manc_don Posted July 5, 2010 Report Posted July 5, 2010 http://www.afc.co.uk/articles/20100705/aberdeen-sign-new-striker-_2212158_2084863 Signed from Cardiff City today. Welcome aboard. Quote
Madbadteacher Posted July 5, 2010 Report Posted July 5, 2010 Fa? Is he any good? I suppose he's an internationalist at least. Quote
Penfold Posted July 5, 2010 Report Posted July 5, 2010 Made his first appearance on the Cardiff bench as a goalkeeper and only changed to striker 2 years ago! Quote
Madbadteacher Posted July 5, 2010 Report Posted July 5, 2010 Made his first appearance on the Cardiff bench as a goalkeeper and only changed to striker 2 years ago! So he's like 2 new signings then? Quote
redordead Posted July 5, 2010 Report Posted July 5, 2010 From the article he could be decent, just hope he can do a job for us Quote
McMaster Posted July 5, 2010 Report Posted July 5, 2010 Still slightly worried about age. Sorry to moan as i am grateful to see players coming in, but we really could use some experienced players on that park. Welcome to Pittodrie, sure he will be a good player Quote
baggy89 Posted July 5, 2010 Report Posted July 5, 2010 Dave Jones might have rated him http://www.cardiff.vitalfootball.co.uk/article.asp?a=199836 Wilko tells me that big 'Wilf` up front is no worse than Cameron Jerome at the same stage of development. and Neil Ardley obviously does How many 6ft 2in, lightning-quick strikers who are powerful in the air with a great leap are there? He also has a shot like a thunderbolt. He`s raw but there is so much potential and we will do everything possible to help him bring it out However he's not exactly highly rated by the Grimsby fans here http://www.thefishy.co.uk/cgi-bin/forum/Blah.pl?m-1277633900/ who seem to offer a complete opposite view. and Josh was on loan eirlier here in the season when he missed a 5 yard sitter When he was at BP he didn't move fast enough for us to know he had legs. I suppose I'm happy enough with this signing at least it's a step in the right direction. A big striker, no matter if they're shit, will at least drag a player with them. If he is any good then we might get something for him, if he's pish it's a couple of hundred a week I'd assume. At a guess a Cardiff fan's view here http://mirkobolesan.wordpress.com/2010/05/30/josh-magennis/ Quote
dave_min Posted July 5, 2010 Report Posted July 5, 2010 Scored the winning goal for Cardiff in the play-off final, then managed 12 in his first season in the EPL - right good striker and has a great attitude. I like him. Quote
Slim Posted July 5, 2010 Report Posted July 5, 2010 I'd be concerned if he was a replacement for Lee Miller but otherwise sounds a good addition to the squad and hope he can make a name for himself. Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted July 5, 2010 Report Posted July 5, 2010 Nice one. Welcome aboard Josh, best of luck to you! Quote
mizer Posted July 5, 2010 Report Posted July 5, 2010 BOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!! Yer shite!!!!!!! Fuck sake Magennis, Fuckin BOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!! He canna even spell his name properly! Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted July 5, 2010 Report Posted July 5, 2010 Hope we can teach him the basics before the season starts: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c0GGnd1ufss Quote
mizer Posted July 5, 2010 Report Posted July 5, 2010 Hope we can teach him the basics before the season starts: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c0GGnd1ufss Quote
tom_widdows Posted July 5, 2010 Report Posted July 5, 2010 Scored the winning goal for Cardiff in the play-off final, then managed 12 in his first season in the EPL - right good striker and has a great attitude. I like him. who are you looking at? Quote
Mentorred Posted July 5, 2010 Report Posted July 5, 2010 who are you looking at? Think Dave-Min is playing football manager again. Quote
dave_min Posted July 5, 2010 Report Posted July 5, 2010 Think Dave-Min is playing football manager again. Aye! It's the only reason I know anything about anyone in football. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted July 5, 2010 Report Posted July 5, 2010 Hope we can teach him the basics before the season starts: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c0GGnd1ufss He should fit right in. Deary me. Quote
tlg1903 Posted July 5, 2010 Report Posted July 5, 2010 I like this As he’s also left footed, so I think I’ll dub him here and now “The Ulster Vieri”. Quote
Sandaldinho Posted July 6, 2010 Report Posted July 6, 2010 Welcome to the Club! now lets work on your throw in's...... Quote
Arild_Stavrum Posted July 6, 2010 Report Posted July 6, 2010 HAHA! what an idiot - hope the lads at training give him dogs abuse for that! See Robbie savage wetting himself after he takes the throw in from the middle of the pitch. Fingers crossed he can play though, could be a decent signing. we need more experienced guys though. Quote
glasgowdon Posted July 6, 2010 Report Posted July 6, 2010 Certainly appears to be a step in the right direction. Welcome, please score goals. KTHXBAI. Quote
baggy89 Posted July 6, 2010 Report Posted July 6, 2010 Welcome aboard Josh Is Josh Magennis an acceptable name for an Aberdeen player? Perhaps we should be trying to convince him to change his name to Jimmy Maitland . Quote