Tuesday 26th November 2024 - kick-off 7.45pm

Scottish Premiership - Hibernian v Aberdeen

Come and get me, Aberdeen FC

Russell Anderson keen on Pittodrie return

EXCLUSIVE

By Ross McTavish

Published: 03/10/2009

HOME THOUGHTS: Russell Anderson would be keen on rejoining Aberdeen FC from Sunderland.

More Pictures

FORMER Aberdeen FC captain Russell Anderson today admitted he would love a dramatic return to Pittodrie.

But the Sunderland defender insisted any return home would have to be on a permanent basis.

Anderson, who missed most of last season with a cruciate ligament injury, is currently sidelined with a minor knee injury.

He is yet to discuss his future with Black Cats boss Steve Bruce.

But Anderson, who is also targeting a Scotland comeback, would be open to an offer from the Aberdeen FC.

To read our exclusive interview with Russell Anderson, pick up Saturday’s Evening Express

This would be fantastic for us if he came home. A real leader, a quality player and someone who loves the Dons*. I'm genuinely sorry for him that it's not worked out for him down south but if it means he comes back to us then...  ;D

Can't see those in charge of the purse strings going for this though.

*minijc will be along anytime soon saying "he wisnae that good etc"

I would support Anderson coming back as long as he could demonstrate his fitness longterm. The board & MM must recognize that if this is true it must be something that they grab with both hands before he ends up going to Dundee Utd, St Johnstone or Hibs et al.

Stand Free!

PS - The taxi for Kerr is delayed, but the booking remains .....

I don't think Anderson would be that demanding re wages.  He's earned a relative fortune in the last couple of seasons - much more than he could have got here - I'd imagine he'd want to be just playing football in his last few seasons as a top professional.

read the article - seems more interested in getting fit than saying - i'll play for the dons.  bit of a non story

That's the thing though, he can't say "I want to sign for the Dons" until he knows what plans Steve Bruce has for him (if any at all). I'd imagine his agent has contacted the EE to set this up, they wouldn't print it with absolutely no substance, not even the EE and Charlie Allan are that shite, surely?

I think the world of him as a player and I appreciate everything he did for us but he is not likely to be the player we think he will be. He has passed his best and we cannot afford to have a player in the team or squad purely on the basis of his 'leadership'......which, as far as I remember was to lead by example not by talking and managing.

He might nae be the player he was but probably still better than what we have at the moment

If its going to happen I hope he gets a mega-stringent medical, we really cannae afford another Tommy Wright / Smith / Booth scenario....

We desperately need an old head in that team. Can't think of anyone better than Russell to be honest.  He may not be "talking" and "managing" but i'd much rather Russell played for us and led by example than we had David Weir playing for us, know what I mean?

I certainly wouldn't complain about him coming back but I'd rather see us pursuing a crunching, holding midfield player who can lead by example.