manc_don Posted January 26, 2011 Author Report Posted January 26, 2011 Going in September Anyone on here been? Any tips, especially on the best way to see the Grand Canyon? Helicopter from Vegas is probably going to be above our budget. My grandparents flew over it in a plane, don't think it cost that much as there are a number of others on the flight. Problem is (I imagine anyway) is that some of the views may be on the other side of the plane. I've only ever driven and walked around bits of it etc... Quote
Penfold Posted January 26, 2011 Report Posted January 26, 2011 I think we'll be driving it but not sure whether to go on an organised tour bus/van/jeep or hire a car ourselves. Quote
Superstar Tradesman Posted January 27, 2011 Report Posted January 27, 2011 Fly over the fucker and see it properly. Then worry about paying it off between now and your next holiday. Quote
Tyrant Posted January 28, 2011 Report Posted January 28, 2011 Penfold - Vegas is absolutely superb. You'll enjoy that. When I was there I went on an organised tour in a Jeep to the Canyon and it was one hell of a day. Stunning. There's no need to pay for Helicopters to properly see and appreciate the Canyon or the Hoover Dam. Speak to your hotel concierge about Pink Jeep Tours. Quote
Snapper Posted January 28, 2011 Report Posted January 28, 2011 Penfold - Vegas is absolutely superb. You'll enjoy that. When I was there I went on an organised tour in a Jeep to the Canyon and it was one hell of a day. Stunning. There's no need to pay for Helicopters to properly see and appreciate the Canyon or the Hoover Dam. Speak to your hotel concierge about Pink Jeep Tours. I'm going to Vegas at the end of April and have been looking at the helicopter tours, then leaned towards hiring a car instead. Hate being restricted to times - this spoiled a trip to Niagra falls when traffic caused us to be delayed by a couple of hours but we had to stick to the return time. I'll have a look at the Jeep tour though, cheers for the heads up. Quote
Tyrant Posted January 28, 2011 Report Posted January 28, 2011 I'm going to Vegas at the end of April and have been looking at the helicopter tours, then leaned towards hiring a car instead. Hate being restricted to times - this spoiled a trip to Niagra falls when traffic caused us to be delayed by a couple of hours but we had to stick to the return time. I'll have a look at the Jeep tour though, cheers for the heads up. There's not much traffic. Well there is but there's more than enough road! We got picked up from our hotel early in the morning and dropped off at night. Can't stress how great that day was. Quote
Harcus Posted May 30, 2011 Report Posted May 30, 2011 Any plans then chums? Not much myself, got a stag do in Liverpool next month, a wedding in Glasgow in August, maybe a club trip to Shetland if we get organised, and of course looking after mini Harcus as best I can! Quote
BrownyBrown Posted May 30, 2011 Report Posted May 30, 2011 Going to Skye for a week on Friday, a wedding 'down South' in August, one local wedding in September and then off to Crete for a week at the end of Sept. Quote
manc_don Posted May 30, 2011 Author Report Posted May 30, 2011 A series of mates weddings over the summer, including one in Germany and a stag to Tallinn. Going to head off to Bilbao and San Sebastian at the end of September, so looking to that! Quote
Kowalski Posted May 31, 2011 Report Posted May 31, 2011 Just back from a week visiting friends in Abu Dhabi. First time I've been and I didn't realise how big the place was. Great for a visit, and excellent weather (high 30s every day). Went to Ferrari World to go on the world's fastest rollercoaster and we practically had the place to ourselves Also took the opportunity to jog round the Abu Dhabi F1 track which is open to joggers/walkers/cyclists on a Wednesday night. Amazing experience but helluva hot for a run! Went to Dubai for a couple of days. Went up the tallest building in the world which was pretty cool. Can't believe how quick the lifts go up 124 floors! Quote
Superstar Tradesman Posted June 1, 2011 Report Posted June 1, 2011 Went to Dubai for a couple of days. Went up the tallest building in the world which was pretty cool. Can't believe how quick the lifts go up 124 floors! I was left sickenly underwhelmed by the Burj Khalifa. I've been up a good few of the world's tallest buildings and pay a keen interest on the building process and creation of these. But I just felt empty when I got to the 'top' or should I say the top part that you're allowed access to. Although you can't take anything away from the sheer scale of it or the architecture involved, I just left feeling disappointed. Perhaps it's because there's simply nothing to see up there other than sand for 180 degrees, sea for 180 degrees and a tiny slip of concrete way below. Not even a cafe up there to get a couple beers and an altitude 'heidy' on. Quote
Kowalski Posted June 1, 2011 Report Posted June 1, 2011 Perhaps it's because there's simply nothing to see up there other than sand for 180 degrees, sea for 180 degrees and a tiny slip of concrete way below. Take a wrong turning did you? Quote
manc_don Posted June 1, 2011 Author Report Posted June 1, 2011 To be fair there is a fuck load of sand there! Quote
Ptayles Posted June 1, 2011 Report Posted June 1, 2011 To be fair there is a fuck load of sand there! :lolabove: :lolabove: Quote
Superstar Tradesman Posted June 1, 2011 Report Posted June 1, 2011 Take a wrong turning did you? Just checked my holiday snaps and funnily enough I've got the exact same photo. Albeit on a much shittier day by the looks of things. Must have just been the humidity or sand getting kicked up. Although it was a beautiful day on terra firma, blue skies, not a breath of wind. Still, quite an empty experience for me, summed up beautifully by the observation deck: Quote
Mentorred Posted June 5, 2011 Report Posted June 5, 2011 Not going anywhere this year, but my parents are coming over for 3 weeks so we will be going places in and around the Cleveland area. Niagara Falls in September for a long weekend (it is a 3 hour drive from our house) and possibly Toronto. Quote
minijc Posted June 6, 2011 Report Posted June 6, 2011 Not going away this year which is gutting ater last years lads holiday, got a trip away in october to a cabin which has a snooker table, poker and so on in it but I won't be drinking so might just pull out of going. Quote
manc_don Posted June 6, 2011 Author Report Posted June 6, 2011 Not going away this year which is gutting ater last years lads holiday, got a trip away in october to a cabin which has a snooker table, poker and so on in it but I won't be drinking so might just pull out of going. Howcome, you training? Quote
tom_widdows Posted June 6, 2011 Report Posted June 6, 2011 Not going away this year which is gutting ater last years lads holiday, got a trip away in october to a cabin which has a snooker table, poker and so on in it but I won't be drinking so might just pull out of going. Are your friends so irritating you can only tolerate their company when halfcut? Or vice versa? Quote
minijc Posted June 7, 2011 Report Posted June 7, 2011 Howcome, you training? Yeah, fighting again in August at same level, win that I'll be doing a proper show in November or December hopefully if things work out and I make weights. Are your friends so irritating you can only tolerate their company when halfcut? Or vice versa? Neither, it's a lads weekend away to get utterly ruined, pointless going if i can't drink. Quote
scunnered999 Posted June 8, 2011 Report Posted June 8, 2011 Just got back from 4 weeks in Hawai'i - well pissed off at the moment Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted June 8, 2011 Report Posted June 8, 2011 Just got back from 4 weeks in Hawai'i - well pissed off at the moment You not like it, then? Quote
Superstar Tradesman Posted June 9, 2011 Report Posted June 9, 2011 Funnily enough I'm heading to Hawaii next month. Via 5 nights in NY and 5 in Vegas. Expect a PM scunnered999 Quote
tom_widdows Posted June 9, 2011 Report Posted June 9, 2011 Just got back from 4 weeks in Hawai'i - well pissed off at the moment Had she changed the locks when you got home? Quote
Mentorred Posted June 9, 2011 Report Posted June 9, 2011 Hawaii is next on my wishlist, nae sure aboot the effin long flights there though Hawaii is amazing. We went their in 2004 for out Honeymoon. My mother and father in law are going there tomorrow for 10 days. Would be a mega long flight from Scotland, took us longer to fly their from Cleveland than it did to fly to Scotland. Quote