Penfold Posted May 26, 2009 Report Posted May 26, 2009 So Windass is the first to throw his hat in the ring. Deano wants to be new Aberdeen FC boss But Black and Ferguson out of the running FORMER Aberdeen FC player, Dean Windass, today sensationally entered the race to be the new boss at Pittodrie. Windass exclusively revealed to the Evening Express that he wants to be the man to replace sacked former Aberdeen FC manager Jimmy Calderwood. The shock news came as early favourite Mark McGhee insisted he had still received no contact from Aberdeen. Another contender, Eric Black, appears to be out of the running after distancing himself from the position. Meanwhile, Aberdeen FC have been warned off making an approach for Posh boss Darren Ferguson. Peterborough chairman Darragh MacAnthony claimed Aberdeen could not afford Ferguson. Hull striker Windass is out of contract this summer and eager to move into management. He admitted taking over the reins at Pittodrie would be a dream job. Windass said: “If you don’t ask then you don’t get. “I am going to put my hat into the ring.’’ I'd take him as part of the new mangement team, but not as manager. Quote
dave_min Posted May 26, 2009 Report Posted May 26, 2009 So Windass is the first to throw his hat in the ring. I'd take him as part of the new mangement team, but not as manager. Agreed, I want to see him in Sandy Clarks job, before moving on up to the big seat. Quote
boboisared Posted May 26, 2009 Report Posted May 26, 2009 Agreed, I want to see him in Sandy Clarks job, before moving on up to the big seat. Sandy Clark doesn't have a job Quote
baggy89 Posted May 26, 2009 Report Posted May 26, 2009 Saying over on the hat that the book on next boss has closed. Is an announcement imminent? or not as the case may be Quote
dave_min Posted May 26, 2009 Report Posted May 26, 2009 Sandy Clark doesn't have a job True. You knew what I meant though Quote
Mentorred Posted May 26, 2009 Report Posted May 26, 2009 My source has just confirmed that as well as Deano contacting the club about the job, so have Ossi Ardilles and Berti McVogts! Although - the source say none of those 3 are serious contenders. The only problem with the candidate who the board have wanted since last week is money, both his salary and the amount he will have to spend on the team. The prospective new manager has been told "no money for transfer fees" and to pick up players on frees. Wage budget will remain the same but players will need moved on to bring in his own players. Welcome to Scottish Fitba ************! Deal with it or stop messing us about - there are others who'd jump at the chance for the AFC job... unfortunately the 3 are listed at the start of the post I wonder where the compo money came from and unfortunately looks like my concerns that it would impact on any new manager's budget are coming true Who is your source? Are you sleeping with Willie Miller? Quote
kneehigh Posted May 26, 2009 Report Posted May 26, 2009 Why don't we show a wee bit of nous and go for Alan Irvine - most ex preston managers have went on to do well recently!! Quote
Ajja Posted May 26, 2009 Report Posted May 26, 2009 My source has just confirmed that as well as Deano contacting the club about the job, so have Ossi Ardilles and Berti McVogts! Although - the source say none of those 3 are serious contenders. The only problem with the candidate who the board have wanted since last week is money, both his salary and the amount he will have to spend on the team. The prospective new manager has been told "no money for transfer fees" and to pick up players on frees. Wage budget will remain the same but players will need moved on to bring in his own players. Welcome to Scottish Fitba ************! Deal with it or stop messing us about - there are others who'd jump at the chance for the AFC job... unfortunately the 3 are listed at the start of the post I wonder where the compo money came from and unfortunately looks like my concerns that it would impact on any new manager's budget are coming true It's Darren Ferguson we are courting. Thats why the MacAnthony is warning us off and saying we can't afford him rather than 'I have heard nothing from Aberdeen' Quote
Penfold Posted May 26, 2009 Report Posted May 26, 2009 Peterborough's chairman isnt one for shying away and will have just come out with that when a journalist called him asking about the possible link. I wouldn't read anthing into it. Quote
dave_min Posted May 26, 2009 Report Posted May 26, 2009 Well, that's Martin Jol out the running, just got names new Ajax manager. But Van Basten is now in the picture - he's no more rediculous a suggestion that some of the names in this thread... Quote
mizer Posted May 26, 2009 Report Posted May 26, 2009 So Windass is the first to throw his hat in the ring. I'd take him as part of the new mangement team, but not as manager. Has he been doing his coaching badges the past season? Quote
minijc Posted May 26, 2009 Report Posted May 26, 2009 Has he been doing his coaching badges the past season? Yes. Quote
dave_min Posted May 26, 2009 Report Posted May 26, 2009 Has he been doing his coaching badges the past season? No, he got them years ago. Quote
baggy89 Posted May 26, 2009 Report Posted May 26, 2009 Has he been doing his coaching badges the past season? Been doing them for the last couple of years. Think he did his A licence last summer and was his intention to do his pro this season, have his book I'll look when I get home. Quote
Mackie's ace! Posted May 26, 2009 Report Posted May 26, 2009 I hope some of the names listed above with odds are nowhere near serious. Quote
Mentorred Posted May 26, 2009 Report Posted May 26, 2009 Just think if we get Hughes he might bring Jackie Mac as his player/assistant Quote
RDU_64 Posted May 26, 2009 Report Posted May 26, 2009 Just think if we get Hughes he might bring Jackie Mac as his player/assistant Just think if we get Hughes! Quote
Harcus Posted May 26, 2009 Report Posted May 26, 2009 Aye, it would be magic. We can pass our way all the way to tenth! Quote
redordead Posted May 26, 2009 Report Posted May 26, 2009 from the above, Rioch for me, though if Yogi lifts a cup this week he will be the boards golden appointment I think. Love his football and if he's won something I can see AFC jumping on his short success Quote
dave_min Posted May 26, 2009 Report Posted May 26, 2009 Aye, it would be magic. We can pass our way all the way to tenth! Aye, still better than european nights under JC I've always been a fan of John Hughes, baring in mind I only see him 3/4 times a season, it's always quite nice to watch, but over a whole season i'd imagine it'd get tiresome. Still rather have him than Jefferies. Quote
RDU_64 Posted May 26, 2009 Report Posted May 26, 2009 Aye, still better than european nights under JC I've always been a fan of John Hughes, baring in mind I only see him 3/4 times a season, it's always quite nice to watch, but over a whole season i'd imagine it'd get tiresome. Still rather have him than Jefferies. Hughes also doesn't speak pish to the media like that buffoon JC did. Quote
RDU_64 Posted May 26, 2009 Report Posted May 26, 2009 http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/a/aberdeen/8068943.stm Aberdeen to step up manager hunt Mark McGhee and Eric Black Bookmakers are backing Mark McGhee (left) and Eric Black Aberdeen director of football Willie Miller hopes the club can find a replacement for Jimmy Calderwood soon. "It's difficult to put a timescale on appointing a new manager, but we are actively now in that process," he said. "We've had a few applicants and we have our own thoughts. We'll get together over the next couple of days and put these thoughts together. "The full focus of the club is looking to the future and looking to get organised for the new season." Calderwood announced his departure on the final day of the season, having secured fourth place in the Scottish Premier League and a Europa League spot for next season. Motherwell manager Mark McGhee and Wigan assistant Eric Black, both former Dons strikers, are among the favourites to take over at Pittodrie. McGhee has also been linked with Celtic, with former Parkhead boss Gordon Strachan believed to have recommended his good friend for the post. But McGhee told BBC Radio Scotland: "At the moment, I've heard nothing but speculation and I can only say that it is a compliment to be linked with these jobs." McGhee, who has been at Fir Park for two seasons - finishing third and seventh in the Scottish Premier League, was full of praise for the job done by Calderwood during his five-years in charge. "Jimmy was criticised, I think totally unfairly, all season and again has got his team into Europe, which is just a fantastic achievement given the limitations that were put on him," said the manager whose Well side have also qualified for the Europa League thanks to the good disciplinary record. Meanwhile, Miller was anxious to move on from the former manager's departure, saying: "We need to draw a line under Jimmy Calderwood and his tenure. "We'll never forget it, but there comes a point when you've got to stop commenting on the past." Quote