Madbadteacher Posted July 20, 2010 Report Posted July 20, 2010 Don't knock it, you need shite to grow things! Quote
mizer Posted July 21, 2010 Report Posted July 21, 2010 MARK McGhee today insisted Aberdeen FC bid to land former England international Lee Hendrie will not be derailed by lack of cash. The midfielder has commanded high wage packets during spells at Aston Villa, Sheffield United and Derby County. Hendrie is on trial at Aberdeen FC and was set to feature in tonight’s friendly against Dunfermline at East End Park. The Aberdeen FC boss today reassured the Red Army any move will not be scuppered by the club’s limited budget. McGhee said: “Lee Hendrie would not be here at Aberdeen FC if his wages were too much of a concern. Read more: http://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/Article.aspx/1836779#ixzz0uJmhuNaD Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted July 21, 2010 Report Posted July 21, 2010 ANOTHER CLASSIC CUNTED QUOTE FROM MCGHEE Yes mizer, I mean really, McGhee is such a cut above in the media savvy stakes. Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted July 21, 2010 Report Posted July 21, 2010 Quote from Redweb: The Dons travelled to East End Park in hope of seeing new singing Lee Hendrie and they got their wish as Mark McGhee named him in the starting eleven. Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted July 21, 2010 Report Posted July 21, 2010 What was he singing? Don't know, but i heard it was a duet with Robbie Williams. Quote
BigAl Posted July 22, 2010 Report Posted July 22, 2010 Well that'll be us well and truely fucked then http://boards.footymad.net/forum.php?tno=4&fid=27&act=1&mid=2120848732 Only if you're a half empty sort of person. This time, I actually believe we'll pull this off.....however if we don't pity help the little cunt when he plays against us Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted July 22, 2010 Report Posted July 22, 2010 We'll see. Most likely he will go to the highest bidder. Quote
BigAl Posted July 22, 2010 Report Posted July 22, 2010 We'll see. Most likely he will go to the highest bidder. Reckon it is a non story by the plebs on GrumpianTF to justify why the signing hasn't been confirmed. Didn't rate a mention on STV or BBC Scotland Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted July 22, 2010 Report Posted July 22, 2010 Didn't rate a mention on STV or BBC Scotland AFC rarely do anyway mate. No really too fussed about this fella signing. Quote
BigAl Posted July 22, 2010 Report Posted July 22, 2010 AFC rarely do anyway mate. In all honesty, cannae really argue with that point Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted July 22, 2010 Report Posted July 22, 2010 AFC rarely do anyway mate. No really too fussed about this fella signing. I know Mizer's written the guy off after seeing him for 55 mins, (which, granted is 55 mins more than me since I last saw him for Villa) but I think he could be a good signing. I know we've been down this road before; Whelan, McNamara even Hignett to an extent although he wasn't quite as "experienced" to be polite about it, but it's someone who will capture the fans imagination and we do know there is a bit of quality in there somewhere. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted July 22, 2010 Report Posted July 22, 2010 I'm far from against it either BB, I understand exactly the reasons why folk would be pleased about him signing, I'm just some way short from enthusiastic. Hope he has more of the positives about him than the negatives at this stage of his career. All in all, he's probably "good to have about the place" Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted July 22, 2010 Report Posted July 22, 2010 I'm far from against it either BB, I understand exactly the reasons why folk would be pleased about him signing, I'm just some way short from enthusiastic. Hope he has more of the positives about him than the negatives at this stage of his career. All in all, he's probably "good to have about the place" Oh aye, i mean i'm not throwing a party about it but it's just a bit of a higher class of player (Hartley and Macken too if anything comes of those stories) than I was expecting. It's experience and a bit of a substance to the side we are drastically lacking. Of course, if he (and the other two) are past it now and are no use with the ball at their feet then all the other stuff is pretty pointless. Incidentally, will this be the first English internationalist we've ever had on our books? Quote
Mentorred Posted July 22, 2010 Report Posted July 22, 2010 Oh aye, i mean i'm not throwing a party about it but it's just a bit of a higher class of player (Hartley and Macken too if anything comes of those stories) than I was expecting. It's experience and a bit of a substance to the side we are drastically lacking. Of course, if he (and the other two) are past it now and are no use with the ball at their feet then all the other stuff is pretty pointless. Incidentally, will this be the first English internationalist we've ever had on our books? I think he could be. Noel Whelan only played for the U21 team. No one else comes to mind. Sone did play for u19. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted July 22, 2010 Report Posted July 22, 2010 Canny think of one. Rocastle play a competitive game for us? Quote
Kowalski Posted July 22, 2010 Report Posted July 22, 2010 Back page of late editions of the EE say Hendrie has left without signing, but AFC are still hopeful. Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted July 22, 2010 Report Posted July 22, 2010 Canny think of one. Rocastle play a competitive game for us? Nah, just trained with us i think. Always found it strange we took Mike Newell on and not Rocastle. Out of the two of them there was one who was a class act in his day and the other was Mike Newell... Quote
Penfold Posted July 22, 2010 Report Posted July 22, 2010 Back page of late editions of the EE say Hendrie has left without signing, but AFC are still hopeful. Players all had a day off today before travelling down to the training camp in England tomorrow. Hendrie is meeting up with the rest of the squad there. Quote
maverick sheep Posted July 23, 2010 Report Posted July 23, 2010 Lee will sign for Aberdeen FC in England McGhee happy to let midfielder go back to family By Charlie Allan Published: 23/07/2010 Manager Mark McGhee today urged the Red Army not to worry because Hendrie went back home yesterday without actually signing a contract. “There is nothing untoward in Lee’s decision to go home before a deal had been fully agreed,” said Aberdeen FC manager McGhee, who began the trek by bus with his squad to their camp at Loughborough University, Leicestershire, this morning. For more on this story and bumper coverage of Aberdeen FC, pick up a copy of today’s Evening Express or read our digital edition now. Read more: http://www.eveningexpress.co.uk/Article.aspx/1838924?UserKey=#ixzz0uV4PreI6 Can't shake the feeling we could get two players (Folly & Ahmed?) For the same wages as Hendrie will take and I can't see Hendrie playing more than half the games. Without him what do we pick our central midfield from? Fyvie, Young, Grimmer? Hmmm Quote
wee toon red Posted July 23, 2010 Report Posted July 23, 2010 Can't shake the feeling we could get two players (Folly & Ahmed?) For the same wages as Hendrie will take and I can't see Hendrie playing more than half the games. Without him what do we pick our central midfield from? Fyvie, Young, Grimmer? Hmmm I'd imagine that if he is trying to sign Hendrie and Hartley then McGhee will have room to sign someone else if we don't get Hartley. Probably Ahmed or whoever. That gives us Hendrie, Fyvie, Ahmed/Hartley, Young (shudder), and didn't Williams start one of the friendlies as a defensive mid? Quote
Madbadteacher Posted July 23, 2010 Report Posted July 23, 2010 After last season I wouldn't "shudder" so much at Young Quote
Madbadteacher Posted July 28, 2010 Report Posted July 28, 2010 It's gone awfy quiet on this one despite McGhee assertions that he was going to be signed up when he met up with the squad again in England. Quote
Tyrant Posted July 28, 2010 Report Posted July 28, 2010 If we sign Hartley we shall be signing either Robbie Williams or Lee Hendrie. I guess McGhee is waiting for the Hartley deal to be concluded before he knows his next move. Quote