mad’ to sack Jimmy

Kowalski

Aberdeen FC ‘would be mad’ to sack Jimmy

Euro spot will ease Scottish Cup heartache, says Jamie Smith

By Sean Wallace

Published: 24/03/2009

JAMIE Smith today insisted Aberdeen FC will salvage their season to ease the pressure on gaffer Jimmy Calderwood.

The midfielder is dismayed sections of Aberdeen FC’s Red Army are calling for Calderwood to be axed.

A 0-0 draw with Hibs did little to appease those fans who are baying for blood in the aftermath of the Scottish Cup defeat to lower league Dunfermline.

But Smith revealed the players are fully behind their gaffer, and aim to prove that by securing a return to Europe.

Smith said: “For people to be calling for the manager’s head is ludicrous.

“Jimmy Calderwood is the manager of Aberdeen and that is the way the players want it to remain.

“All the players are 100% behind the gaffer.

“All we can do is make sure we win our games when we go out on the pitch.

“Unfortunately, that did not happen against Dunfermline which was disappointing.â€

Aberdeen’s Easter Road stalemate keeps them in the hunt for third place after Euro rivals Dundee United and Hearts were both held to draws.

“We can still qualify for Europe, so there is everything to play for this season,†said Smith.

“Situations can change very quickly in football.

“The push for Europe is very tight and it will fluctuate from week to week.â€

Unfortunately, that did not happen against Dunfermline which was disappointing.

Disappointing? Is that ALL that can be said on behalf of the players about that game?  This insipid response seems to be indicative of the players attitude.

How about "Im sorry on behalf of the players for the piss poor way the entire team played.  We realise it should not have happened again and we will strive to repay the faith that so many supporters have had for so long."  Oh but wait...that would be the captains job wouldnt it? And where the fuck is he?

No player should have his head above the parapet just now unless its the Captain with words to the above effect.

The only thing that is ludicrous is our cup record.

Disappointing? Is that ALL that can be said on behalf of the players about that game?  This insipid response seems to be indicative of the players attitude.

How about "Im sorry on behalf of the players for the piss poor way the entire team played.  We realise it should not have happened again and we will strive to repay the faith that so many supporters have had for so long."  Oh but wait...that would be the captains job wouldnt it? And where the fuck is he?

No player should have his head above the parapet just now unless its the Captain with words to the above effect.

The thing is though, if they don't make a big deal of it, if they continue to say it was only "disappointing" and not the fucking monumental disaster it actually was, a good finish in the league glosses over it all and new contracts will be handed out to Messrs Smith and Severin, and a P45 will not be issued to Messrs Calderwood, Clark and Nicholl.

That's where it is now. Party politics.

The article means nothing as that is all he could say. He has been put infront of the press for an interview and asked 'what do you think about the fans calling for Calerwoods head to be stuck on top of a stake?'

He has to follow the party line, would you say anything else if it was your boss was in trouble? No.

The article means nothing as that is all he could say. He has been put infront of the press for an interview and asked 'what do you think about the fans calling for Calerwoods head to be stuck on top of a stake?'

He has to follow the party line, would you say anything else if it was your boss was in trouble? No.

Well how about words along the lines of:

"AFC 'would be mad' to sack Jimmy as it's us the players who have let him, ourselves and the fans down by playing utter fucking dross.

Although we'll not right the situation of the cup, we'll do our utmost to reward their support by showing the same passion as them and we'll knuckle down and make 3rd place our goal".

Instead we get:

Aye, it's disappointing, ken.

No Jamie, it's disappointing when 90 minutes of football against a lower league team doesn't go quite to plan and it goes to a second leg.

It's a fucking embarrassment however when you can't perform well enough to beat that same team a week or so after, after another 90 minutes of ineptitude, extra time and a fucking penalty shoot out!

:hammer:

Aye, but if he says anything more than "it's disappointing" - we get a slavering mob baying for blood because the players should do their talking on the pitch.

I'm getting board as much with the fans response to everything as I am with the players.

I'm bored.  :(

Well no, not really.

I made a point in saying 'we'll strive for 3rd place by pulling our collective fingers out' rather than trotting out the age old statements such as "we'll beat.....", "3rd is ours", "we're going to do....... this....... that....... the other" and other such bullshit that they always seem to promise but never go halfway to deliver.

Darren Young was a better captain than Seve! At least Darren Young was vocal ... albeit he was usually shouting stuff like "you're a radge, ya bassa"

The pressures even more on if you a a worker who rarely turns up to work due to injury, yet you know a "no questions asked" contract will be on the table as long as this boss stays ???