Mentorred Posted January 29, 2011 Report Posted January 29, 2011 Gave up and went out to snow blow the driveway. Way to fuck up my birthday AFC. Quote
Madbadteacher Posted January 29, 2011 Report Posted January 29, 2011 Here we go Time for a stunning comebac! Yep I'm ludicrously optimistic and pished Quote
Dandy_Don Posted January 29, 2011 Report Posted January 29, 2011 Stupid goals to give up: 1 was a fluke 1 was a corner where Charlie fcking Mulgrew scored a header 1 was a stupid, stupid penalty given away by Deek Ying Can't remember the other. Really feel we had a lot of chances though, Vernon could have had a hat-trick today. Maguire actually looked like he gave a fck. Diamond :wave: :wave: :wave: Could have been worse given the score at half-time. Quote
mizer Posted January 29, 2011 Report Posted January 29, 2011 Im away oot again to try and forget the sorry shambles of AFC, but when leaving the ground at halftime and a boy next to you is chanting (ironically) bring back McGhee, and you know you cant find a reason to disagree - you know something is rotten within our football club Quote
glasgowdon Posted January 29, 2011 Report Posted January 29, 2011 Stayed til the end, not sure why. We shat it but the ref and the bald linseman were a travesty. Quote
Kenny Posted January 29, 2011 Report Posted January 29, 2011 Horrible stuff. Can't agree with Broon that the formation change wasn't a factor. We looked absolutely shambolic. Quote
wi_09 Posted January 29, 2011 Report Posted January 29, 2011 Bottlers! That might be what we say about Murray tomorrow!! I liked Broon's interview with BBC Scotland when he was asked about the effects of heavy defeats on the team! And he replied by saying we haven't had any heavy defeats! We have only lost 1-0 to Celtic at Celtic Park! Good to see [as he should that he does not think back to the 9-0 game!!] Hopefully we can give them more of a game on Tuesday Quote
redordead Posted January 29, 2011 Report Posted January 29, 2011 Big game, It was inevitable that Langfield's bottle would crash. I hold him responsible for the 1st 2 and maybe even the 3rd ( unless view was obstructed ). Was right behind the goal and feel he misjudged the 1st and should've come for the corner instead of panicking hoping a centre half will clear for him. Every big game he's like a man down, lets get rid if we can as we'll never win anything relying on him. Otherwise I felt that the set up was a bit iffy, but a couple of safe catches would have settled nerves. Positives, 2nd half maguire and vernon did well, shame he couldn't take his chances and magennis terrified them everytime he got near the ball. Milsom was constantly trying to drag us upfield and take a hold of the game. I'd have liked to have seen young dropped and Pawlett given a chance to put some energy into the midfield, though young did ok todaybut, we struggled to get the ball down. Hartley did piss all today, passanger these days, has no legs or drive, must be his last season as he hasn't been up to the pace of the last 2 games I've watched him in and one of those was East fife where bobby linn ran circles around him. All in all disappointing but not surprising, you can train players to improve but you can't give them bottle or fighting spirit. Quote
tlg1903 Posted January 29, 2011 Report Posted January 29, 2011 Couldn't believe It when I saw us line up 532, 3 goals conceded in 7 games warrants faith in back 4. Vudja looked lost at sea today, just didn't understand what he was supposed to be doing. Language barrier maybe? He was ace at the tattibowl last week. It was hard to take especially when all the goals were sooooooooo cheap. A dark day folks Quote
BigAl Posted January 29, 2011 Report Posted January 29, 2011 Hugely disappointed right now, honestly though we could/would do it this afternoon. First observation, Mr Brown got it very very wrong with the line up.... going with four central defenders has been tried and failed before....why start our only natural right back in midfield ? Game was dead and buried inside nine minutes....at this point I seriously thought the 9-0 could/would be surpassed. The introduction of Jack did however steady the ship once the formation was changed. Brown and Knox need to take a share of the blame for today, however senior players again let us down... Paul Hartley will you ever turn up against your beloved 'Tic.... Clangers think you sealed your own fate today ( I have defended you time and time again o'er the years ) but again your bottle has crashed in a a big game. Bizarrely and I don't know if this is to our credit or their detriment but we could and should have scored three ort four in the second half with al ittle bit more composure, and the aforementioned Clangers never had a safe to make. Please in the league game can we come out of the traps and get right in the these cunts faces and get Magennis to stick it right up that fucker Mulgrew. We have it within us to take them and little in life would give me greater pleasure other than having a threesome with the Minogue sisters would give me greater pleasure Sorry for ther rant, but fucked off and pissed off Quote
Kowalski Posted January 29, 2011 Report Posted January 29, 2011 Im away oot again to try and forget the sorry shambles of AFC, but when leaving the ground at halftime and a boy next to you is chanting (ironically) bring back McGhee, and you know you cant find a reason to disagree - you know something is rotten within our football club You agreed that we should bring back McGhee? Quote
Kowalski Posted January 29, 2011 Report Posted January 29, 2011 Whatever the result, we need more days like this. I'm not sure I want any more like that. Brown appeared it to get it wrong with playing 3 at the back, and Considine and McNamee as wing backs. We didn't look good and failed to close down for the first goal, then were all over the place for the next two (Langfield looked terrible IMHO) then fuck knows what Young was thinking. Celtic weren't actually all that great today, we just let in four horrendous goals. I ran 9 miles this morning, then jumped in a car and drove for 3 hours. If my legs weren't beginning to seize up I'd have left when the 4th went in but ended up staying until about the 85th minute. Only Maguire seemed up for it today, he was trying his heart out and there's no way all this offside decisions were actually offside! Quote
Ptayles Posted January 29, 2011 Report Posted January 29, 2011 Magennis should have started! End of Quote
BigAl Posted January 29, 2011 Report Posted January 29, 2011 Stayed til the end, not sure why. We shat it but the ref and the bald linseman were a travesty. the midget had a fucking howler Quote
Rebus30 Posted January 29, 2011 Report Posted January 29, 2011 Stayed til the end, not sure why. We shat it but the ref and the bald linseman were a travesty. I stayed till the end too, but the 2nd 45 were the longest 45 minutes of my life, bar none! Quote
Jute Posted January 30, 2011 Report Posted January 30, 2011 Left after the 2nd and to be honest had considered staying in the pub when I saw the team. Brwon bottled it again yesterday just like so many of the important games when he was Scotland manager. Quote
tsr Posted January 30, 2011 Report Posted January 30, 2011 Ouch A! Not sure if he bottled it or not but probably one of the worst 45 minutes I have ever seen, total shambles. Quote
coopy100 Posted January 30, 2011 Report Posted January 30, 2011 I left after the third. It looked like it was going to be another 9-0 at that point and I was not staying to watch it. I had not seen the team or the way it was going to be set out prior to the game as if I had then I, like Jute, may have considered staying in the pub. Quote
manc_don Posted January 30, 2011 Report Posted January 30, 2011 I think the most frustrating thing was those Irish jakey scum bags were there for the taking. The line up was wrong, the formation was wrong, zander still exists and clangers was his usual big game bottler. Waste of a day out. They score four pish goals and we could have blade it so much more interesting by actually putting the chances away. sad times. Quote
14Fosters Posted January 30, 2011 Report Posted January 30, 2011 Magennis should have started! End of This. After the 1-0 game last week, it seemed that the 10 minutes he was on caused Celtic more problems than the rest of the team had in the prior 80 minutes. His physicality is more difficult to deal with than Vernon, even if the all round player is not to the same standard. As for the game as a whole. Where to start, think I will go person by person... Brown: What the fuck was that starting line up? Some saw it as a 5-3-2 but I though it was a lop-sided 4-4-2. McNamee right midfield? Why? Where was the creativity in midfield? Milsom seems ok but this is a game that was gagging for some proper wingers. Why is Pawlett still benched week in week out. Langfield: First goal. Despite being classed as a great chipped shot from the one match report I stomached reading, I thought it was a cross. Langfield's feet were planted though, far too slow in realising the danger. Second goal, maybe should have come and claimed the corner, defending was a shambles though. Third was just ridiculous, seemed easy to save but almost liked he withdrew from the save. Really really bad performance. Considine: Poor, but still suffering from being played out of position. Also severely exposed for the first 30 minutes with no person ahead of him to protect him. Who started off left midfield? Didn't seem to be anyone, just Milsom or Young were expected to go out and cover there. Another performance that shows a real requirement for a left back which Brown seems to think Considine can suffice for just now. Vuja: Terrible. Not sure if there is a reason for this. Was he carrying an injury of some kind? Lacked composure, couldn't complete simple passes or control the ball or win a header and constantly for caught out of position. Diamond: Almost as terrible as Vuja. Managed to show no strength against Hooper on various occasions. Reverting to type, think the reasonably good form under Brown so far has been a purple patch more than anything else. McArdle: We became so much more solid when he went to centreback. Pretty much everything Vuja was failing at doing, McArdle did much more capably. It could be in part due to Celtic taking their foot off the pedal at 4 goals though. Probably one of the players that might have approaced passmarks. McNamee: I thought he had a shocker, not sure how much training he had managed to fit in before the game. Right midfield made no sense for him to start and then at right back he suffered from Derek Young being the player to attempt to protect him. Young: The handball for the penalty was plain retarded. Why he is starting a game like this before Jack, who has shown to be a more capable player, I do not understand. Experience? I'd prefer actual talent. Hartley: Game largely passed him by. Used the ball well enough when he got it, often finding Jack in space. Just did not seem to have any real influence on the game. Milsom: My personal man of the match for Aberdeen. Always trying to get involved, passed well, found space, covered a lot of ground and was let down by the performances of some of his fellow players. Maguire: Tried hard and appeared to want it more than some other players. Couldn't seem to be able to get a free-kick either, despite consistently being fouled. Unfortunately, his play let him down at times, tried to do things that he couldn't do or were daft. Corners were absolutely woeful too, why was Hartley not taking them? Vernon: If he had scored at 2-0, we had a chance. Unlucky that it hit the post. Spent a fair amount of the game isolated, which largely makes him ineffective. One of the players closer to pass marks again. Jack: Left midfield and then right back is not really fair on him. Still did well enough in both and did cause Wilson and then Juarez a few problems when playing left midfield. Should have started. Pawlett: No time to get involved in the game. Barely had a touch that I can remember. Magennis: His energy caused problems getting in to good positions beyond their backline and creating a few half chances. As mentioned earlier, should have started to get in and around Mulgrew. Now, I don't know what I want to happen on Tuesday. I guess I always want us to win, but if Brown puts out a sensible formation and everyone plays well it is just going to make Saturday hurt all that bit more. I fucking hate Hampden. Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted January 30, 2011 Report Posted January 30, 2011 Craig Brown: My message is an apology to the fans, the players are as upset as they are. We're conscious that it costs them to come and support the team and we need to make it up to them. We're embarrassed that we did not give them better value for their trip down here. The goals had nothing to do with the system, they were to do with the fact we didn't defend balls into the box. The better team won the game Surely the fact the players weren't comfortable with the system led us to conceeding possession and then not cutting out the supply? Quote
hardon Posted January 30, 2011 Report Posted January 30, 2011 Think folk need to chill out. This is still the same Aberdeen team who were looking like relegation fodder only a couple of months ago. Brown and Knox have done a good job of steadying the ship and got aberdeen better organised and looking like a unit. The game yesterday saw players who have been bottlers for years falling back into bad habits and just proves that the summer is time for a big clearout. How many of you went to the game believing we could win it? Bet you wouldn't have thought that a couple of months ago. Forget systems, it was basic rudimentary errors that cost us the game. Good times are still ahead, Pa Broon is still the man. Believe it. Stand free! Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted January 30, 2011 Report Posted January 30, 2011 Pa Broon is still the man No one has remotely suggested otherwise, so perhaps you're the one who should "chill out". Also, if you hold the man in such high regard, maybe you should dignify him with his real name instead of this "Pa Broon" pish. His name is Craig, in case you didn't know. And one last thing, please do not have a go at Dons fans for expecting better than a 4-1 pumping at the National Stadium (or anywhere else for that matter). Regardless of where we were a month ago, getting pumped 4-1 should never be acceptable, and anyone who thinks it is is far more of a problem than anyone who left the game early yesterday. Quote
14Fosters Posted January 30, 2011 Report Posted January 30, 2011 Think folk need to chill out. This is still the same Aberdeen team who were looking like relegation fodder only a couple of months ago. Brown and Knox have done a good job of steadying the ship and got aberdeen better organised and looking like a unit. The game yesterday saw players who have been bottlers for years falling back into bad habits and just proves that the summer is time for a big clearout. How many of you went to the game believing we could win it? Bet you wouldn't have thought that a couple of months ago. Forget systems, it was basic rudimentary errors that cost us the game. Good times are still ahead, Pa Broon is still the man. Believe it. Stand free! The system cost us early on, no-one looked like they knew where they were meant to be playing and it invited pressure on to us. Although the goals were largely down to individual mistakes, the possession and territory was stacked against us at the beginning and that was a large part down to the system and definitely contributed to the game being over in 20 minutes. Now, I am not too bothered if Brown comes out and says he got it wrong, the best he can do going forward is not to try out stuff like that for the first time in such occasions. I don't think anyone is saying Brown is not the man to take us forward, and maybe a few of us got ahead of our stations because of the general pick up since he took over. The point still stands though that a lot of people (as far as recent attendances go) made a fair effort to get down to Hampden. They are obviously disappointed that the occasion was ruined within 20 minutes. I don't think coming on and telling people to chill out is quite right. I think most people went to the game believing we had a chance of winning it, and hoped that the performance would at least be something to be proud of if we didn't. 11 years since a cup final, 15 since a cup win is not something to be happy about as a Dons fan and I am not even one who saw our glory days, which I can only imagine yesterday is all the more shocking to. I can only echo the rest of your sentiments though. The summer was always the time that the major changes were going to happen. January is too expensive a month for wholesale long term changes, there is a lot of the squad who are out of contract or loan periods will be up at the club and there will be a lot of players in similar situations at the club. I assume that as soon as Tuesday comes around, Brown and Miller will be starting thinking about the 2011/12 season immediately. Good times will hopefully be ahead, Brown I believe can do something with this club. Doesn't make yesterday any more or less galling an experience. Quote