BobbyBiscuit Posted January 20, 2010 Report Posted January 20, 2010 I don't think Fyvie is allowed to sign another contract until he's 17, as his current contract was also signed when he was 16. Quote
Ajja Posted January 20, 2010 Report Posted January 20, 2010 Think the last line of that article is the most concerning. Maybe so but its not that long ago he signed his current deal and he is 16, having been thrust into our first team and received some rave reviews. Hard to blame the boy for taking some time to think it all through! His star is rising, he knows it and so do other, bigger teams. By all accounts we did well to fend off the likes of Arsenal last time around. I'd be surprised if he commits to us. Quote
mizer Posted January 20, 2010 Report Posted January 20, 2010 I don't think Fyvie is allowed to sign another contract until he's 17, as his current contract was also signed when he was 16. Correct, Jutes wife told him that but obviously he wasn't listening Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted January 20, 2010 Report Posted January 20, 2010 I also didn't think it was an extension, just for him to get more money. Quote
Jute Posted January 20, 2010 Report Posted January 20, 2010 I also didn't think it was an extension, just for him to get more money. Sure I read it was both. Think we can extend it as long as offering more money and not more than 3 years as three years is maximum length of contract you can offer a player under 18. Quote
Reekie_Red Posted January 22, 2010 Author Report Posted January 22, 2010 Wouldn't we be guaranteed a fee from any club looking to sign Fyvie? I'm sure there was legislation in place to protect clubs who bring young talent through by making the recipient club who sign any youngster have to go through a tribunal to pay a nominal fee for any player under a certain age. Isn't this why Newcastle had to pay us a wee sum for Glass? Quote
capitalsharpie Posted January 22, 2010 Report Posted January 22, 2010 Sure I read it was both. Think we can extend it as long as offering more money and not more than 3 years as three years is maximum length of contract you can offer a player under 18. In this fucked up post bosman player market place, surely to god, not being able to offer YOUTH players longer term contracts is couterproductive for the qualirty of the Scottish game as a whole? Quote
Jute Posted January 22, 2010 Report Posted January 22, 2010 Wouldn't we be guaranteed a fee from any club looking to sign Fyvie? I'm sure there was legislation in place to protect clubs who bring young talent through by making the recipient club who sign any youngster have to go through a tribunal to pay a nominal fee for any player under a certain age. Isn't this why Newcastle had to pay us a wee sum for Glass? We would however large part of the compensation is claculated on players wages. Rest is based on development costs but not a clue how this is calculated. Quote
Sharpie Posted January 22, 2010 Report Posted January 22, 2010 We would however large part of the compensation is claculated on players wages. Rest is based on development costs but not a clue how this is calculated. I believe they use a random number generator programme that was developed by one of the tribunal boards son's at school. Quote
bilbobaggins Posted January 22, 2010 Report Posted January 22, 2010 In light of the news about Considine we just need to get on with signing him. Get 100k offered to Falkirk and then see if he really wants to play for us. Nae doubt we'll fuck about for a week then he'll reject us. Quote
Ptayles Posted January 22, 2010 Report Posted January 22, 2010 Just read in the EE that barrs agent said show him how much we want him Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted January 24, 2010 Report Posted January 24, 2010 Just read in the EE that barrs agent said show him how much we want him That is poorly disguised "get the dough out". No happening. Quote
Ajja Posted January 25, 2010 Report Posted January 25, 2010 Signed a pre-contract with Hearts. Source: BBC Radio Scotland, Sportsound Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted January 25, 2010 Report Posted January 25, 2010 Signed a pre-contract with Hearts. Source: BBC Radio Scotland, Sportsound Missed the half 6 sports news on the telly. Fuck sake, is he totally mad? Quote
stubo72 Posted January 25, 2010 Report Posted January 25, 2010 Missed the half 6 sports news on the telly. Fuck sake, is he totally mad? They must have offered him a decent basic, cos he hasnae gone there for fitba reasons. That much is for sure. Bah. Quote
manc_don Posted January 25, 2010 Report Posted January 25, 2010 Whilst i'm disappointed by this i guess they must have been the only one to offer a decent deal. At least it puts us out of our misery. We all knew we were never going to get him anyway. Quote
Ajja Posted January 25, 2010 Report Posted January 25, 2010 Apparently he was horse on Sunday. That works for me...who is our next unrealistic potential signing ? Quote
baggy89 Posted January 25, 2010 Report Posted January 25, 2010 Apparently he was horse on Sunday. That works for me...who is our next unrealistic potential signing ? I heard Robinho was looking for a way out of City. Quote
Kowalski Posted January 25, 2010 Report Posted January 25, 2010 Apparently he was horse on Sunday. That works for me...who is our next unrealistic potential signing ? Did Kluivert get a club? Quote
rocknroll Posted January 25, 2010 Report Posted January 25, 2010 Apparently Barr chose Hearts so he doesn't need to move his family. That be Romanov giving cash for players now? Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted January 26, 2010 Report Posted January 26, 2010 Apparently Barr chose Hearts so he doesn't need to move his family. That be Romanov giving cash for players now? Nope, or they would have him now. Barr's wages wouldn't be much of a problem to double within the "unusual" wages to turnover structure LSC have. Quote
amp Posted January 26, 2010 Report Posted January 26, 2010 Did Kluivert get a club? Saw him playing live on ESPN last night for Zidane XI v Benfica XI - he has put on a bit of weight, lacks pace, and his finishing was rubbish. Could do a job for us IMO. Quote
Kowalski Posted January 27, 2010 Report Posted January 27, 2010 What age is he now, Kluivert? http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Patrick_Kluivert 33 Quote