Saturday 21st September 2024 - kick-off 5.30pm

🏆 Scottish League Cup: Aberdeen v The Spartans

Films

manc_don

TLG - is there not quite a lot of nit picking in your post? Spoiler -  To worry about where he got patched up is a bit pedantic? And the villans grudge against M wasn't really that the cyinide would not work but more that she gave him up to the Chinese.

I was also really dissapointed that the Spectre/Quantom organisation wasn't in the film though. I was really hoping the Ralph Feins was going to be Blofed

TLG - is there not quite a lot of nit picking in your post? Spoiler -  To worry about where he got patched up is a bit pedantic? And the villans grudge against M wasn't really that the cyinide would not work but more that she gave him up to the Chinese.

I was also really dissapointed that the Spectre/Quantom organisation wasn't in the film though. I was really hoping the Ralph Feins was going to be Blofed

Its not pedantic at all, hero takes two bullets then all of a sudden he is fine and in a bar and how this has happened is not even addressed, lazy film making in my eyes.  The cyanide thing was big motivation, he kept going on about how his insides had been burnt out (yet he seemed pretty healthy and mobile i might add).  I just found the whole villain back story pretty unimpressive and incredibly self serving.  I think it has only been done to get rid of Dench and return bond to its roots   

Wasn't the bad guy's problem that M had given him over to the Chinese as he had gone beyond what he was meant to have done in Hong Kong? The Cyanide thing was just a bit of a side-plot?

I stay in Wellington, NZ, but there's an Aberdeen woman in my (fairly small, about 10-strong) team of workmates who gave me this film to watch...

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1289420/

It's a pile of pish, relying on the fact that it's in Doric to hold any humour at all, but John Hewitt has a 5-second cameo as a juror near the end.

Anyway, Don't bother watching it. It's shite.

If you want to see John Hewitt, watch this instead.

I went to see Bond last night (as promised) and I'm leaning more towards tlg's side tbh be honest. I enjoyed it in the end but I thought the start especially was so weak. To the white text..

First of all when Bond hops into the digger and spins the thing around why does he think the windscreen will protect him? Surely it was always a dead cert that he'd take at least 1 bullet? The villain is firing at him the whole time and he takes a shit to the right shoulder area. He's still mobile enough to jump out and battle on with this guy for 10 more minutes. Then Moneypenny takes him oot with a huge fuck off big rifle and he falls hunners of feet into water. Then he falls down water falls etc yet has no injuries besides the initial gunshot wound to the shoulder? He was blown away by a rifle apparently in the abdomen yet has no visible scar of this. Sorry if I sound pedantic but this stuff seems absolutely glaringly obvious to me. I also don't understand why there was conveniently an escape tunnel at the castle. If that was explained I missed it. 

Went to see Bond last night:

That's 3 films Daniel Craig has been in now and 3 films that seem to have been setting the scene.  Wish they'd just get on with it.

Gone are the cheesy one liners, "We don't do exploding pens", they've explained why Bond doesn't fall for these women, where he grew up, how he got into MI6, Miss Moneypenny, M, Q........ blah, blah, blah.  None of which I really care about, even less so that Bond isn't sure of himself, thinks he's passed it and all that shite.  They could have covered all that guff in the first film.  I just want to see him killing baddies with frisbee bowler hats and well, exploding pens.

It's always good to go and see Bond on the big screen.  I don't go to them expecting to see Oscar-nominated performances, it's just a bit of gaudy entertainment.

I think the reason that Casino Royale was such a good film in comparison to say the previous three (Goldeneye was a good film and the two Dalton ones were pretty good too in my opinion - The Living Daylights was the last of the classic formula Bond films), was that the screenplay stayed quite true to the book.  You could re-make every film as far back as Thunderball and get a completely different film if the screenplay followed the book, with the possible exception of OHMSS which is pretty close but includes parts of the plot of You Only Live Twice.  Licence to Kill was actually closer to the book version of Live and Let Die (and The Hildebrand Rarity) than the film itself was.

I'm intrigued as to what Fleming strand if any Skyfall follows.  With the exception of all of the Brosnan films, every film to date has taken at least something from the books.

Dont recall that many if any gadgets in Goldeneye?

Certainly not enough to rival Goldfinger, Moonraker etc

It wasn't just about the gadgets though, there were the 'cool' espionage 'tricks' like sticking a hair across a door to see if it had been opened, writing secret messages on mirrors that would be revealed when the hot tap was turned on, or killing a snake with a cigar and deoderant spray that made Bond a cut above the rest.

Without that shiznit he's just John MacLean in a suit, minus the banter.

As someone else said earlier; 'it's trying too hard to be other films'.

IMHO opinion the worst Bond films were the Roger Moore ones because there was too much focus on gadgets, stupid jokes, safari suits and glamorous locations, and less about good story telling and proper action.

The early Connery films and the Daniel Craig films are where its at for me, all much closer to Fleming's original view of Bond.

"it's trying too hard to be other films" - yes, they're trying to take Bond back to the days of Dr No and From Russia With Love.

Saw Skyfall last night, thought it was ok but they missed an absolute sitter with the ending.  I thought of a much cooler ending that included M saying 'Take the shot', which would have been relevant, exciting, and a lot fucking cooler than having her bleed to death on the fucking carpet.

PS don't read this post if you don't want to know that M dies at the end.  ;D