Stewart Posted April 27, 2009 Report Posted April 27, 2009 Everyone is welcome to come round to mine for a drink before the game so the pub won't be a problem. I'm sure it won't be built for another 10-15 years though so my invite will be pointless by then I think. Quote
dave_min Posted April 27, 2009 Report Posted April 27, 2009 Everyone is welcome to come round to mine for a drink before the game so the pub won't be a problem. I'm sure it won't be built for another 10-15 years though so my invite will be pointless by then I think. Is your garden big enough for me to park my Helicopter? Quote
baggy89 Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 On the issue of Bars etc, what's the chances of the club spotting this gap in the market and having a licensed premesis of their own open on matchdays? Money for old rope. Mind you, this is afc we're talking about. Could go one better and have a home bar and an away bar (Simmie's Bar with buckfast on tap ). Quote
dave_min Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/scotland/north_east/8022235.stm Aberdeen's new stadium on agenda Stadium image Loirston Loch in Nigg is the recommended new site A new home for Aberdeen Football Club could come a step closer with councillors set to vote on a site. Land to the south of the city - Loirston Loch in Nigg - is the preferred location of two options for the new 30,000-seat community stadium. The alternative site of Kings Links - opposite the current Pittodrie stadium - was deemed too small and expensive. The club has claimed staying at Pittodrie - the home of the Dons for more than a century - is not an option. Councillors are expected to vote on which site should be chosen on Tuesday afternoon. A series of feasibility studies have been carried out. Quote
manc_don Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 Aye heard that this morning on BBC breakfast with Catriona Shearer Quote
RDU_64 Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 So how long are we looking for the building of this staduim? 5-10 years? Leaving Pittodrie will be a sad day. Quote
Andrew Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 That's a bit dumb? From the city centre Wellington Road, but from the 'North' is must be Anderson Drive/A90, even Andrew could see that. But lets face it, there's as much chance of all this happening as me winning the lottery, so how about when it's build i'll just come pick you up from the Pitt bar in my helicopter about 10 mins before KO? I come from the West so A. I don't care and B. you can get to fuck. Quote
dave_min Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 I come from the West so A. I don't care and B. you can get to fuck. A. You should also take Anderson Drive then B. I can also get to Charleston Quote
Andrew Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 A. You should also take Anderson Drive then B. I can also get to Charleston I would take the bypass. Quote
dave_min Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 I would take the bypass. But there isn't bypass, is there? Quote
Andrew Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 But there isn't bypass, is there? whooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooosh Quote
manc_don Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 whooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooosh wtf is going on in this thread?!? Quote
dave_min Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 whooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooosh You're cool. Quote
mizer Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 Anyone up in Aberdeen want to nip doon tae the cooncil chambers to see how they voted? Quote
mizer Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 http://www.afc.premiumtv.co.uk/page/News/clubNewsDetail/0,,10284~1642366,00.html Members of Aberdeen City Council's Policy and Strategy Committee overwhelmingly voted by 13 votes 4 to approve a report about the optimum site for a new community stadium, a synopsis of the year long feasibility studies which assessed Loirston Loch as the most deliverable location for a new stadium. However the matter has now been referred to full council next month for a final decision. The report, which was made public earlier this month, summarises the benefits and challenges of both Loirston and the King's Links, the other site which was examined by specialist consultants. The Arena Project Team, a partnership between Aberdeen Football Club and Aberdeen City Council, was tasked with overseeing the process of selecting the best location for a new community stadium. Chairperson Kate Dean says that today's decision marks another move towards the building of a new stadium. "There has been a lot of debate about a new stadium for Aberdeen and many people have their own strongly held opinions on where this facility should be," she said. "Right from the outset, we believed that it was essential to closely examine each of the locations, assessing the benefits and challenges of each so we would be able to make an informed decision about which is the most deliverable. "The consultants have assessed that Loirston is, beyond doubt, the best location and this report details how they have come to this decision. This document has been available to the public as we believe that it is vital to be transparent as possible and ensure that communities are able to see the contents of this important report." Duncan Fraser, managing director of Aberdeen Football Club and a member of the Arena Project Board, said: "We have long said that AFC needs to find a new home because Pittodrie is an outdated stadium and redevelopment isn't viable. Aberdeen Football Club needs to move. "Consultants were appointed to look at each of the sites and their decision is that Loirston is the only deliverable option. In the past, we have looked at other locations and there are no other options for a stadium in the city. "We appreciate that many fans feel that the beach is the spiritual home of Aberdeen Football Club but this report clearly sets out why the King's Links is not viable. "We are very grateful for all the work done by the consultants and we appreciate the time that has been taken by members of the Policy and Strategy Committee to discuss this report, which is so important in the bid for a new stadium for Aberdeen." Quote
manc_don Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 Now there's another "shock horror" moment! Fancy them delaying an actual decision ... Quote
brunstanesheep Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 Is Andy Finlayson a manny or a wifie? Quote
Kowalski Posted April 28, 2009 Author Report Posted April 28, 2009 Now there's another "shock horror" moment! Fancy them delaying an actual decision ... It's pathetic isn't it. It's the same with the AWPR. Quote
Kowalski Posted April 29, 2009 Author Report Posted April 29, 2009 Here's our Graham with a quick reminder... Jagerdeen doesn't want to relocate to Cove because it's too far to walk to the Pittodrie Bar at half-time. Fatshaft is all for it. The rest of don't think it will ever happen. Quote
RDU_64 Posted April 29, 2009 Report Posted April 29, 2009 Here's our Graham with a quick reminder... Jagerdeen doesn't want to relocate to Cove because it's too far to walk to the Pittodrie Bar at half-time. Fatshaft is all for it. The rest of don't think it will ever happen. On the topic of the Pitt, will the likes of the Pitt and the Broadhill die without it's punters coming before/after the game? Complete guestimate here, but I am under the impression that the Pitt and the Broadhill live for the football fans and it's their busiest time?? Quote
Kowalski Posted April 29, 2009 Author Report Posted April 29, 2009 On the topic of the Pitt, will the likes of the Pitt and the Broadhill die without it's punters coming before/after the game? Complete guestimate here, but I am under the impression that the Pitt and the Broadhill live for the football fans and it's their busiest time?? I would imagine they'll lay on buses to the ground, quite a lot of pubs in other cities with out of town stadiums do the same. Quote
baldrick_sheep Posted May 3, 2009 Report Posted May 3, 2009 I voted yes, just because its a total nightmare getting away from pittodrie, especially when you have a 2 hour + drive home anyway. tbh, it doesnt bother me where they put it cause it wont affect my decision to go and see them play anyway. Also, im not that clued up on aberdeen as a city, but why would the crossrail help? I dont really know what the aberdeen crossrail would do, but it seemed like the main line between aberdeen and dundee isnt all that far from the stadium site. Why dont they just build a station in cove and we can all walk from there? Quote
dave_min Posted May 4, 2009 Report Posted May 4, 2009 I voted yes, just because its a total nightmare getting away from pittodrie, especially when you have a 2 hour + drive home anyway. tbh, it doesnt bother me where they put it cause it wont affect my decision to go and see them play anyway. Also, im not that clued up on aberdeen as a city, but why would the crossrail help? I dont really know what the aberdeen crossrail would do, but it seemed like the main line between aberdeen and dundee isnt all that far from the stadium site. Why dont they just build a station in cove and we can all walk from there? The Crossrail was originally to upgrade the line to Inverurie to every half-hour aswell as increasing services to Stonehaven (I think this has all been done) The rest of it was to re-open lines to Banchory and to Peterhead/Fraserburgh. There was also suggestions to a new line to Cove, which would have some sort of connection to the new Stadion. Or I think so anyway? Quote