tom_widdows Posted July 22, 2018 Report Posted July 22, 2018 Hotel Artemis Enjoyable and also short (only 94mins). https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S4ExcW_ia0Q Quote
manc_don Posted August 31, 2018 Author Report Posted August 31, 2018 American animals, enjoyable watch. Had nothing else to do last night and a decent way to wile away the time Quote
manc_don Posted September 15, 2018 Author Report Posted September 15, 2018 Black Panther - really good film and perfect action film for a Friday night. Although some of the accents (forrest whittaker in particular) were pretty suspect. Quote
KennyFuckinPowers Posted September 20, 2018 Report Posted September 20, 2018 New Predator movie, fucking sucks and that's being generous. Genuinely a cross between a comedy & really poorly executed B movie. First time I've ever felt robbed leaving a Cinema ( in the film sense, not the cost of the Cinema ) I'd be very surprised if anyone else sees this and has a different opinion. Honestly, it's enormously horrific. Quote
tom_widdows Posted October 13, 2018 Report Posted October 13, 2018 Bad times at the El Royale Great Stuff (doesnt seem to be getting alot of media coverage for some reason) Quote
manc_don Posted October 16, 2018 Author Report Posted October 16, 2018 Cardboard Gangsters, an irish film, amusing and decent watch Quote
KennyFuckinPowers Posted October 20, 2018 Report Posted October 20, 2018 New Halloween movie, as a massive fan of the majority of the Halloween movies, I am perhaps being biased in giving it a 6-7 out of 10. They got a lot right, but also left a lot to be desired. More gory than we're used too, that's for certain, but not even remotely scary and some of the acting was poor. Worth a watch though for definite. Quote
Tyrant Posted October 26, 2018 Report Posted October 26, 2018 I saw Bohemian Rhapsody last night. Thought it was brilliant. Whilst I've only ever been a casual admirer of the Queen stuff over the years I absolutely recognise the brilliance of Freddie Mercury and the miss that he is having died some 27 years ago. Rami Malek who played Mercury was excellent. Quote
Elgindon Posted November 4, 2018 Report Posted November 4, 2018 Yes,echo what Tyrant says about Bohemian Rhapsody.We go to the Vue for films because its usually half empty,but Ive never seen it so busy(with fellow silvering haired rockers mostly) Malek might not be the most visually similar to Freddie,but he plays the part very well.The other guys were very good too.Great film. Wasnt a huge Queen fan at the time,but I dont think many bands will repeat their level of song quality,or showmanship. Quote
manc_don Posted November 12, 2018 Author Report Posted November 12, 2018 The outlaw King on netflix. Enjoyable watch Quote
rocket_scientist Posted November 24, 2018 Report Posted November 24, 2018 Me and youngest daughter just watched Bruno. Can't believe I hadn't got round to it before. Best literal laffin out loud film ever, or at least since I was 12 when I seen Monty Python in the cinema. Sacha B C is a total genius. Quote
KennyFuckinPowers Posted November 24, 2018 Report Posted November 24, 2018 Me and youngest daughter just watched Bruno. Can't believe I hadn't got round to it before. Best literal laffin out loud film ever, or at least since I was 12 when I seen Monty Python in the cinema. Sacha B C is a total genius. Aye, I think he's hilarious. I liked Bruno, but preferred Borat, if you've not seen that, it's worth a watch. Quote
rocket_scientist Posted November 24, 2018 Report Posted November 24, 2018 I seen Borat when it came oot. Mildly amusing. Bruno had me pishing my punts. Quote
manc_don Posted November 24, 2018 Author Report Posted November 24, 2018 Aye, I think he's hilarious. I liked Bruno, but preferred Borat, if you've not seen that, it's worth a watch. I was the same, thought Borat was the funnier of the two. Watched Blackkklansman last night. Brilliant film, although thoroughly depressing that fuck all has changed in the US (really), which I know is the point of the film. Still, definitely worth a watch. Quote
tlg1903 Posted November 25, 2018 Report Posted November 25, 2018 I seen Borat when it came oot. Mildly amusing. Bruno had me pishing my punts. The wrestling match at the end is proper "ooft" stuff, Bruno is very under rated imo. Quote
rocket_scientist Posted November 25, 2018 Report Posted November 25, 2018 Blackkklansman and Sacha are all about intolerance. The skill with which SBC exposes the stupidity of Americans is courageous, although the yanks aren't his only target. Spike Lee's Jungle Fever is one of the greatest films in history. A must see for anyone who hasn't. Quote
manc_don Posted November 26, 2018 Author Report Posted November 26, 2018 Been meaning to watch Jungle Fever for some time but keep forgetting about it. Will try get that watched soon, Rocket! Quote
Goldie03 Posted November 26, 2018 Report Posted November 26, 2018 I loved Bohemian Rhapsody A Star is Born not so much tho Gaga was great Nae Pasaran is my favourite film of the year so far - catch it if you can - true story of scottish workers who refused to repair the engines from the Chilean air force after Pinochet's coup - it really is a cracking wee film and true testimony to solidarity Quote
KennyFuckinPowers Posted November 26, 2018 Report Posted November 26, 2018 Mile 22, really disliked it, thought it was very poor to be honest. Ballad Of Buster Scruggs ( the Coen Brothers did this ) was pretty enjoyable as you'd expect. Quote
manc_don Posted December 1, 2018 Author Report Posted December 1, 2018 State of Play, nearly 10 years old now and hadn't seen it in sometime but appeared on our netflix. As good as I remembered it. Not always a Russell Crowe fan but he was great in this. Quote
KennyFuckinPowers Posted December 4, 2018 Report Posted December 4, 2018 Cold In July, caught in on BBC iPlayer, thought it was fucking tremendous, well worth a watch. Quote
manc_don Posted December 9, 2018 Author Report Posted December 9, 2018 I loved Bohemian Rhapsody Watched this last night. Superb film. A lot I wasn't aware of Quote
Tyrant Posted December 10, 2018 Report Posted December 10, 2018 Watched this last night. Superb film. A lot I wasn't aware of Like if you're sexually attracted to someone you don't know you can just grab their arse, be genuinely shocked that they didn't appreciate it but then 30 seconds later live happily ever after? Nae sure it quite tells the whole story but what movie adaptation does? Still found it a thoroughly enjoyable movie and thought it was superbly acted by all involved. Quote
manc_don Posted February 3, 2019 Author Report Posted February 3, 2019 Saw Vice and First Man recently. Both really enjoyable watch's and would recommend them. Some seriously good acting. Quote
baggy89 Posted February 11, 2019 Report Posted February 11, 2019 If Beale street could talk. Was OK could have been much more, in the end a little disappointing. Green Book. Fucking fantastic. Funny, challenging (if a little easy, ) heart warming, great actors bouncing off each other, best film I’ve seen in a good while well worth it. Go and see it. Quote