Tyrant Posted January 20, 2012 Report Posted January 20, 2012 Saw that new MI film. A bit silly but it entertained me fore a couple of hours. Could hardly watch those sKy scraper scenes though! Jesus. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted January 22, 2012 Report Posted January 22, 2012 Saw Warhorse the other day, wee bit shite but not really my type of thing, wummins movie I thought, sentimental and a bit too sugary sweet. Quote
Tyrant Posted January 24, 2012 Report Posted January 24, 2012 I heard Warhorse being described as Spielberg's "finest hour". Really? I saw Sitter on Friday night. Silly but fun. I enjoyed it. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted January 24, 2012 Report Posted January 24, 2012 I heard Warhorse being described as Spielberg's "finest hour". Really? No, not really. Quote
manc_don Posted January 24, 2012 Author Report Posted January 24, 2012 This years Oscar nominations are out. Nice to see Gary Oldman up for Tinker Tailor. One of my favourite actors I'd say. Full list on BBC: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/entertainment-arts-16700124 Quote
manc_don Posted January 27, 2012 Author Report Posted January 27, 2012 Watched Ides of March yesterday, not a bad film at all. Would recommend it Quote
glasgowdon Posted January 28, 2012 Report Posted January 28, 2012 Watched Donnie Brasco. It was bad. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted January 29, 2012 Report Posted January 29, 2012 The book is much better mate. Quote
glasgowdon Posted January 29, 2012 Report Posted January 29, 2012 The book is much better mate. Cool, didn't know it was ever a book. Just stumbled across it on Lovefilm. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted January 29, 2012 Report Posted January 29, 2012 Aye, the movie is based on a true story. There's 2 books, the follow up is "Unfinished Business", pretty good too. Quote
Goldie03 Posted February 4, 2012 Report Posted February 4, 2012 In January I saw Hugo, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, The Iron Lady, Chipwrecked, Shame, a french film about a wee girl who wanted to be a boy and Inside Hana's Suitcase which co-incided with Holocaust Memorial Day - pretty much liked all of them Going to see Warhorse and The Artist next week I love going to the cinema Quote
manc_don Posted February 4, 2012 Author Report Posted February 4, 2012 Watched gammorah the other week and it was dark as fuck. If you like your gangster films, get it downloaded! Quote
manc_don Posted February 4, 2012 Author Report Posted February 4, 2012 Scrawny fuckin minkers them Neopolitans. I hoped it would be more like the book though - with the political murders and what not. Worth a read then? Quote
Tyrant Posted February 4, 2012 Report Posted February 4, 2012 Saw The Grey last night. I've seen worse films. Couldn't help but laugh at the final scene though and that's definitely not what the film makers were aiming for. Quote
Superstar Tradesman Posted February 4, 2012 Report Posted February 4, 2012 Likewise, I saw 'Man on a Ledge' a couple days back and laughed my cock off at the last 20 minutes or so. Wasn't expecting much to be honest and it certainly wasn't my choice, but it was made bearable by the Latino bit of fluff rockin about in lace and lycra half the time. http://m.imdb.com/name/nm1270009/ Quote
Mentorred Posted February 15, 2012 Report Posted February 15, 2012 Saw Safe House last night, was a good action movie, Don't think it is out in the UK yet. Quote
Tyrant Posted February 16, 2012 Report Posted February 16, 2012 Saw Safe House last night, was a good action movie, Don't think it is out in the UK yet. Rub that in my face why don't you! Quote
Kowalski Posted February 17, 2012 Report Posted February 17, 2012 Quite enjoyed The Guard, decent black comedy with Brendan Gleeson. Quote
dave_min Posted February 17, 2012 Report Posted February 17, 2012 Quite enjoyed The Guard, decent black comedy with Brendan Gleeson. Bit racist there son. Quote
rocket_scientist Posted February 17, 2012 Report Posted February 17, 2012 Caught the last part of a GREAT film last night. Seen it at least twice before and it's very rare for me to watch a film more than once. Told my mate about it in the pub tonight and he's never heard of it. It's based on the Arthur Miller play which was on some schools English curriculum but not mine and patently not his. Dustin Hoffman at his finest. 1985. Death of a Salesman. Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted February 17, 2012 Report Posted February 17, 2012 Caught the last part of a GREAT film last night. Seen it at least twice before and it's very rare for me to watch a film more than once. Told my mate about it in the pub tonight and he's never heard of it. It's based on the Arthur Miller play which was on some schools English curriculum but not mine and patently not his. Dustin Hoffman at his finest. 1985. Death of a Salesman. I'm not a big film buff, but that is a great film. Been an extremely long time since I last saw it, I should look into it seeing it again soon. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted February 18, 2012 Report Posted February 18, 2012 Caught the last part of a GREAT film last night. Seen it at least twice before and it's very rare for me to watch a film more than once. Told my mate about it in the pub tonight and he's never heard of it. It's based on the Arthur Miller play which was on some schools English curriculum but not mine and patently not his. Dustin Hoffman at his finest. 1985. Death of a Salesman. This. Quote
Madbadteacher Posted February 18, 2012 Report Posted February 18, 2012 Caught the last part of a GREAT film last night. Seen it at least twice before and it's very rare for me to watch a film more than once. Told my mate about it in the pub tonight and he's never heard of it. It's based on the Arthur Miller play which was on some schools English curriculum but not mine and patently not his. Dustin Hoffman at his finest. 1985. Death of a Salesman. Agree 100% Although I'll wager it's like a lot of the English curriculum suggested texts, "having" to study a book tends to ruin it. For example I really used to hate 1984, but once I read it myself out of choice I found it to be an excellent book. Still canna stand Shakespeare though! Quote
Kowalski Posted February 18, 2012 Report Posted February 18, 2012 Tyrannosaur was quite something, amazing performances especially from Olivia Colman. Quote
tlg1903 Posted February 18, 2012 Report Posted February 18, 2012 Interested by thedeath of a salesman review. Well give it a watch and let you know what I think Quote