Kowalski Posted December 1, 2009 Report Posted December 1, 2009 Aberdeen FC trialist has not had wage for 12 weeks Midfielder desperate for deal at Pittodrie By Sean Wallace Published: 01/12/2009 IRISH trialist Ruaidhri Higgins is desperate to earn a deal with Aberdeen FC and end three months of hell. Midfielder Higgins has gone 12 weeks without being paid by Derry City. Crisis-hit Derry have been plunged into administration and expelled from the League of Ireland for breaking contractual rules. Now a free agent after the Irish FA announced every player on Derry’s books can quit the club for free, Higgins, 25, is going all-out to impress Aberdeen FC boss Mark McGhee. For more on this story and bumper coverage of Aberdeen FC, pick up a copy of today's Evening Express. Quote
tlg1903 Posted December 1, 2009 Report Posted December 1, 2009 isnt that where the tims got mccourt from? Quote
BigAl Posted December 1, 2009 Report Posted December 1, 2009 Attacking midfielder with one goal in something like ninety five appearances Quote
Tyrant Posted December 1, 2009 Report Posted December 1, 2009 FFS JMG BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO GTF SHITE!!!!!1111!!!!1!1!!111 Quote
BigAl Posted December 1, 2009 Report Posted December 1, 2009 Attacking midfielder with one goal in something like ninety five appearances http://www.soccerway.com/players/ruaidhri-higgins/7050/ There is no way that guy P Jennings in goal is only 30 Quote
baggy89 Posted December 1, 2009 Report Posted December 1, 2009 isnt that where the tims got mccourt from? Aye and he had been in England previously too. Although McCourt played for Rochdale. Quote
mizer Posted December 1, 2009 Report Posted December 1, 2009 Higgins began his career at the youth club, Newtown Y.F.C. before being signed by Coventry City F.C. Higgins signed for Derry after being released by Coventry City F.C.. Former Coventry manager, Gary McAllister was a keen fan when at Highfield Road, and Derry beat off several clubs to secure his signature. His distribution and intelligent play immediately caught the eye after he made his debut at home against Drogheda Unitedon 14 October, 2004. He has produced a number of impressive displaysfor his club and his ability to produce defence-splitting passes, aswell as controlling the midfield, is a key attribute. Quote
rednek Posted December 1, 2009 Report Posted December 1, 2009 anyone know if he is actually any good or is he just wanting an easy wage? Quote
Ajja Posted December 1, 2009 Report Posted December 1, 2009 McCourt and the other dude at Celtic (is it McGinn ?) both came from Derry as did Conor Sammon at Killie I think. I have a friend who is a ST holder at the Brandywell (or was!) who reckons he is a lazy player who is not up to SPL standard. More of a break up midfielder than an attacking one. Decent distribution but not willing to get about the park. Quote
capitalsharpie Posted December 1, 2009 Report Posted December 1, 2009 Perfect to play behind Miller then? Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted December 1, 2009 Report Posted December 1, 2009 If he's as good as Sammy Stewart . . . . . Quote
BigAl Posted December 1, 2009 Report Posted December 1, 2009 If he's as good as Sammy Stewart . . . . . Who Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted December 1, 2009 Report Posted December 1, 2009 Who http://www.afc.premiumtv.co.uk/javaImages/ac/2f/0,,10284%7E3682220,00.jpg[/img] Sammy fucking Stewart min! GOAL MACHINE!! Quote
Ajja Posted December 1, 2009 Report Posted December 1, 2009 Another of the 'clean through' Stewart clan.... Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted December 1, 2009 Report Posted December 1, 2009 Another of the 'clean through' Stewart clan.... Lmaonade!!! GIE IT TAE SAMMY . . . . . . . Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted December 15, 2009 Report Posted December 15, 2009 "It looked as if Aberdeen would happen, but now it seems that it hasfallen through. That is a real kick in the teeth, it's very hard totake," Higgins told the Herald. "I had gone over there (to Aberdeen) for a week's trial, I did well andthey asked me to come back for a second week, when I did well again. Ireally felt part of things there, I travelled with the squad to Glasgowfor the game with Celtic, I was at the game and, even in the dressingroom at Parkhead, the club seemed really happy with me. "I was told by Aberdeen that there would be the offer of a short-termcontract and after that it would be up to me to show I was worthy of along-term deal. "I came back to Derry and Aberdeen were supposed to get in touch withmy agent. But there has been no contact, that was two weeks ago now andI just have to assume that the deal is dead in the water. It's veryhard to take as things were tough enough already," added Higgins, whojoined home-town club Derry in 2004 after a spell with Coventry. Quite possible that MM is just weighing up his options before offering anyone anything rather than it being totally dead. Quote
maverick sheep Posted December 15, 2009 Report Posted December 15, 2009 Quite possible that MM is just weighing up his options before offering anyone anything rather than it being totally dead. It was also not two weeks ago we played celtic so he must've gone home after that... I don't mind footballers being stupid but I draw the line at someone who canny count to 2!! Quote
Reekie_Red Posted December 16, 2009 Report Posted December 16, 2009 Attacking midfielder with one goal in something like ninety five appearances Bisconti scored 1 goal in about 50 games ... nobody doubted his ability. Stephen Glass didn't score that many in his time either, but he was one of our most loved and valuable wingers of the post-Smith/Scott era. Quote