mizer Posted July 23, 2010 Report Posted July 23, 2010 http://www.afc.co.uk/articles/20100723/pre-season-tour-to-england_2212158_2100684 The Aberdeen team headed down to England first thing this morning for their pre-season tour of England. The team stopped off for a training session at Middlesbrough's Rockliffe Park training ground at Hurworth, near Darlington. The boys were welcomed to the impressive training ground by former Don Lee Miller.Boro boss Gordon Strachan was also at the training session and spent some time with his good friend Mark McGhee, showing him around the complex. The team will travel down to their base in the Midlands this evening and then prepare for their first match against Tamworth tomorrow. Trialists Yoann Folly and Grant Basey are with the Dons party tonight and are likely to be given another chance to impress against Tamworth. Talks are ongoing with Robbie Williams and Lee Hendrie about signing deals. Andrew Considine was on the bench on Wednesday night but was not risked so the central defender could get his first outing this pre-season and his first outing this year after his long term injury. Darren Mackie, Sone Aluko, Peter Pawlett were the other injured players but are all getting closer to playing again. Derek Young is still a week or two away. http://www.afc.co.uk/javaImages/39/18/0,,10284~8919097,00.jpg[/img] http://www.afc.co.uk/javaImages/32/18/0,,10284~8919090,00.jpg[/img] http://www.afc.co.uk/javaImages/36/18/0,,10284~8919094,00.jpg[/img] http://www.afc.co.uk/javaImages/35/18/0,,10284~8919093,00.jpg[/img] http://www.afc.co.uk/javaImages/33/18/0,,10284~8919091,00.jpg[/img] Quote
Kowalski Posted July 23, 2010 Report Posted July 23, 2010 Plenty of options for a caption competition there. Quote
mini59dons Posted July 23, 2010 Report Posted July 23, 2010 Bad news too for Mackie Haters, He's injured nae selt! Quote
Jute Posted July 23, 2010 Report Posted July 23, 2010 Bad news too for Mackie Haters, He's injured nae selt! Would never call Mackie being injured bad news. Quote
Dandy_Don Posted July 23, 2010 Report Posted July 23, 2010 How can we have so many players injured BEFORE the season has even started? Quote
Tyrant Posted July 26, 2010 Report Posted July 26, 2010 Miller looking for a return? No way he'll play regularly at Boro. Quote
glasgowdon Posted July 26, 2010 Report Posted July 26, 2010 Miller looking for a return? No way he'll play regularly at Boro. No chance. I think not playing and earning a lot more money would suit Miller. Quote
manc_don Posted July 26, 2010 Report Posted July 26, 2010 No chance. I think not playing and earning a lot more money would suit Miller. Exactly, he's more chance of being in the Scotland squad too playing for the likes of 'Boro as well. Is the Vale game tomorrow? Quote
glasgowdon Posted July 26, 2010 Report Posted July 26, 2010 Exactly, he's more chance of being in the Scotland squad too playing for the likes of 'Boro as well. Is the Vale game tomorrow? Indeed. Quote
amp Posted July 26, 2010 Report Posted July 26, 2010 I'm confused...so Middlesborough now employ Lee Miller to do stadium/training ground tours? Quote
Tyrant Posted July 26, 2010 Report Posted July 26, 2010 I'm confused...so Middlesborough now employ Lee Miller to do stadium/training ground tours? Well he's nae there to play fitba is he? Quote
manc_don Posted July 27, 2010 Report Posted July 27, 2010 Do they do streams for the friendlies? I haven't looked, and i'm probably being lazy but I don't have RedTV. Quote
SeeBass Posted July 28, 2010 Report Posted July 28, 2010 I got asked by one of the Ladbrokes staff on Monday afternoon what were my team doing walking in and around Berwick-upon-Tweed last week. I replied; "Probably stopping for a toilet break on their way down to England and a three game pre-season tour we have there if it was them at all." Quote
dave_min Posted July 28, 2010 Report Posted July 28, 2010 I got asked by one of the Ladbrokes staff on Monday afternoon what were my team doing walking in and around Berwick-upon-Tweed last week. I replied; "Probably stopping for a toilet break on their way down to England and a three game pre-season tour we have there if it was them at all." What did she say when you said that? Quote
Penfold Posted July 28, 2010 Report Posted July 28, 2010 What did she say when you said that? "Oh, and Paul Hartley WILL NOT BE SIGNING for Aberdeen" Quote
Tyrant Posted July 28, 2010 Report Posted July 28, 2010 "Oh, and Paul Hartley WILL NOT BE SIGNING for Aberdeen" He's right so far isn't he? There's no broom cupboard pic therefore he hasn't signed. Quote
Harcus Posted July 28, 2010 Report Posted July 28, 2010 I got asked by one of the Ladbrokes staff on Monday afternoon what were my team doing walking in and around Berwick-upon-Tweed last week. I replied; "Probably stopping for a toilet break on their way down to England and a three game pre-season tour we have there if it was them at all." Great first post. Quote
SeeBass Posted July 28, 2010 Report Posted July 28, 2010 No word of a lie I thought I saw Stevie Tosh coming out of the cafe situated under Berwick-upon-Tweed Town Hall week before last. Went to say hello but by the time I`d turned round to make my move (after dismissing my sighting) the suspect had a young child in his arms so didn`t think it appropiate to approach the man. Still the mini cardiac arrest one suffered outside Greggs was well worth the idea a hero of mine was so close! Dave in response to your question the guy claimed now that he thought about it might have been the St.Johnstone team who`d played The Wee Gers a few days after the spotting. Quote
tom_widdows Posted July 28, 2010 Report Posted July 28, 2010 make your move? were you planning on saying hello or kidnapping the bloke? Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted July 28, 2010 Report Posted July 28, 2010 No word of a lie I thought I saw Stevie Tosh coming out of the cafe situated under Berwick-upon-Tweed Town Hall week before last. Went to say hello but by the time I`d turned round to make my move (after dismissing my sighting) the suspect had a young child in his arms so didn`t think it appropiate to approach the man. Still the mini cardiac arrest one suffered outside Greggs was well worth the idea a hero of mine was so close! Dave in response to your question the guy claimed now that he thought about it might have been the St.Johnstone team who`d played The Wee Gers a few days after the spotting. Fucking hell Lee, how many sausage rolls did you have? Quote
SeeBass Posted July 28, 2010 Report Posted July 28, 2010 Tom, it was the first thing to come into one`s head my friend that`s all. Quote
SeeBass Posted July 28, 2010 Report Posted July 28, 2010 Bobby, if I`m being honest I actually had one Cheese and Onion Pasty, a Sausage and Bean Melt, one Sausage Roll, a Belgian Cookie and the Chicken Salad Sandwich on Malted Bread! Quote
manc_don Posted July 28, 2010 Report Posted July 28, 2010 Thats enough Greggs to last a lifetime! Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted July 28, 2010 Report Posted July 28, 2010 Bobby, if I`m being honest I actually had one Cheese and Onion Pasty, a Sausage and Bean Melt, one Sausage Roll, a Belgian Cookie and the Chicken Salad Sandwich on Malted Bread! Quote