minijc Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 Just because you keep saying it doesn't make it so. Aye, UTD got the better of us at Tannadice but Levein is a fucking shite manager who plays shite football with shite clubs. If that's your ambition for Aberdeen then fair play to you, but I want a little bit more than that. His football isn't exactly shit, United arn't a shit club, probably just a bit shitter than us and smaller, levein done well at hearts aswell, also look at the team when Levein came in and look at it now, see what he done with a shit club with his shit football. Compare the teams before Levein came, and at the end of this season. Before: GK - Stillie RB - Archibald CB - McCracken CB - Mair LB - Kalvenes RM - Duff CM - Cameron CM - Kerr LM - Robson ST - Hunt ST - Samuel After: GK - Zaluska RB - Kovacevic CB - Wilkie CB - Kenneth LB - Dixon RM - Caddis CM - S. Robertson CM - Gomis LM - Conway ST - Sandaza ST - Goodwillie Out of the old team, I'd only have Robson (sold for 1.3mil), Hunt (sold for 600k), and Kalvenes (let's not go into that) back into the team - and all 3 of them took a step up and furthered their careers, where as seemingly everyone else went backwards, except Kerr, who went sideways. He's totally transformed the team, and it's now the youngest in the SPL, which is good for future sales etc. Levein has a plan, and unlike most managers in the modern era, is being allowed to execute that plan, we clearly are going forwards (this season out highers points total for 13 years), and have spent practically bugger all. Instant success is no substitute for long term stability. Not a dig at Motherwell or McGhee, but I'd rather have 5th then 5th, rather than 3rd then 7th. Also his SPL record is pretty good. took over hearts halfway through 2000/01, they were 5th & ended up 5th, 2001/02 - 5th 2002/03 - 3rd 2003/04 - 3rd took over united in 2006/07 when bottom after 12 games and being humped week in week out on a run of 3 wins in 30 games and got us to 9th comfortable, no relegation battle. 2007/08 - 5th & LCup Final (should have won) 2008/09 - 5th Quote
Goldie03 Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 His football isn't exactly shit, United arn't a shit club, probably just a bit shitter than us and smaller, levein done well at hearts aswell, also look at the team when Levein came in and look at it now, see what he done with a shit club with his shit football. Also his SPL record is pretty good. took over hearts halfway through 2000/01, they were 5th & ended up 5th, 2001/02 - 5th 2002/03 - 3rd 2003/04 - 3rd took over united in 2006/07 when bottom after 12 games and being humped week in week out on a run of 3 wins in 30 games and got us to 9th comfortable, no relegation battle. 2007/08 - 5th & LCup Final (should have won) 2008/09 - 5th OOps Quote
minijc Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 OOps The us bit was a mistake, the should have won bit is true, we they should have won. Quote
El Padre™ Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 So you want someone with a record when at his very best is no better than Jimmys. Are you high? He did well at Leicester eh? Honestly Mini, you're a nice guy in person but your brain turns to shit when you're in front of a keyboard. Quote
minijc Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 So you want someone with a record when at his very best is no better than Jimmys. Are you high? He did well at Leicester eh? Honestly Mini, you're a nice guy in person but your brain turns to shit when you're in front of a keyboard. 5 top 6 finishes and a cup final, oh aye, that's right Jimmy got us to a cup final didn't he? Quote
minijc Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 5 out of how many? Nae sure but he has gotten two out of two with United. Quote
El Padre™ Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 5 top 6 finishes and a cup final, oh aye, that's right Jimmy got us to a cup final didn't he? No, but he took us to Dnipro, Madrid and Munich and gave us some of the most incredible European nights we've had at Pittodrie since the 80's. Levein probably doesn't even have a fucking passport. Quote
CtS Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 I'd rather have Levein than McGhee. But I'd rather have Jimmy than either of them. JC's record is far more impressive than those two. Last 32 of uefa cup (and the memories of Munich and Copenhagen games) pisses all over a league cup runners up spot. Quote
minijc Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 No, but he took us to Dnipro, Madrid and Munich and gave us some of the most incredible European nights we've had at Pittodrie since the 80's. Levein probably doesn't even have a fucking passport. No wonder nothing is good enough for you, still living in the 80s, typical dons fan. I'd rather have Levein than McGhee. But I'd rather have Jimmy than either of them. JC's record is far more impressive than those two. Last 32 of uefa cup (and the memories of Munich and Copenhagen games) pisses all over a league cup runners up spot. Oh, that's right the record of the most defencive football ever seen, what was it one win out of a possible 8. Quote
Stewart Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 No wonder nothing is good enough for you, still living in the 80s, typical dons fan. Quote
Nellie The Don Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 No wonder nothing is good enough for you, still living in the 80s, typical dons fan. Oh, that's right the record of the most defencive football ever seen, what was it one win out of a possible 8. :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: :hammer: Quote
dave_min Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 Oh, that's right the record of the most defencive football ever seen, what was it one win out of a possible 8. Jesus christ. Do you have any clue about Football at all. And given the choice of watching us loose a cup final to the OF at Hampden, or losing to Bayern Munich in Munich? Easy choice. As for your 'Transformed' the United team, go take a look at the Dons team pre-JC and look at who he brought in. Quote
minijc Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 Compare the two managers budgets though Dave, Jimmy had more scope, Big Craig never. Quote
dave_min Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 Compare the two managers budgets though Dave, Jimmy had more scope, Big Craig never. Jimmy's spent more in 5 years than Levein has in 2. No shit sherlock. Quote
El Padre™ Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 Compare the two managers budgets though Dave, Jimmy had more scope, Big Craig never. Aye, Eddie Thompson was really tight. Quote
dave_min Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 Eddie Thompson was chucking money at wages wasn't he? I'm led to believe, he was still paying more of Lee Millers wages when he signed for us than we were. Quote
El Padre™ Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/teams/a/aberdeen/8087934.stm Quote
Kowalski Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 How so? Head to head, levein at a smaller club with a much smaller budget yet they can beat us, incidently when was the last time we beat DUndee United? Poor fishing as usual. We've consistently had better seasons than Dundee Utd while Calderwood and Levein have been in charge. Plus, Levein's style of football is even worse than Calderwood's. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 Have to disagree with Padre here I'm afraid! Quote
minijc Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 Poor fishing as usual. We've consistently had better seasons than Dundee Utd while Calderwood and Levein have been in charge. Plus, Levein's style of football is even worse than Calderwood's. I think Levein is better, you don't, fair enough, if Levein was here I'm sure we would finish third more regular than we did under jimmy, you dismiss this as fishing all you want, i know you can't back Jimmy up as he was shite, as for leveins style of football is was good enough to beat us several times, eh? Quote
El Padre™ Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 I think Levein is better, you don't, fair enough, if Levein was here I'm sure we would finish third more regular than we did under jimmy, you dismiss this as fishing all you want, i know you can't back Jimmy up as he was shite, as for leveins style of football is was good enough to beat us several times, eh? Over the course we still finished higher. That's what counts. Quote
Kowalski Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 I think Levein is better, you don't, fair enough, if Levein was here I'm sure we would finish third more regular than we did under jimmy, you dismiss this as fishing all you want, i know you can't back Jimmy up as he was shite, as for leveins style of football is was good enough to beat us several times, eh? If you prefer a couple of wins over season long performances then fair enough. Quote
minijc Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 Over the course we still finished higher. That's what counts. Doesn't make Jimmy a better manager though, does it? Quote
Kowalski Posted June 7, 2009 Report Posted June 7, 2009 Doesn't make Jimmy a better manager though, does it? Yep. Quote