TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted January 18, 2011 Report Posted January 18, 2011 Olly named next Ryder Cup captain for Europe. Good news! http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/golf/9364427.stm Was going to take my sticks over to Tenerife next month, FUCK THAT! 90 odd euros for 18? Fucking dearer than Gleneagles! Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted January 18, 2011 Report Posted January 18, 2011 Was going to take my sticks over to Tenerife next month, FUCK THAT! 90 odd euros for 18? Fucking dearer than Gleneagles! Crikey. is that the average cost of a round there or just the course where you're staying? Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted January 18, 2011 Report Posted January 18, 2011 Crikey. is that the average cost of a round there or just the course where you're staying? It is one of the dearer courses but it is the one nearest where we're staying but the rest are pretty much round about that price. The green fees near enough double in the winter, Quote
Kowalski Posted January 18, 2011 Report Posted January 18, 2011 Is that the course near Playa de las Americas/Los Cristianos? If so, it certainly looks nice! Quote
bilbobaggins Posted January 18, 2011 Report Posted January 18, 2011 I go to Tenerife every year Funster. Golf Del Sur is average except for the links of the 3 9 holes. I like Amarilla, a right good test of straight hitting but the greens were pish last year. Adeje is probably the best course and yes, in winter that's the going rate. We tend to block book and you can usually wangle a deal, especially now as the island is not half as busy as it used to be. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted January 18, 2011 Report Posted January 18, 2011 Is that the course near Playa de las Americas/Los Cristianos? If so, it certainly looks nice! It does Kow, very nice, played one round since November, going off my head! Bilbo, I just couldn't bring myself to cough that dough for a round, I'd rather pay that for an excellent links here during the season but I liked the look of Adeje and Amarilla. Quote
s1dnk Posted January 19, 2011 Report Posted January 19, 2011 Tried to play the first round of the year yesterday but had to give up after 5 holes cause my new sheen were rubbing, disaster. One monster drive but other than that it was complete garbage, must of 3 putted every green. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted January 19, 2011 Report Posted January 19, 2011 Tried to play the first round of the year yesterday but had to give up after 5 holes cause my new sheen were rubbing, disaster. One monster drive but other than that it was complete garbage, must of 3 putted every green. I really cannae be ersed putting out on our winter greens, fucking heart rending stuff. Quote
mizer Posted January 24, 2011 Report Posted January 24, 2011 http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-highlands-islands-12265120 The new Castle Stuart golf course near Inverness has pulled off a major coup by winning the right to stage the Barclays Scottish Open in July. The event has the potential to attract tens of thousands of spectators and be watched by a TV audience of millions. The links course on the Moray Firth only opened fully last year. The open has been played at Loch Lomond for the last nine years but financial difficulties there saw the European Tour begin the search for a new venue. Anyone played on the Castle Stuart course? looks bonny in the pictures and the Firth sets it off, http://www.castlestuartgolf.com/photogallery.html Reminds me a bit of Buckpool GC which I grew up on, but much nicer. Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted January 24, 2011 Report Posted January 24, 2011 There's already a golf thread Mizer! EFF EFF ESS. Clowns, ban this Mod!! Quote
mizer Posted January 24, 2011 Report Posted January 24, 2011 There's already a golf thread Mizer! EFF EFF ESS. Clowns, ban this Mod!! Quote
wee toon red Posted January 24, 2011 Report Posted January 24, 2011 http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-highlands-islands-12265120 Anyone played on the Castle Stuart course? looks bonny in the pictures and the Firth sets it off, http://www.castlestuartgolf.com/photogallery.html Reminds me a bit of Buckpool GC which I grew up on, but much nicer. Bad news for me as Loch Lomond is only a couple of hours away from me and the Scottish Open was easily the closest world class sporting event. Still, if it helps get Tiger to play then I'm sure Barclays will get over the fact that I won't be there to watch. Not quite as disappointing as sitting in the clubhouse yesterday with a new record score for our winter league's two-ball better-ball competition, which last for a full 10 mins until the last game of the day came in a beat us with a better inward half Quote
glasgow sheep Posted February 28, 2011 Report Posted February 28, 2011 Great work by Luke Donald in the WGC Match Play last week to get himself to 3rd in the world. The rankings certainly make good reading now. When was the last time, indeed has it ever happened, that the top 4 in the World are all European? On top of that 6 of the Top 10 are European and we have 2 Scots in the Top 100 for the first time in a number of years Men's world rankings, 27 Feb 1 Martin Kaymer Ger 8.36 pts ave 2 Lee Westwood Eng 8.16 3 Luke Donald Eng 6.64 4 Graeme McDowell NI 6.44 5 Tiger Woods US 6.32 6 Phil Mickelson US 6.23 7 Paul Casey Eng 6.02 8 Rory McIlroy NI 5.65 9 Steve Stricker US 5.49 10 Matt Kuchar US 5.20 Quote
dandy Posted February 28, 2011 Report Posted February 28, 2011 Last happened in 1992 when Woosnam, Faldo, Olazabal and Ballesteros occupied the top 4 spots. Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted March 1, 2011 Report Posted March 1, 2011 Great work by Luke Donald in the WGC Match Play last week to get himself to 3rd in the world. The rankings certainly make good reading now. When was the last time, indeed has it ever happened, that the top 4 in the World are all European? On top of that 6 of the Top 10 are European and we have 2 Scots in the Top 100 for the first time in a number of years Men's world rankings, 27 Feb 1 Martin Kaymer Ger 8.36 pts ave 2 Lee Westwood Eng 8.16 3 Luke Donald Eng 6.64 4 Graeme McDowell NI 6.44 5 Tiger Woods US 6.32 6 Phil Mickelson US 6.23 7 Paul Casey Eng 6.02 8 Rory McIlroy NI 5.65 9 Steve Stricker US 5.49 10 Matt Kuchar US 5.20 Never been a big fan of Donald, always suspected him of being a bit weak but he has played some excellent stuff in the last year and was arguably the best player at the Ryder Cup. Quote
CtS Posted March 1, 2011 Report Posted March 1, 2011 Getting to that time of year again, reluctantly bought myself a shiny new driver yesterday because my old one's not really legal any more. What are you boys hitting off the tee, and how's it working out for you? FORE! Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted March 1, 2011 Report Posted March 1, 2011 Getting to that time of year again, reluctantly bought myself a shiny new driver yesterday because my old one's not really legal any more. What are you boys hitting off the tee, and how's it working out for you? FORE! 3, mostly... I desperately need a new driver too, the one i have just now is too whippy for how fast my swing is and as a result I hit it right half the time. Trying to correct that has taken about 20-30 yards off my drives. So if anyone can recommend a good, affordable driver with a stiff shaft (oo-er) I would appreciate it. what kind did you get CtS? Quote
CtS Posted March 1, 2011 Report Posted March 1, 2011 I was hitting a Callaway ERC Hot, now not allowed in competition due to the technology (although the pro I spoke to said it was ridiculous), so I went with the Callaway Diablo Octane... It worked ok in the demo bay down at the driving range anyway. It's a pity because my driving has always been sound, best part of my game, just hope this one works on the course as well as the last. Now if only someone could teach me to putt... Quote
bilbobaggins Posted March 1, 2011 Report Posted March 1, 2011 I use the Titleist 909D2 with Voodoo shaft last year. It's best driver I've ever played and I wont be changing any time soon. Quote
Kowalski Posted March 27, 2011 Report Posted March 27, 2011 Paul Lawrie won the Andalucian Open. Good luck to Martin Laird tonight http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/golf/9437454.stm Quote
glasgow sheep Posted March 28, 2011 Report Posted March 28, 2011 Paul Lawrie won the Andalucian Open. Good luck to Martin Laird tonight http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/golf/9437454.stm Scottish double Quote
Ptayles Posted March 28, 2011 Report Posted March 28, 2011 Paul Lawrie for a couple of majors this year Quote
Kowalski Posted March 28, 2011 Report Posted March 28, 2011 Scottish double And Laird is now #21 in the world! Quote
glasgow sheep Posted April 7, 2011 Report Posted April 7, 2011 http://www.masters.com/en_US/scores/index.html Quote
Kowalski Posted April 8, 2011 Report Posted April 8, 2011 Seems a bit weird that the BBC only have the Saturday/Sunday live coverage now. Sky's coverage was quite good last night, with Monty doing some commentating. Anyone going up to the Scottish Open? We're going up on the Friday! Quote