BobbyBiscuit Posted October 16, 2009 Report Posted October 16, 2009 As per usual, no direct quotes about the players mentioned McGhee is planning a mass cull in January and Darren Mackie, Derek Young, Stuart Duff and Tommy Wright are earmarked for the exit door. McGhee said: "It's nothing personal, it's just the way things happen in football. "The fans may have their own ideas about certain players but I will make my own judgments. "When I went to Motherwell I was told straight away David Clarkson and Paul Quinn were hopeless, Stephen Craigan was too slow and I would be better off without them. "But I took time to assess all three who proved great assets." Quote
Azteca1903 Posted October 16, 2009 Report Posted October 16, 2009 Aside from the usual 'nice one Mark, they're shite' chat...this would only be worthwhile if he replaces them adequately. Frankly, on our budget, with the way the transfer market is right now, offloading four players and signing four new ones in the space of a month seems nigh on impossible. While the story is probably mince, I'll imagine any such 'cull' would be left to at least the summer. Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted October 16, 2009 Author Report Posted October 16, 2009 I'd keep Duff and I'd probably keep Mackie til the summer and then let him go. Duff I think is a good enough squad player for us. Young has never been good enough and there's just no point in Wright being here as he's never "fit". Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted October 16, 2009 Author Report Posted October 16, 2009 I think it was yesterday's retard. I just copied it from the hat to be honest... Quote
manc_don Posted October 16, 2009 Report Posted October 16, 2009 There was a rumour on MAD that Mackie will be punted on loan (with view to a permanant move) to livi in Jan.... Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted October 16, 2009 Author Report Posted October 16, 2009 Fuck - does that place still exist? Might heid across to laugh at the spastics later. They still going on about JMG and failed chippers? No, they've moved on. It's all about successful protests and failed chippers now... Quote
Kowalski Posted October 16, 2009 Report Posted October 16, 2009 Aside from the usual 'nice one Mark, they're shite' chat...this would only be worthwhile if he replaces them adequately. Frankly, on our budget, with the way the transfer market is right now, offloading four players and signing four new ones in the space of a month seems nigh on impossible. While the story is probably mince, I'll imagine any such 'cull' would be left to at least the summer. Agree with this, all very well getting rid of players, but we should only do so if we can replace them. None of these players are anything special, but they're all experienced. As much as I normally defend Mackie, probably in his own best interests to move on. Quote
Ajja Posted October 16, 2009 Report Posted October 16, 2009 Aside from the usual 'nice one Mark, they're shite' chat...this would only be worthwhile if he replaces them adequately. Frankly, on our budget, with the way the transfer market is right now, offloading four players and signing four new ones in the space of a month seems nigh on impossible. While the story is probably mince, I'll imagine any such 'cull' would be left to at least the summer. Its essential that we begin the process of weeding out bad performance in this squad, even if we are not able to replace like with like. McGhee has to start sending a message that poor performance has a consequence because for a very long time it has not seemed the case. You can concern yourself all you like with who might come in to replace these guys but it doesn't change the fact that they are underperforming and should go. Standards have to be set before they can be raised and its the impact on the players who stay that I am most interested in. Quote
Kowalski Posted October 16, 2009 Report Posted October 16, 2009 You can concern yourself all you like with who might come in to replace these guys but it doesn't change the fact that they are underperforming and should go. Bar Langfield, Paton, Mulgrew and Ifil, that's the whole first team squad to go then. Quote
Ajja Posted October 16, 2009 Report Posted October 16, 2009 Bar Langfield, Paton, Mulgrew and Ifil, that's the whole first team squad to go then. Not a practical solution as you are well aware. Better to open the trap door and let a few of the worst fall through and watch the rest clamber upwards to avoid being next. Quote
manc_don Posted October 16, 2009 Report Posted October 16, 2009 Not a practical solution as you are well aware. Better to open the trap door and let a few of the worst fall through and watch the rest clamber upwards to avoid being next. I like this idea, survival of the fittest (or the hugriest). Hopefully it will work as the catalyst to spur players on. Whether or not the story is true or not, I'm sure McGhee already knows who he wants to replace. Those mentioned are far from being the most unlikeliest. Quote
Azteca1903 Posted October 16, 2009 Report Posted October 16, 2009 Its essential that we begin the process of weeding out bad performance in this squad, even if we are not able to replace like with like. McGhee has to start sending a message that poor performance has a consequence because for a very long time it has not seemed the case. You can concern yourself all you like with who might come in to replace these guys but it doesn't change the fact that they are underperforming and should go. Standards have to be set before they can be raised and its the impact on the players who stay that I am most interested in. Is that not cutting off your nose to spite your face though? Binning everyone who doesn't meet this required standard is not nessisarily going to be productive, as even these guys have something to offer. I agree with you that a culture of complacency amongst first teamers seemed to have set in by this season, but that doesn't mean that getting rid of a large chunk of the squad without bringing in replacements is going to help. Quote
paulinho Posted October 16, 2009 Report Posted October 16, 2009 @Azteca1903 - Do you believe McGhee is going to release players from a threadbare squad without replacing them? Quote
Azteca1903 Posted October 16, 2009 Report Posted October 16, 2009 @Azteca1903 - Do you believe McGhee is going to release players from a threadbare squad without replacing them? I doubt it. The article, however, suggests he would be prepared to get rid of a number of players in January, when it will be exceedingly difficult to replace them properly. Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted October 16, 2009 Author Report Posted October 16, 2009 Ajja's right. A message does have to be sent that continual poor perfomances will not be continually rewarded - or will not continually go unpunished, there has to be a price to pay and frankly I'm fed up of AFC paying the price for having these guys around rather than the guilty parties being allowed to continue. Quote
Azteca1903 Posted October 16, 2009 Report Posted October 16, 2009 Ajja's right. A message does have to be sent that continual poor perfomances will not be continually rewarded - or will not continually go unpunished, there has to be a price to pay and frankly I'm fed up of AFC paying the price for having these guys around rather than the guilty parties being allowed to continue. Aye, but would dropping them not be a sufficient kick up the arse rather than leaving ourselves with a paper-thin/badly patched up squad? Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted October 16, 2009 Author Report Posted October 16, 2009 Well obviously it has to be done sensibly, which is why I suggested keeping Mackie til the summer and letting Young and Wright go in January. Quote
Azteca1903 Posted October 16, 2009 Report Posted October 16, 2009 Well obviously it has to be done sensibly, which is why I suggested keeping Mackie til the summer and letting Young and Wright go in January. Fair shout, I imagine the precise details of the article have more basis in pish than fact anyway. Quote
baggy89 Posted October 16, 2009 Report Posted October 16, 2009 Is there any quote that links the players mentioned, to the quotes attributed to McGhee. Would it not be more likely that the likes of Kerr, Miller, Langfield etc will be offered around in the hope of raising a fee for them before their contracts run out? Freeing up a larger percentage of wages to be offered for pre-contracts or extra to be added to next years budget. After all "this is a transitional season and McGhee will do whatever is necessary to improve the fortunes of the club". Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted October 16, 2009 Author Report Posted October 16, 2009 Is there any quote that links the players mentioned, to the quotes attributed to McGhee. Would it not be more likely that the likes of Kerr, Miller, Langfield etc will be offered around in the hope of raising a fee for them before their contracts run out? Freeing up a larger percentage of wages to be offered for pre-contracts or extra to be added to next years budget. I would imagine both would be as likely as each other. Quote
Kowalski Posted October 16, 2009 Report Posted October 16, 2009 Is there any quote that links the players mentioned, to the quotes attributed to McGhee. Would it not be more likely that the likes of Kerr, Miller, Langfield etc will be offered around in the hope of raising a fee for them before their contracts run out? Freeing up a larger percentage of wages to be offered for pre-contracts or extra to be added to next years budget. After all "this is a transitional season and McGhee will do whatever is necessary to improve the fortunes of the club". If we sell Langfield then my season ticket is going in the bin! Quote
manc_don Posted October 16, 2009 Report Posted October 16, 2009 I'd be fine with Miller going, Kerr less so but I have really grown to like Langfield, and his levels of consistency are incomparable with anyone else. Selling him would weaken our defence immensely. Quote
baggy89 Posted October 16, 2009 Report Posted October 16, 2009 I would imagine both would be as likely as each other. Yeah, that's probably what was in my head when I started typing. Quote
Ajja Posted October 16, 2009 Report Posted October 16, 2009 Is that not cutting off your nose to spite your face though? Binning everyone who doesn't meet this required standard is not nessisarily going to be productive, as even these guys have something to offer. I agree with you that a culture of complacency amongst first teamers seemed to have set in by this season, but that doesn't mean that getting rid of a large chunk of the squad without bringing in replacements is going to help. I wasn't suggesting that it would be acceptable to let average squad players go and not replace them, I would agree with you there. I was merely choosing to shift the discussion towards culture change at the club as I think there might be more to gain there than from replacing a few squad players. Quote
baggy89 Posted October 16, 2009 Report Posted October 16, 2009 McGhee is planning a mass cull in January and Darren Mackie, Derek Young, Stuart Duff and Tommy Wright are earmarked for the exit door. McGhee said: "It's nothing personal, it's just the way things happen in football. "The fans may have their own ideas about certain players but I will make my own judgments. "When I went to Motherwell I was told straight away David Clarkson and Paul Quinn were hopeless, Stephen Craigan was too slow and I would be better off without them. "But I took time to assess all three who proved great assets." In fact reading it again, I think it would seem to hint (quite blatantly) that it might not be the players fans are expecting ie. those mentioned at the top?? Quote