s1dnk Posted December 29, 2010 Report Posted December 29, 2010 Anybody seen Unstoppable yet? Have it with me offshore so may watch when there's no fitba on TV. Also have The American, heard it's crap, anybody else got an opinion on it? Quote
Roberto Posted December 29, 2010 Report Posted December 29, 2010 Inception head fucked the shit out of me! Quote
Cowie Posted December 31, 2010 Report Posted December 31, 2010 Anybody seen Unstoppable yet? Fairly bog standard runaway train film... not great, but not shite. Quote
glasgow sheep Posted December 31, 2010 Report Posted December 31, 2010 Inception was watched last night. I would give it an 8/10. Just finishing watching it. Excellent film I'd say Quote
approx.purified Posted January 1, 2011 Report Posted January 1, 2011 Looking forward to Battle: Los Angeles. Quote
granite sheep Posted January 3, 2011 Report Posted January 3, 2011 Classic James Bond action on ITV2 just now, Goldeneye, wi Casino Royale on right after Quote
14Fosters Posted January 3, 2011 Report Posted January 3, 2011 Finally got round to watching Gangs of New York which I sky plussed in December 2009. Decent enough film, the last 25 minutes was both unexpected and quite harrowing. Seemed a bit on the long side though... Quote
tom_widdows Posted January 3, 2011 Report Posted January 3, 2011 Classic James Bond action on ITV2 just now, Goldeneye, wi Casino Royale on right after Cant say I could class any Brosnan bond efforts as classics Better than Dalton but way behind Moore and Connery Quote
El Padre™ Posted January 3, 2011 Report Posted January 3, 2011 Cant say I could class any Brosnan bond efforts as classics Better than Dalton but way behind Moore and Connery Brosnan was far far better than Moore. Roger Moore = "Carry on James Bond" Quote
tom_widdows Posted January 3, 2011 Report Posted January 3, 2011 Brosnan was far far better than Moore. Roger Moore = "Carry on James Bond" I say Bond is either meant to be a 'carry on' or a real thug. Brosnan wasnt either Quote
El Padre™ Posted January 3, 2011 Report Posted January 3, 2011 Bond is shite. Pretty predictable response FJ. You think there's not one single good Bond film? Quote
Kowalski Posted January 4, 2011 Report Posted January 4, 2011 Brosnan was far far better than Moore. Roger Moore = "Carry on James Bond" Connery > Craig > Brosnan > Moore > Dalton > Lazenby Quote
glasgowdon Posted January 4, 2011 Report Posted January 4, 2011 Pretty predictable response FJ. You think there's not one single good Bond film? My thoughts exactly. Connery > Craig > Brosnan > Moore > Dalton > Lazenby Pretty much how I see it too. Watched The Godfather and Part II over the last couple of nights and I am quite unimpressed so far. Decent enough but not worth the wankfest everyone seems to have over them. Not even sure I'll bother watching Part III. Quote
Cowie Posted January 4, 2011 Report Posted January 4, 2011 Just saw the 'The Next Three Days' - saw it with no expectations & was pleasantly surprised. Good film. http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1458175/ http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fn1DsJZXKqY http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fn1DsJZXKqY Quote
14Fosters Posted January 4, 2011 Report Posted January 4, 2011 Watched The Godfather and Part II over the last couple of nights and I am quite unimpressed so far. Decent enough but not worth the wankfest everyone seems to have over them. Not even sure I'll bother watching Part III. Though you will undoubtedly now watch part III and call it a masterpiece... Quote
glasgowdon Posted January 4, 2011 Report Posted January 4, 2011 Though you will undoubtedly now watch part III and call it a masterpiece... Yea, the DVD is sitting there so will watch it. It will need to be a masterpiece to drag the trilogy up from average. Quote
14Fosters Posted January 4, 2011 Report Posted January 4, 2011 Yea, the DVD is sitting there so will watch it. It will need to be a masterpiece to drag the trilogy up from average. Are you actually a fan of this genre of film? If you are and you are classing it as average, I really don't understand it. The story is compelling, the acting top notch, the soundtrack and so on. I can not think of many films that match it for character development either. Quote
glasgowdon Posted January 4, 2011 Report Posted January 4, 2011 Are you actually a fan of this genre of film? If you are and you are classing it as average, I really don't understand it. The story is compelling, the acting top notch, the soundtrack and so on. I can not think of many films that match it for character development either. Not overly fussed about this genre of film but shouldn't need to be given their widespread acclaim. I'm sure not everyone that thinks they're classic/great is a fan of mob films. I'm not really finding it that compelling though. I thought the endings of the first two were too similar with everyone getting killed or dying. Quote
14Fosters Posted January 4, 2011 Report Posted January 4, 2011 Not overly fussed about this genre of film but shouldn't need to be given their widespread acclaim. I'm sure not everyone that thinks they're classic/great is a fan of mob films. I'm not really finding it that compelling though. I thought the endings of the first two were too similar with everyone getting killed or dying. Of course you have to have an interest in a genre even if it has widespread acclaim... I have no interest in space type sci-fi stuff, so I have not enjoyed any attempt I have made to watch any of the Star Wars films. They are all classics though. Same with the Lord of the Rings, magic/fantasy and the likes do nothing for me, so I found them overly long and boring. If you don't like the genre, then you may just about appreciate some of it, but you are never going to truly enjoy it. I am not having a go at your opinion though, just seems that when you go on about wankfests over it and the likes, it almost seems like you didn't really want to enjoy it... Quote
glasgowdon Posted January 4, 2011 Report Posted January 4, 2011 Of course you have to have an interest in a genre even if it has widespread acclaim... I have no interest in space type sci-fi stuff, so I have not enjoyed any attempt I have made to watch any of the Star Wars films. They are all classics though. Same with the Lord of the Rings, magic/fantasy and the likes do nothing for me, so I found them overly long and boring. If you don't like the genre, then you may just about appreciate some of it, but you are never going to truly enjoy it. I am not having a go at your opinion though, just seems that when you go on about wankfests over it and the likes, it almost seems like you didn't really want to enjoy it... If a film is that good then I don't think genre should matter really. Maybe? I enjoy some Sci-Fi films but wouldn't say it's a genre I'm overly interested in. I did want to watch it and kept a very open mind. It's just that when you mention to people you haven't seen it, they all seem to go into a ZOMG!! fit which hopefully goes a wee bit to explain my wankfest comment. Fair play if you enjoy it, I just expected more from it because of the way it was built up. Quote
Madbadteacher Posted January 4, 2011 Report Posted January 4, 2011 I'm not a fan of Vietnam war films, but Apocalypse Now is one of my favourite films regardless of that. Quote
glasgowdon Posted January 4, 2011 Report Posted January 4, 2011 I'm not a fan of Vietnam war films, but Apocalypse Now is one of my favourite films regardless of that. Yea I enjoyed that one. Full Metal Jacket was great too. Quote