Kowalski Posted July 4, 2012 Report Posted July 4, 2012 http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18712651 Van Persie not renewing his contract. "Out of my huge respect for Mr. Wenger, the players and the fans I don't want to go into any details, but unfortunately in this meeting it has again become clear to me that we in many aspects disagree on the way Arsenal FC should move forward." Quote
manc_don Posted July 4, 2012 Author Report Posted July 4, 2012 http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/18712651 Van Persie not renewing his contract. One of my gooner mates is pretty angry with their board. What is it 6 seasons without a trophy and they thing one striker is enough to mount a trophy challenge? Their model is to be admired, but they don't seem or Wenger doesn't seem to realise the teams failings. Quote
mizer Posted July 5, 2012 Report Posted July 5, 2012 Riordan is on trial at a few la Liga sides Derek Riordan could be perfect for the glamorous Spanish La Liga, provided he gets fit and re-discovers his hunger for goalscoring. The first time I read that Riordan will have a trial at a La Liga club I felt shocked, but after thinking about it more calmly I thought that it could probably be the perfect place for a footballer like Riordan. He is not the classic Scottish striker - big and strong in attacking long balls. He can link up properly with his strike partners. The most important thing for Riordan is to have a strong character - sometimes his is too strong. Character will be essential to help his club reach its goals, which will surely be to avoid relegation. There are some clubs that might want Riordan in their squad, all smaller clubs who needs a known forward with little money. Teams like the newly-promoted Real Valladolid, Real Zaragoza or Rayo Vallecano, a smaller club in the outskirts of Madrid where Riordan might be an idol for his rebellious attitude, and Levante could be his destination. Of course, to win an opportunity in La Liga, Riordan will need to improve his fitness, probably lost after his last year between China and the few weeks at St Johnstone. He should know that this is his last great opportunity in a European top flight team and if he takes it he could have a good contract after some bad years. Quote
Madbadteacher Posted July 5, 2012 Report Posted July 5, 2012 Riordan is on trial Saw that and immediately I thought "....in the High Court...." Quote
glasgow sheep Posted July 13, 2012 Report Posted July 13, 2012 Garry O'Connor has signed a two-year deal with Russian side FC Tom Tomsk after passing a medical Quote
Madbadteacher Posted July 16, 2012 Report Posted July 16, 2012 Watch out for dodgy car insurance scams in Russia! Quote
Jute Posted July 16, 2012 Report Posted July 16, 2012 Kenny Misser signs for MLS side Vancouver Whitecaps. Quote
bloo_toon_red Posted July 16, 2012 Report Posted July 16, 2012 Kenny Misser signs for MLS side Vancouver Whitecaps. Death knell for his Scotland career, hopefully. Quote
Jute Posted July 16, 2012 Report Posted July 16, 2012 Death knell for his Scotland career, hopefully. You would have thoughts so with any right minded sensible manager in charge... Quote
Madbadteacher Posted July 16, 2012 Report Posted July 16, 2012 So, that'll be a guarantee of another 50 caps? Canna wait til he recalls Sally when he has to register himself as a div 3 player due to lack of a squad! Quote
Tyrant Posted July 17, 2012 Report Posted July 17, 2012 Was Kenny nae doing well at Cardiff? Why the fuck would he want to leave them for the MLS? Quote
glasgow sheep Posted July 17, 2012 Report Posted July 17, 2012 Was Kenny nae doing well at Cardiff? Why the fuck would he want to leave them for the MLS? Quote
manc_don Posted July 17, 2012 Author Report Posted July 17, 2012 I'm surprised (despite the $ enticement) that he went. He was genuinely thought of as a hero down there, but maybe that changed after he missed that penalty last season. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted July 17, 2012 Report Posted July 17, 2012 Think he scored 3 goals in 20 odd games. Mutual "won't miss each other" decision. Quote
tlg1903 Posted July 17, 2012 Report Posted July 17, 2012 Think he scored 3 goals in 20 odd games. Mutual "won't miss each other" decision. Aye he went on a really shit run after the liverpool game Quote
maverick sheep Posted July 17, 2012 Report Posted July 17, 2012 Aye he went on a really shit run after the liverpool Lithuania game about 5 years ago Quote
manc_don Posted July 17, 2012 Author Report Posted July 17, 2012 Paris St Germain have confirmed the signing of AC Milan's Sweden striker Zlatan Ibrahimovic. Sporting director Leonardo said: "Yes, I confirm that we have reached an agreement with Ibrahimovic. The player will undergo the medical check-ups tomorrow." ? I'm sure I read something about him being the 2nd highest paid footballer? Quote
dave_min Posted July 17, 2012 Report Posted July 17, 2012 I'm sure I read something about him being the 2nd highest paid footballer? Seems fair enough. Last season was the first time in 10 seasons he didn't win the league. Quote
tlg1903 Posted July 17, 2012 Report Posted July 17, 2012 Seems fair enough. Last season was the first time in 10 seasons he didn't win the league. Most complete player in the world imo, nothing he cant do with a football. Quote
Kowalski Posted July 17, 2012 Report Posted July 17, 2012 Most complete player in the world imo, nothing he cant do with a football. Except when he's got a Barca shirt on. Quote
mizer Posted August 1, 2012 Report Posted August 1, 2012 Craig Gordon linked to Udinese by the Italian media Quote