Aberdeen_Ladette Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 Tough shit. That's my situation. Either £180 or nothing. Simple as that. So you wouldn't go to Pittodrie at all if you couldn't go fraudulently as a student?! Quote
Aberdeen_Ladette Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 Speaking for myself, I would go far less often. As far as unused ST's are concerned, would you prefer an ST went unused than someone else taking the seat? Similarly fraudulent. Speaking for yourself, are you implying you get a Student ST? And yes, I would prefer a ST went unused. Quote
Aberdeen_Ladette Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 How is it moving the goalposts? Do the terms of a student ticket say 'you can use this if yer not a student because we definetly wont bother checking if you are or not'? Is it possible to obtain a refund for a purchase you obtained dishonestly? +1 Quote
Aberdeen_Ladette Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 I'd say there will be more people taking them back than paying full price. Moving the goal posts from AFC a bit here, interesting to see how this turns out. Taking them back?! Moving the goal posts? ... Errr nae goalposts moved, you were either entitled to buy a Student ST or you weren't! Taking them back.... be interested to hear how anyone gets on wi that one! Quote
Aberdeen_Ladette Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 I made the point elsewhere that I believe the club will lose money over this. Aye they're within their rights to ask for student ID but a lot of folk simply can't pay full price and although they've conveniently waited until after the vast majority had purchased theirs I can see their sales taking a hit next season if folk know they won't get away with buying a student ticket. And I bet it's a fair few times £180! As I said I think AFC have shot themselves in the foot a bit. If all the fans were as honest and as up-standing as on here it wouldn't be a problem right enough. On here, excluding a few Tyrant! I'm happy to be referred to as honest and up-standing, in reference to not fraudulently taking money from Aberdeen FC. Due to a change in my circumstances; i.e. I no longer work weekends, so lose several hunderd pounds a month in shift allowance,and I no longer qualify for a 10 game package. I have same ID card so could apply for 10 game ST. Like alot of you and others I know a student who doesn't like football. I really can't understand why some people think it's okay to basically steal money from the club they claim to love?! Quote
Aberdeen_Ladette Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 How many folk will now buy an adult ticket instead of "getting away" with a student one? £120 up for each that now pays what they should. The price is high but what makes you think you should get it cheaper than anybody else? Just because someone paid what they were supposed to pay doesn't mean they are swimming in money. You knew it was a risk getting a concession one when you arent eligable for one and it hasn't paid off. +1 Quote
Aberdeen_Ladette Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 It must be gratifying for the club that we have such upright and honest cunts in the support. I certainly feel much more secure about the clubs financial future knowing they're there. Quote
Aberdeen_Ladette Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 And it's not really worth having a moral crusade about either. If I can get away with paying less than I should for something, even if I'm more than able to pay the full price, then I'm going to do it whether it be football tickets, train fares, prostitutes or whatever. Obviously, that doesn't include any criminal behaviour, but I can live with a bit of mild dishonesty Imo, buying a Student ST (when you not a student) is fraud and therefore criminal behaviour. Quote
glasgowdon Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 Taking them back?! Moving the goal posts? ... Errr nae goalposts moved, you were either entitled to buy a Student ST or you weren't! Taking them back.... be interested to hear how anyone gets on wi that one! Well someone must have used a student card to collect it in the first place - the same person and take it back and get the money back. Had the club had these measures in place at the time of sales starting, they know fine well they would have sold less. Therefore it is moving the goal posts. Also, learn to multiquote. Villain. Quote
maverick sheep Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 The thing about an unused season ticket is a red herring. You buy a season ticket and it means you've bought a seat for the season, just like someone shelling out for a box for the season, it is yours, if you don't use it a particular week then you're entitled to let other people use it on your behalf. That's not the same as paying student prices when you're not a student, but I think the club probably make more than they lose through people using the 'Tyrant Money Saver Policy'. Personally, I'll probably pay full whack for home games, scam student tickets for whatever away games I can and happily make use of any unused season ticket But I would definately go to more games than I do if full prices weren't so high. Quote
Aberdeen_Ladette Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 Well someone must have used a student card to collect it in the first place - the same person and take it back and get the money back. Had the club had these measures in place at the time of sales starting, they know fine well they would have sold less. Therefore it is moving the goal posts. Also, learn to multiquote. Villain. Read elsewhere that AFC didn't check that all those applying for Student ST's were being honest. Didn't realise that ST's could be taken back for a refund.... In the ticket office.. "Errrr, can I get ma money back as I fraudulently said I was a student, but I'm not?!" WTF?! Pmsl at had the club had these measures in place..... moving goalposts! ... The club DID NOT move the goalposts... you are either legally entitled to a student ticket or not! Dry your eyes. I'm nae the villain. Quote
glasgowdon Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 Read elsewhere that AFC didn't check that all those applying for Student ST's were being honest. Didn't realise that ST's could be taken back for a refund.... In the ticket office.. "Errrr, can I get ma money back as I fraudulently said I was a student, but I'm not?!" WTF?! Pmsl at had the club had these measures in place..... moving goalposts! ... The club DID NOT move the goalposts... you are either legally entitled to a student ticket or not! Dry your eyes. I'm nae the villain. No need to dry my eyes, i'm still a student for another year - it makes no difference to me. When I had my student season ticket, I had to show it when I was collecting it. Read what I posted - the person who has their name on the student card can get a refund as it has their name on the ticket. So they are a student, can get their refund and give the person they were buying it for their money back. Easy. Therefore your wee "comical" ticket office scenario is invalid. Fitting. The club waited until they had people's money before they did this. Coincidence? Doubt it. Quote
Aberdeen_Ladette Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 No need to dry my eyes, i'm still a student for another year - it makes no difference to me. When I had my student season ticket, I had to show it when I was collecting it. Read what I posted - the person who has their name on the student card can get a refund as it has their name on the ticket. So they are a student, can get their refund and give the person they were buying it for their money back. Easy. Therefore your wee "comical" ticket office scenario is invalid. Fitting. The club waited until they had people's money before they did this. Coincidence? Doubt it. Read what I posted too ... "Didn't realise that ST's could be taken back for a refund" You then state " The club waited until they had people's money before they did this. Coincidence? Doubt it." Don't see the relevance of this "coincidence" , as if all students legally bought ST then be nae problems! Quote
glasgowdon Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 Read what I posted too ... "Didn't realise that ST's could be taken back for a refund" You then state " The club waited until they had people's money before they did this. Coincidence? Doubt it." Don't see the relevance of this "coincidence" , as if all students legally bought ST then be nae problems! The relevance of the coincidence is the club knew they would have less sales had this contingency been public knowledge when sales first started. Easy enough to get a student card anyway so it's not that much of a problem for people still wanting to save money. Quote
Aberdeen_Ladette Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 The relevance of the coincidence is the club knew they would have less sales had this contingency been public knowledge when sales first started. Easy enough to get a student card anyway so it's not that much of a problem for people still wanting to save money. It's possible too that the club just read the braggers on here saying got student ST when not entitled too, and encouraging others to seek out students they knew who didn't like football At the end of the day whether the club knew they had alot of fraudsters before or after selling student tickets, those buying them were in the wrong not AFC. Wouldn't know re how easy or not to get student card, but as you say I'm sure it wouldn't be a problem for those in the know. Still think you missed part of my original point: that I suspect those doing the club out of money will be moaning that we couldn't sign Hendrie/Williams etc Quote
manc_don Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 I always got the impression that we never missed out on Hendrie, it was going to be Hartley or Hendrie, we got one and Williams, he had the offer and didn't accept it. Anyway, yes its wrong, but people do it and the club have still received money for it. I guess they had to become more stringent eventually, but whether they will benefit financially because of their decision will remain to be seen. I will always try and get money off at other grounds, not only because my student card says i'm still a student, but because I resent having to give them money and not AFC. Quote
glasgowdon Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 It's possible too that the club just read the braggers on here saying got student ST when not entitled too, and encouraging others to seek out students they knew who didn't like football At the end of the day whether the club knew they had alot of fraudsters before or after selling student tickets, those buying them were in the wrong not AFC. Wouldn't know re how easy or not to get student card, but as you say I'm sure it wouldn't be a problem for those in the know. Still think you missed part of my original point: that I suspect those doing the club out of money will be moaning that we couldn't sign Hendrie/Williams etc I do understand your point and agree to an extent. However, I don't think it's a decision the club should have made once people had handed over money, rightly or wrongly. Example, if I had a student card that expired next month but I'd already bought an ST, would I get made to look like a prick at the gates on match day? Quote
dave_min Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 Example, if I had a student card that expired next month but I'd already bought an ST, would I get made to look like a prick at the gates on match day? Im sure it used to always be the case that you had to be a student on the opening day of the season, which my student card seems to thing I was even though i'd already graduated by then. Which would mean that I could buy one, but then be turned away on matchday which is an interesting combination? Quote
glasgowdon Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 Im sure it used to always be the case that you had to be a student on the opening day of the season, which my student card seems to thing I was even though i'd already graduated by then. Which would mean that I could buy one, but then be turned away on matchday which is an interesting combination? That was my understanding too. Be interesting to see how that works out at the gates this weekend. Quote
maverick sheep Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 Im sure it used to always be the case that you had to be a student on the opening day of the season, which my student card seems to thing I was even though i'd already graduated by then. Which would mean that I could buy one, but then be turned away on matchday which is an interesting combination? I think that must be how they do it because the date of purchase is all that matters surely? turning up to the games after you legitimately bought the ticket aren't strictly a financial transaction, so they don't really have the right to say money they took upfront is made invalid by any change in circumstances. Quote
Ptayles Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 Thats the thing my student card runs out on the 30th Quote
Penfold Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 The relevance of the coincidence is the club knew they would have less sales had this contingency been public knowledge when sales first started. Easy enough to get a student card anyway so it's not that much of a problem for people still wanting to save money. I think it's more likely that the club saw people on here admitting they were doing this, so put measures in place for them to be able to police it better. They have always said they would do these checks at the turnstiles, that is why there are stewards standing just inside the turnstiles and have been ever since the electronic turnstiles came in. Obviously that system wasnt working and the club have decided to make a change. IMO there can be no faulting the club for this change. Can you still get a refund on a season ticket even after you've used it for 1 game? Even with the club saying they are making these changes I'll be surprised if they bother checking them after the first couple of awkward moments on saturday. Some new students dont have their student cards yet and others will claim they didnt know they now needed to bring their student ID. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 And yes, I would prefer a ST went unused. That's just nuts. I could never condone such a quite frighteningly awful fraudulent activity. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 The thing about an unused season ticket is a red herring. You buy a season ticket and it means you've bought a seat for the season, just like someone shelling out for a box for the season, it is yours, if you don't use it a particular week then you're entitled to let other people use it on your behalf. That's not the same as paying student prices when you're not a student, but I think the club probably make more than they lose through people using the 'Tyrant Money Saver Policy'. Personally, I'll probably pay full whack for home games, scam student tickets for whatever away games I can and happily make use of any unused season ticket But I would definately go to more games than I do if full prices weren't so high. I don't think it is a red herring at all, it isn't the person on the ticket using it. It isn't transferrable. Also, stealing from the club. LAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAWLS at that. They get plenty of over priced sales from me as it is, should I try to buy a cheaper ST that encourages me to attend more games and buy even more over priced merchandise and support the team at the same time, as opposed to sitting in the house and being much more discriminatory about my attendance . . . . no spending on merchandise/food, less support for the team. I agree to an extent the club knew fine what they were up to as far as the timing was concerned but that is a concern for them and they are completely entitled to do so. But stealing from the club? That's superb. Quote
Edinburghdon Posted August 23, 2010 Report Posted August 23, 2010 Not sure if anyone has had the same experience but in the 4 years i had a student season ticket, not once was I asked to produce a student card to prove i was a student, either when i bought the ticket, or used it. Always seemed like it would have been very easy to get a student ticket without being a student. Quote