quirie Posted September 23, 2009 Report Posted September 23, 2009 If McGhee is going to ring the changes who's going to be starting? Langfield - Not sure but it was 1 bad performance, cant see Nelson going in goal Mulgrew - Start Considine and Ifil - both had poor games but who else is there that can play CB Crawford - Can see him being dropped and Foster going into RB Foster - See above, Pawlett on right side of midfield Kerr & McDonald - Can see 1 of them being dropped for Fyvie but dont know who, probably McDonald Grassi - if he's fit play him, preferably LB so Mulgrew can push forward, otherwise Bebo on the left Miller - Target man - start even though hes played pish this season Mackie - didnt think he did anything wrong last night but Paton will probably start in his place So BRING ON THE RANGERS :ultras: Quote
Roccovellhung Posted September 23, 2009 Report Posted September 23, 2009 Ah, good to have the old dread back for an in-firm game I'd suggest a 9-0-1 formation, with Miller upfront on his own causing havoc with the hun defence due to his speed and trickery. Is Fyvie available for this game or is he with the U12 international squad? Quote
Sharpie Posted September 23, 2009 Report Posted September 23, 2009 I can't see past a Dons win. Quote
Kowalski Posted September 23, 2009 Report Posted September 23, 2009 Miller has to be dropped. We're up against the likes of David Weir FFS, lets get some pace up front to run rings round the old carthorse. Quote
stoney Posted September 23, 2009 Report Posted September 23, 2009 Just what i was saying to my mates, makes sense to hit them with pace, would be tempted to leave mackie on the bench and unleash him with 15/20 mins to go Quote
Edinburghdon Posted September 23, 2009 Report Posted September 23, 2009 I'd go for pace too, starting maguire and paton with pawlett and possibly foster? (Purely due to the total lack of quick wide players with aluko gone to the world cup ) and try passing the fucking ball for a change!! Quote
baggy89 Posted September 23, 2009 Report Posted September 23, 2009 I can't see past a Dons win. Nae sure if that's tongue in cheek, but nothing would surprise me less. Quote
Guest ally s Posted September 23, 2009 Report Posted September 23, 2009 I'd certainly start Pawlett, I suppose Paton deserves his chance after last night too. I'd put Foster to left back and keep Crawford at right back. I think Mulgrew would be a wise choice for a midfield slot in this match, hopefully he can supply some decent service to the front two along with Pawlett on the right. I can't say I'm going into this match with any great deal of optimism, I'd snap your hand off if you offered me a draw right now. Quote
Ptayles Posted September 23, 2009 Report Posted September 23, 2009 It would be obvious of us to get a win down there... Quote
mizer Posted September 24, 2009 Report Posted September 24, 2009 If you are to play Paton I would think of playing Maguire with him. They seem to combine well together and would put real pressure on Weirs pace. However the lack of experience is a real problem. Quote
Madbadteacher Posted September 24, 2009 Report Posted September 24, 2009 What is this lack of experience shite? How old were Martin Buchan or Arthur Graham in their first Cup Finals? Good enough = old enough Quote
paulinho Posted September 24, 2009 Report Posted September 24, 2009 @quirie - With the injury to Grassi this is how I think McGhee will start (4-4-2). I don't know if Fyvie will start or not, I think he should though Langfield, Crawford (rb), Ifil & Considine (ch), Foster (lb), Maguire (rm), Kerr & McDonald (cm), Mulgrew (lm), Miller & Paton (cf) Quote
manc_don Posted September 24, 2009 Report Posted September 24, 2009 I could see your line up happening to be honest paulinho. I'd like pawlett to come on later to try to exploit tired hun legs and maybe get thomson or mendes i'd also like to see fyvie to get a run out too. Quote
Azteca1903 Posted September 24, 2009 Report Posted September 24, 2009 I could see your line up happening to be honest paulinho. I'd like pawlett to come on later to try to exploit tired hun legs and maybe get thomson or mendes i'd also like to see fyvie to get a run out too. I'd rather drop Miller and start Pawlett, this may be wishful thinking however... Quote
manc_don Posted September 24, 2009 Report Posted September 24, 2009 Don't get me wrong azteca, so would i, but i just don't see i happening but is pawlett not a midfielder than striker? Quote
baggy89 Posted September 24, 2009 Report Posted September 24, 2009 If you are to play Paton I would think of playing Maguire with him. They seem to combine well together and would put real pressure on Weirs pace. However the lack of experience is a real problem. Yes its a high pressure game but is the main gripe amongst the current crop, after Tuesday, that they are bottlers? If you keep these kids out of games because they are high pressure, what's the fucking point of continuing with them. To get this far they must be pretty cocky guys, what's the worst that can happen we loose? Whoopty fuckin' doo, it's not like we've never lost to Rangers at Ibrox before. Quote
Azteca1903 Posted September 24, 2009 Report Posted September 24, 2009 Don't get me wrong azteca, so would i, but i just don't see i happening but is pawlett not a midfielder than striker? Aye, just going by paulinho's team I'd stick Maguire and Paton up front. Hopefully its as obvious to McGhee as it is to us that Pawlett's done more in a handful of sub appearances than Miller has in hours of ambling about up top. Quote
paulinho Posted September 24, 2009 Report Posted September 24, 2009 @Azteca1903 - I'd like to see players dropped for their below par performances but the team I mentioned above is the team I think McGhee will start with. He really doesn't have much option (Duff, Young, Pawlett) although I guess he could switch a player or two around within the team. I have a sneaking suspicion that we may play 4-5-1 with Miller up front on his own but Paton has to start you'd think. I'd also have to say that I don't think a trip to Ibrox is the right time to be bringing in a flood of inexperienced players. Pawlett, Paton, Crawford and Fyvie all to start? Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted September 24, 2009 Report Posted September 24, 2009 I'd also have to say that I don't think a trip to Ibrox is the right time to be bringing in a flood of inexperienced players. Pawlett, Paton, Crawford and Fyvie all to start? It could be the making of them. None of them have looked over-awed so far, have they? And it's not as if they're facing a hun midfield of Wilkins, Steven et al. Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted September 24, 2009 Report Posted September 24, 2009 speaking of which, has Sammy Stewart been included in any of the squads this season? Quote
minijc Posted September 24, 2009 Report Posted September 24, 2009 speaking of which, has Sammy Stewart been included in any of the squads this season? Nope, well none that I can remember anyway, strange one as Jimmy had him in most weeks towards the end of the season and when he came on against Hibs he didna look good but he didna look bad. Quote
mizer Posted September 24, 2009 Report Posted September 24, 2009 T minus 157965 seconds LETS DO THESE HUN BASTARDS! Quote
minijc Posted September 24, 2009 Report Posted September 24, 2009 Aye, lets get in to them, for those that like a wee punt Aberdeen to win 1-0 and Mulgrew first scorer is paying out at 200/1. Quote
Andrew Posted September 25, 2009 Report Posted September 25, 2009 Anyone know where to watch this in Amsterdam? There's is a few Irish pubs, not sure if they will show it, but I don't want to be with a load of fucking tims. Quote