glasgow sheep Posted January 28, 2010 Report Posted January 28, 2010 Raith v Aberdeen - Active Nation Scottish Cup Raith Rovers v Aberdeen - Scottish Cup 5th Round - Saturday 6th February, 3pm Kick Off Our upcoming cup tie against Raith has been confirmed as ALL TICKET Tickets are now on sale to Season Ticket Holders and Shareholders with over 260 shares. There will be a general sale from Monday 1st February at 9am Adult £16 Concession (under 16 or over 60) £8 Student £12 Youcan purchase in advance through our ticket office (tel 01224 63 1903), or online at www.afc.co.uk/eTickets. http://www.fifetoday.co.uk/sport/Raith-running-on-empty-ahead.6024464.jp Rovers are already looking forward to next weekend's money-spinning tie against Aberdeen, which despite the short notice, is to be an all-ticket affair. Tickets details are due to be announced via the club's official website, www.raithroversfc.com, imminently with Ticketmaster expected to provide an online service for Rovers fans. Quote
jmo Posted January 28, 2010 Report Posted January 28, 2010 Looking forward to this. Never been there before. Quote
Reekie_Red Posted January 28, 2010 Report Posted January 28, 2010 Starks Park is a decent ground. I've nae been there since about 1995, but it was a decent ground back then. The stands are quite tidy and relatively modern, whilst still giving the ground a bit of character (unlike lifeless morgues like Rugby Park) Quote
RDU_64 Posted January 28, 2010 Report Posted January 28, 2010 Booked mine the day, but the wife charged us as adults when we are students! Chances of being refunded? Quote
tsr Posted January 28, 2010 Report Posted January 28, 2010 Read elsewhere that 1,500 tickets were sold today, not sure how folk find out stuff of that nature. Quote
Ptayles Posted January 28, 2010 Report Posted January 28, 2010 Should be a good trip down. Went past Starks 100s if times on the train but never been there looking forward to it Quote
mizer Posted January 28, 2010 Report Posted January 28, 2010 Our mob is booked up, just to organise a pub. Quote
glasgow sheep Posted January 28, 2010 Author Report Posted January 28, 2010 Our mob is booked up, just to organise a pub. The pubs are going to be hoaching for this game. I'll leave the recommendations to others. I would be in the Novar, but it'll be rammed. I might see if I can get signed into the KUSI. Betty Nicols at the East End of the High Street is a decent enough boozer. The pubs working along the High Street from East to West are Harbour Bar, Royal Scot (might have closed down), The Port Brae, The Heritage (hairy tadge), Betty Nicols, Wetherspoons, Auld Hoose, Wheatsheaf, the Exchequer, Bar Itza, O'Connells (this might be a shout as it's a barn of a place), Penny Farthing, The Abbey, The Novar, Estuary, Starks Bar....have I missed some? ..Harlem down at the seafront. Is Thunder Road still open, it's near the train station? I think that's them all covered! Just to add: The Abbey is pretty near the ground, with Bar Itza, O'Connells, The Penny Farthing and the Exchequer all being not too far. The rest of them may be a bit of a trek. Edited to add: Harlem is now called McSquinty's and Thunder Road is no more. Thunder road is now a club called 'DV8'. Quote
mizer Posted January 28, 2010 Report Posted January 28, 2010 We have our own sources And being the nosy bastard you are I'm surprised you haven't sneaked into our forum to read Quote
Aberdeen_Ladette Posted January 28, 2010 Report Posted January 28, 2010 The Port Brae mentioned in Glasgow Sheep's many quotes is owned by Willie Johnston! So best probably avoided by us! Quote
dave_min Posted January 28, 2010 Report Posted January 28, 2010 That didn't clear up the whole "Which Pub?" question at all. Quote
mizer Posted January 28, 2010 Report Posted January 28, 2010 The Port Brae mentioned in Glasgow Sheep's many quotes is owned by Willie Johnston! So best probably avoided by us! Or we could go and trash it Quote
Ajja Posted January 28, 2010 Report Posted January 28, 2010 That didn't clear up the whole "Which Pub?" question at all. There are a handful of pubs at the West end of the High Street which is the end nearest the ground (10 minutes walk away). From train station its about 5-10 minutes south on foot just before the sea front, if you come in a supporters bus then you will probably get parked on the sea front at the West end. The more 'modern' pubs seem to be located around that area, the East end of the High Street tends to be old mans bars. I'd go with The Exchequer, O'Connells (more food than bar), or the Abbey for starters. The Wheatsheaf (just off mid high street) is a decent pub but not big. Quote
Aberdeen_Ladette Posted January 29, 2010 Report Posted January 29, 2010 There are a handful of pubs at the West end of the High Street which is the end nearest the ground (10 minutes walk away). From train station its about 5-10 minutes south on foot just before the sea front, if you come in a supporters bus then you will probably get parked on the sea front at the West end. The more 'modern' pubs seem to be located around that area, the East end of the High Street tends to be old mans bars. I'd go with The Exchequer, O'Connells (more food than bar), or the Abbey for starters. The Wheatsheaf (just off mid high street) is a decent pub but not big. , quality info Ajja Quote
Aberdeen_Ladette Posted January 29, 2010 Report Posted January 29, 2010 That didn't clear up the whole "Which Pub?" question at all. Just mentioned one to avoid, whilst enquiries ongoing into one's to go to Quote
Aberdeen_Ladette Posted January 29, 2010 Report Posted January 29, 2010 Or we could go and trash it Why re trash?!, suprised at you Mizer, nae like you to want to trash anywhere. Only mentioned nae place for us sheep shaggers to go before game v Raith next week. Quote
Aberdeen_Ladette Posted January 29, 2010 Report Posted January 29, 2010 Panthers/no 69/80s bar. lol ` Reminiscing great FJ You intending to come back to the streets of Raith for this game? Quote
tsr Posted January 29, 2010 Report Posted January 29, 2010 Some good tips, my mates bringing his son up for the game, which of the above would be most suitable, got tipped to go to Novar but seems like thats going to be mobbed? Quote
Cowie Posted January 29, 2010 Report Posted January 29, 2010 Pretty sure the Abbey is a Hun pub aswell... There's a signed 'admiral' top behind the bar.. Penny farthing - tiny pub. Quote
tsr Posted January 29, 2010 Report Posted January 29, 2010 I always thought the novar bar was a hun pub. Don't think so based on their website Quote
Ajja Posted January 29, 2010 Report Posted January 29, 2010 Novar Bar is a Raith pub I think. Sure you would be welcome but it might be a little parochial. Probably better with 'generic multi-chain model' style pubs. They lack character and atmosphere but tend to be easy to move around in and get served etc. Quote
Ajja Posted January 29, 2010 Report Posted January 29, 2010 seem to remember hearing it was a pick up point for the kdy huns bus. might be wrong though. Raith = huns anyway so we are in agreement Quote
scooby_don Posted January 29, 2010 Report Posted January 29, 2010 Being a Kirkcaldy boy myself, like, I would probably recommend 'The Abbey' as the closest, decent drinking establishment to Starks Park. Only 5 - 10 minutes walk/stagger from the ground depending on how much alchohol has been consummed! A little inside info for ya'll, the owner is a die hard Rangers fan!! Ha! Avoid them pubs on Links Street if possible. Quote
scooby_don Posted January 29, 2010 Report Posted January 29, 2010 You're just trying to get people to go to a gay bar. No... Your thinking of 'The Penny Farthing'. Your old haunting ground Quote