Mackie's ace! Posted June 5, 2007 Report Posted June 5, 2007 Cove Rangers - July 12 Buckie Thistle - July 15 Egypt (4 games) - July 17-29 Inverurie Locos - July 31 Quote
Guest At The Border Guy Posted June 5, 2007 Report Posted June 5, 2007 That would be right.... Just booked a holiday this morning over that first weekend. Quote
Millers Tache Posted June 5, 2007 Report Posted June 5, 2007 That would be right.... Just booked a holiday this morning over that first weekend. I get back from Egypt on the 13th. Ah well. Mon the new season! Quote
Reekie_Red Posted June 5, 2007 Report Posted June 5, 2007 What are Egyptian teams like? Are they any good? Am I right in saying that Deco is Egyptian, but switched his allegiances to Portugese or something like that? Quote
mizer Posted June 5, 2007 Report Posted June 5, 2007 I heard on Sunday Egypt was heading for cancellation as no teams wanted to play in 40c heat........well except a certain tanned manager Quote
Reekie_Red Posted June 6, 2007 Report Posted June 6, 2007 We'd be happy if it were 40 degrees farenheit. Unfortunately, it's celcius so we're fooked! Quote
Millers Tache Posted June 6, 2007 Report Posted June 6, 2007 I heard on Sunday Egypt was heading for cancellation as no teams wanted to play in 40c heat........well except a certain tanned manager I can't see any sense in it myself. It might be getting paid for, but it can't be healthy. In that kind of heat, you barely want to move, let alone run around playing football. I'd rather we played Ajax at Pittodrie, and looked into the chance of getting Barcelona here (well, if they're playing Hearts and United, it has to be worth asking if they wanted to play a team that qualified for Europe...). Also, i think Deco was Brazilian before he became Portugese. Quote
Guest At The Border Guy Posted June 6, 2007 Report Posted June 6, 2007 Ajax would've been good, but Barcelona are charging £1m per game and insisting that the majority of seats are given to kids for free! No idea how the Arabs are getting away with that one... As for Egypt, I can't see how playing in those temperatures is going to help our preparations for playing some team from Scandinavia or the Baltic?! Quote
wong returns Posted June 6, 2007 Report Posted June 6, 2007 Aye, how come JC aint using his contacts for friendlies? JC. "Hello Sir Alex, fancy bringing yer reds up for a wee knock aboot at Pittodrie?" SAF. "Aye nae bother my Govan brother how does a week on Tuesday sound, gee Ronaldo a chance to get over his knock?" JC. "Sounds awright, but dont bring that hacking barsteward Scholes though!" Quote
Millers Tache Posted June 6, 2007 Report Posted June 6, 2007 Ajax would've been good, but Barcelona are charging £1m per game and insisting that the majority of seats are given to kids for free! No idea how the Arabs are getting away with that one... As for Egypt, I can't see how playing in those temperatures is going to help our preparations for playing some team from Scandinavia or the Baltic?! I saw Arkwright being interviewed the day it was announced, and he said it's actually costing United almost nothing, as the amount of sponsorship involved has covered the costs. Quote
mizer Posted June 6, 2007 Report Posted June 6, 2007 Teams for Egypt (it is going ahead) 1. Al fucking something - Saudi 2. Maritimo - Portugal 3. Local team from Alexandria Quote
Reekie_Red Posted June 7, 2007 Report Posted June 7, 2007 Also, i think Deco was Brazilian before he became Portugese. Was it Mido that was Egyptian then? I definitely had one player in Champ Manager a few years ago that was Egyptian ... and I'm sure he was one of those "One Name" Players. Quote
Millers Tache Posted June 7, 2007 Report Posted June 7, 2007 Also, i think Deco was Brazilian before he became Portugese. Was it Mido that was Egyptian then? I definitely had one player in Champ Manager a few years ago that was Egyptian ... and I'm sure he was one of those "One Name" Players. Mido's definitely Egyptian. I don't think he's changed nationalities though. Quote
Guest andythedandy Posted June 7, 2007 Report Posted June 7, 2007 Oh well , Nairn County can wait for another season then! Saves an embarrassing gubbing tho. Quote
Mackie's ace! Posted June 22, 2007 Author Report Posted June 22, 2007 Cove Rangers - July 12 Buckie Thistle - July 15 Egypt (4 games) - July 17-29 Inverurie Locos - July 31 BUMP Quote
Drewsome Posted June 23, 2007 Report Posted June 23, 2007 Oh well , Nairn County can wait for another season then! Saves an embarrassing gubbing tho. Like any player for Aberdeen wants to play at the Cow Shed... Quote