Kowalski Posted March 15, 2011 Author Share Posted March 15, 2011 Tickets on sale if anyone cares... http://www.tickets.london2012.com/ Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted March 15, 2011 Share Posted March 15, 2011 I'll just wait for my corporate freebies. If they don't come along, guess I'll just give it a miss. Nae really bothered one way or the other tbh. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cowie Posted March 15, 2011 Share Posted March 15, 2011 Going to apply for a few of the football games at st james sports direct stadium, might stick in for some swimming aswell, but not really fussed about that to be honest. Also note the way in which they are taking payment for ticket - if you pay by debt, cash will randomly come out of your account, before them actually telling you what tickets you have and how much they cost! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BrownyBrown Posted March 15, 2011 Share Posted March 15, 2011 I'll be applying for some of the swimming events as the GF wants to go to them. I'd rather pay for tickets with a credit card. Is it true you can only use VISA? I've got 2 MasterCards but no VISA - guess I'll just have to pay debit. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cowie Posted March 15, 2011 Share Posted March 15, 2011 Aye, its visa debt or credit cards only.. Retarded. Would have thought they were breaking some sort of consumer laws thou as its all in sterling? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted March 15, 2011 Author Share Posted March 15, 2011 I'm going to try for tickets for the athletics 10,000 and 5,000 finals to see Mo Farah. I think the Athletics tickets are going to be very difficult to get hold of. Might try for swimming and cycling too. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldie03 Posted March 15, 2011 Share Posted March 15, 2011 Athletics and gymnastics for me and maybe the diving Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted March 15, 2011 Share Posted March 15, 2011 TV for me (unless I get a job first) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dave_min Posted March 15, 2011 Share Posted March 15, 2011 Going for both ceremonies, athletics, tennis and football Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted March 15, 2011 Author Share Posted March 15, 2011 Re:Tennis - is Murray likely to be involved? List of events you can see for £20: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-12447576 Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dave_min Posted March 15, 2011 Share Posted March 15, 2011 Re:Tennis - is Murray likely to be involved? List of events you can see for £20: http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-12447576 Assume so - he was in 2008. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldie03 Posted March 15, 2011 Share Posted March 15, 2011 Assume so - he was in 2008. Ooh I might go for tennis too then I think I entered a competition at work for tickets to the opening ceremony Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BobbyBiscuit Posted March 15, 2011 Share Posted March 15, 2011 Assume so - he was in 2008. Is the tennis not an under 23 event too? (I've no idea if it is, just thought it'd make sense if it was as it's a highly paid pro sport etc) Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
baggy89 Posted March 15, 2011 Share Posted March 15, 2011 Going to try for evening of 100m final and relays, something at the velodrome, maybe some early rounds of the boxing, show-jumping, and some of the basketball. I figure the fitba wont be that difficult to obtain tickets for closer to the time, and I'd hate to end up at a "Team GenglandB" game. Is the tennis not an under 23 event too? (I've no idea if it is, just thought it'd make sense if it was as it's a highly paid pro sport etc) Wasn't Federer Swiss captain, or whatever waving the flag means, at Beijing? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BobbyBiscuit Posted March 15, 2011 Share Posted March 15, 2011 Going to try for evening of 100m final and relays, something at the velodrome, maybe some early rounds of the boxing, show-jumping, and some of the basketball. I figure the fitba wont be that difficult to obtain tickets for closer to the time, and I'd hate to end up at a "Team GenglandB" game. Wasn't Federer Swiss captain, or whatever waving the flag means, at Beijing? As I said, i've no idea if it is u23 or not, i was just guessing. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted March 16, 2011 Author Share Posted March 16, 2011 Don't know if anyone saw it but there's a spoof 6-part documentary about the planning for 2012 on BBC4: http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b00zhzqw/Twenty_Twelve_Episode_1/ It was quite good and had some laughs. Next week's episode looks really good (there's a preview at the end of this week's episode). If you like the style of the Office and The Thick of It then you'll like - it's nowhere near as funny though! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted March 24, 2011 Author Share Posted March 24, 2011 My application is in for some swimming, athletics, cycling and the football final. Just hope I am not successfull with too much as it would cost me a fucking fortune! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dave_min Posted March 24, 2011 Share Posted March 24, 2011 Did you go for all price levels for them or did you just go for the cheap ones? I'm waiting on a new credit card to come along so I can buy mine. Turns out I only had MasterCards Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted March 24, 2011 Author Share Posted March 24, 2011 I've stuck to cheap ones. It's expensive enough at £50 a pop for the medal sessions. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted April 18, 2011 Share Posted April 18, 2011 A few days left till the application date closes. What's everyone gone for? Not formally put my application in yet, though saved tickets for Basketball, Hockey and Cycling. The cycling is a medal session event so will cost £50 Hopefully getting some other tickets through work, but will have to hold tight on that one. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dave_min Posted April 18, 2011 Share Posted April 18, 2011 I went a little crazy on it, figured i'd never get to see an Olympics again, so why not. Planning on heading down for about 10 days. Applied for tickets for 20 events, and if it all comes in my new credit card is gonna get hit with a £1300 bill. Mainly going for medal sessions in Athletics as well as some tennis, fitba', rowing, cycling, a midnight beach volleyball session, swimming and some more. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted April 18, 2011 Author Share Posted April 18, 2011 Mine came to about £900. Mostly athletics finals, swimming, cycling and the football final. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldie03 Posted April 18, 2011 Share Posted April 18, 2011 I think my order is just over £700 One of my bosses at work has gone for a package from Thomas Cook - hotel and guaranteed tickets for an athletics session and a semi final football match at Wembley - £1200 for a family of 4 Ooh I am getting the chance to go to a Q & A session with Chris Hoy through work Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
capitalsharpie Posted April 19, 2011 Share Posted April 19, 2011 Christ on a bike. I agree with Jager 100%. You could get to some pretty decent exotic places with that kinda cash. Yir aff yir heeds. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
glasgowdon Posted April 20, 2011 Share Posted April 20, 2011 Nae danger! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...