Saturday 23rd November 2024 - kick-off 3pm

Scottish Premiership - St Mirren v Aberdeen

• Replies 82

Good speech, bit bizarre they mentioned dental work.

His teeth that got knocked out by Rummenigge fell out recently, so he's got a gold cap in which has been causing him some speaking problems.

Its a great looking stadium, its just the distance from the toon that worries me.

It may be a great looking stadium but why would the distance fae toon worry you?

It takes aboot 10 minutes fae the Holburn Bar on a bus.

Is that Citylink or Magicbus?

I was thinking mare in line of special direct match day busses, running from Gt Southern Road.

Christ min, ye'll get a bus ootside The Grumpian or The Rats that'll get ye there in 15mins, well at least with a short walk thereafter.

And the rest!  :wave:

A special bus, goes down Great Southern Road, accross the bridge, along past Inverdee, then up the Stoney Road to a brand new slip road stopping right ootside the stadium.

With the right traffic management system in place, that should be manageable in 10 minutes.

We can argue all day whether there will be any traffic management or indeed any special busses, but logistically I am highlighting what is more than possible.

Average 30 mph you can drive 30 miles in an hour. At the same average speed you can drive the 5 miles in a 6th of that time. IE 10 minutes.

Whatever the logistics, it's never going to have the easy access that Pittodrie has. It's going to be sterile and bland, like all the other new out of town stadiums. Where are the nearest pubs, and what happens when you can't get a car park space. At least you could park at The Beach and walk across the links to Pittodrie. Will the Pittodrie Bar become a museum?

To be honest, i'd imagine it would probably cease to exist, as would the broadhill sadly. I doubt that they'd make enough business if they didn't have matchdays (I could be wrong). The whole idea of out of town stadia is that they are supposed to be easily accessible by road, but i'm yet to be convinced, and certainly not holding out much hope for First bus to lay on the service that will be required. It's a shame we can't redevelop even near the Pittodrie site, but we need to accept this and move forward together as a club.

Fairly certain the club stated they are building bars next to the ground?

A special bus, goes down Great Southern Road, accross the bridge, along past Inverdee, then up the Stoney Road to a brand new slip road stopping right ootside the stadium.

With the right traffic management system in place, that should be manageable in 10 minutes.

We can argue all day whether there will be any traffic management or indeed any special busses, but logistically I am highlighting what is more than possible.

Average 30 mph you can drive 30 miles in an hour. At the same average speed you can drive the 5 miles in a 6th of that time. IE 10 minutes.

I'm guessing this is a "special" yellow bus and won't be stopping to pick up any passengers? Can "special" buses use bus lanes, otherwise they're going to be stuck in town traffic, like everyone else.

Are they bringing back the yellow buses? And the trams maybe? I remember them all lined up on Merkland Road. Doubt if they'd get up the Nigg Brae though.

I wonder what Milne means by 'money' to spend for Craig Brown?

How much? and how much money is to let players go that are on contracts?

I still doubt he has given Craig even £100,000 to clear the squad and get new players in!!  (being very optimistic!!) which i think is the minimum needed to just get players in and out during the window.  Plus the wage budget has to be increased or else the big players would have to leave.  If you were to buy Ifil out of his contract how much would that cost???

As open as the meeting was trying to be, figures would really help to let us know where we stand!! (well apart from free)

Presumably buying players out of their contracts involves paying them their wage in full, I don't really see how that can release funds for players as it's still money that'll have been budgeted for?

I wonder what Milne means by 'money' to spend for Craig Brown?

How much? and how much money is to let players go that are on contracts?

I still doubt he has given Craig even £100,000 to clear the squad and get new players in!!  (being very optimistic!!) which i think is the minimum needed to just get players in and out during the window.  Plus the wage budget has to be increased or else the big players would have to leave.  If you were to buy Ifil out of his contract how much would that cost???

As open as the meeting was trying to be, figures would really help to let us know where we stand!! (well apart from free)

I think it's a good thing that no figures have been quoted. No clubs won;t know how much to hold us over a barrel for.

its quite exciting though, as id trust craig brown with money way more than i would have mcghee and maybe even calderwood too

brown must have a vast network he can call upon for players.

just look at the ones he got at motherwell, with a wee bit of financial muscle he'll hopefully be able to get a higher standard again

There was a time when Aberdeen Corporation Transport ran a steady stream of busses from the Castlegate to Pittodrie and back after the match. No pick ups just there and back, and always full. It was a well drilled operation and it worked well. No reason why this cannot be resurrected. It's up to AFC, Aberdeen City Council and bus companies to organise it. A bus lane is a bus lane, not a Scheduled First Bus lane, so of course they can use bus lanes.