Guest Nellie The Don Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 Brainstorming time. Assuming Smith, Seve and Mair are all offski, which realistic targets would you like to see replace them and/or strengthen the squad in some other area come the summer transfer window? Quote
manc_don Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 Cregg - Falkirk Mark Knopper - Ado Den Haag (Midfield) Would have added Dorman, but I think he's out of our price range now. Quote
milsum19 Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 Pressley is a spastic suggestion, he's added to Falkirk's shiteness and hasn't halted their slide one bit. Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 If Falkirk were to go down, I wouldn't hate to see that Hun/Tim/Jambo/Arab cunt Pressley being the wise head to sure up our defence. I'll get my tin hat. Dave, my lad, someone recently suggested you are the site spastic, anymore suggestions like that I'll have to concur with that sentiment. Quote
manc_don Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 Dave, my lad, someone recently suggested you are the site spastic, anymore suggestions like that I'll have to concur with that sentiment. Haha totally agree Quote
dave_min Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 I never said I would like him here, all I said is I wouldn't hate it! We sure as hell need someone to fill that gap, and he was the first one that came to my head. Quote
Guest Nellie The Don Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 What ever happened to Andy Webster? Is he permanently injured, out of favour or did he move on and I missed it? Quote
manc_don Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 What ever happened to Andy Webster? Is he permanently injured, out of favour or did he move on and I missed it? Shite and injured honestly though, I'm not sure. Surely he's still on the books of the hunnery? Quote
thomsod Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 aye still plays for huns, played against us the other week in the reserves. i'd take a shot on him used to be good and we'd probably have a chance of getting him now cos of the injury problems he's had. should be loads of decent players flying about available on frees this summer so hopefully get a couple of decent frees in especially when sevvy and/if smith/mair go Quote
Superstar Tradesman Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 Realistic targets to replace Smith, Seve and Mair? May I suggest: Quote
baggy89 Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 Cregg - Falkirk Mark Knopper - Ado Den Haag (Midfield) Would have added Dorman, but I think he's out of our price range now. I wouldn't bother with him, another Smith. Wants his money for nothing... Quote
minijc Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 Havn't really had a proper look yet, would agree with Cregg, although got shot down somewhere else for saying that mainly because he hasn't been starting but I will come back with a list after reading reviews from league one and two matches. Quote
Guest Nellie The Don Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 I wouldn't bother with him, another Smith. Wants his money for nothing... If he played well he'd soon become a local hero, though. Quote
baggy89 Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 Havn't really had a proper look yet, would agree with Cregg, although got shot down somewhere else for saying that mainly because he hasn't been starting but I will come back with a list after reading reviews from league one and two matches. Save your time the best player in League One this season was George Boyd, but as with Makail-Smith, Jermaine Beckford, Matty Fryatt, Rickie Lambert, Fabien Delph, Aarron McClean etc. he will be out-with our budget. Quote
minijc Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 How often do you go watch games baggy? You must have seen a a few players in our budget we could tempt up here, beckford is just like Kris boyd i have been told, would take him though, the boy Howson is meant to a be good player and like a brick. Quote
manc_don Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 How often do you go watch games baggy? You must have seen a a few players in our budget we could tempt up here, beckford is just like Kris boyd i have been told, would take him though, the boy Howson is meant to a be good player and like a brick. Do we need a Beckford though? As we have to undertake our summer signing lookout with view to a) what position do we really need b) can you play multiple positions? c) if it is another striker (which I doubt given our 4 on our books), would they play alongside Miller? I'm not sure. Beckford is undoubtedly a good player, probably out of our budget though? Howson is another good shout! Quote
baggy89 Posted April 28, 2009 Report Posted April 28, 2009 How often do you go watch games baggy? You must have seen a a few players in our budget we could tempt up here, beckford is just like Kris boyd i have been told, would take him though, the boy Howson is meant to a be good player and like a brick. Not as often as I'd like with a 1 yr old and a (just) 4 yr old plus work commitments that often fall into the weekend. Probably a good thing this season though . Next will hopefully be better as the boy said he would like to come with me now (although I think that may have been because I said he could bring his PSP with him). This season has been a bit of an anomoly in L1 terms with Leicester, Leeds and such a strong posh side. Although I can only see it getting worse with the money in the Championship nowadays. As I said on the Hat I'd be happy enough if Jimmy was at the Swindle game looking at big Kev Amankwaah a solid, pacy right back that I think would be happy enough at RM and CB. At one point he was being talked up as the next Lee Dixon but a car crash put paid to that. Or Jerel Ifil would be decent. Cheltenham's very own Michael Townsend looked back to his best at CB since he came back from his loan after an up and down season involving falling outs with both the fans and the management. Against Oldham he had Lee Hughes in his back pocket I suppose Steve Kabba stood out for Oldham, Zak Whitbred won everything in the air for Millwall at our place, although the best time for this sort of thing would be right after the games. Difficult judging opposition players on one game though often its only strikers, keepers or the ref you notice. Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted April 29, 2009 Report Posted April 29, 2009 What ever happened to Andy Webster? Is he permanently injured, out of favour or did he move on and I missed it? He's permanently shite. Always has been. True story. Quote
bucky_loon Posted April 29, 2009 Report Posted April 29, 2009 I wouldn't bother with him, another Smith. Wants his money for nothing... Well, they are Brothers in Arms. Quote
Reekie_Red Posted April 29, 2009 Report Posted April 29, 2009 What's Alan Maybury up to these days? He was handy for us in his short stint. Soccerbase shows he's signed for Colchester on a free in December. Nae chance of a free then, unless it was only a short-term deal from Colchester. Quote
RDU_64 Posted April 29, 2009 Report Posted April 29, 2009 What's Alan Maybury up to these days? He was handy for us in his short stint. Soccerbase shows he's signed for Colchester on a free in December. Nae chance of a free then, unless it was only a short-term deal from Colchester. http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/c/colchester_united/7778949.stm http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/c/colchester_united/8015008.stm I thought Alan Maybury was god! Very disappointed not to see him sign a permanent contract. Quote
baggy89 Posted April 29, 2009 Report Posted April 29, 2009 What's Alan Maybury up to these days? He was handy for us in his short stint. Soccerbase shows he's signed for Colchester on a free in December. Nae chance of a free then, unless it was only a short-term deal from Colchester. Aye was a short term deal, but saw an article with him "I want to commit to Colchester, Tema on the up, my family have moved too and settled in the area". Or as I read it "I won't make the same mistake as last year, leaving me unemployed for 6 months". Quote
DerBomber Posted April 29, 2009 Report Posted April 29, 2009 Brainstorming time. Assuming Smith, Seve and Mair are all offski, which realistic targets would you like to see replace them and/or strengthen the squad in some other area come the summer transfer window? Stephen Hughes from motherwell. I would imagine we could offer more than them and while we are at it how about Paul Quinn? Quote