manc_don Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 Thank fuck for that, off the bottom now! From what I saw before the stream cut out, we looked decent enough. Even Magennis looked ok, apart from fluffing his one on one with the keeper. Keep up the good work Dons! Lets try and start our season! Quote
BigAl Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 Great result, didn't see that one coming. Lets go for it on Wed now against Hamilton Victory in that would take us six points clear of them even though they would have two games in hand. Defeat on the other hand Quote
sooth_stander Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 Great stuff, and brings Hibs back into the relegation scrap. St Mirren won today but ach well, we did and that's all that matters. Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 Great stuff, and brings Hibs back into the relegation scrap. St Mirren won today but ach well, we did and that's all that matters. I know it's only one game, and we're still in trouble, but i reckon Hibs may be in bigger trouble than us. Quote
Torryloon Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 The main thing is commitment was there, they ran, and didn't let their heads go down. Well done to the whole squad and the two auld yins. A great start. Quote
carlos Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 well don boys great result sounds like vernon played well Quote
The Oxford Don Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 A very good, important victory which would be rendered fairly meaningless by losing to Hamilton. Let's hope the boys are plugged-in enough to get 3 points on Wednesday. V happy for now though! Quote
Torryloon Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 well don boys great result sounds like vernon played well And Magennis, kept the Hibs defence on the hop for the 2nd half. Quote
glasgowdon Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 Best possible start for Brown. COYR. Quote
manc_don Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 A very good, important victory which would be rendered fairly meaningless by losing to Hamilton. Let's hope the boys are plugged-in enough to get 3 points on Wednesday. Indeed, hopefully that will have given them some confidence. I hope they don't just throw away a good start under the new management team. Re:BB I think Jute was saying a while he was chatting to some hibee mates, and they were convinced they were in worse shape than when they went down the last time! Quote
Simplistic Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 A good result. Caught the Folly goal on ALBA. He did well to get to it. Wednesday is a really key game now and a victory could go a long way to helping get the confidence back up and on track. Does anyone know if McNamee was on the bench today or wasn't he included? Quote
Rebus30 Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 3 points, well done Dons!! Let's hope this is the shape of things to come! Made my Crimbo! COYR Quote
BigAl Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 A good result. Caught the Folly goal on ALBA. He did well to get to it. Wednesday is a really key game now and a victory could go a long way to helping get the confidence back up and on track. Does anyone know if McNamee was on the bench today or wasn't he included? Not included Quote
Kowalski Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 Great result. Sounded like we played pretty well. Amazing what a bit of organisation at the back can do. Onwards and upwards! Quote
tsr Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 Not included Strange one, he was listed as a sub by the tannoy announcer? Excellent performance, we made a lot of good chances in what was a good game in abeit freezing conditions. Thought Hartley and Magennis were outstanding. Quote
wee toon red Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 Nice one lads. Let's hope it wasn't just new manager syndrome and we can keep it up on Wednesday. Especially as I'm going - my first game of the season Quote
Millertime Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 delighted and lets hope our big players will come onto a game now with some proper coaching and management Quote
frewdon Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 Certainly looked like the team was better organised today and each player knew what he was supposed to be doing. It's only the start and hopefully we will push on from this result. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 Certainly looked like the team was better organised today and each player knew what he was supposed to be doing. It's only the start and hopefully we will push on from this result. Yes, note of caution, that defence looked as porous as fuck still but we made a lot of chances, Magennis actually looked like a, erm, fitba player Long way to go, Hibs are fucking rid rotten though which was very good to see. Quote
centraldon Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 Great result great game. We deserved to win it based on our second half performance. Although the first half was a bit of a non event. All three goals were short range tap ins or scrambles. But we could have scored three or four more. Thought Hartley, Vernon and Bebo were excellent. First time I've seen Bebo play well on the wing in recent memory. Magennis is a funny one. A big black version of mackie in some ways. Fast and harasses the defence, but nae luck in front of goal. In my opinion he changed the game. We were fantastic from the moment he came on. He provided an excellent outlet down the wing and was able to do something when he got the ball. He missed some great chances. A couple of headers that the keeper did well to save. And a one on one where poor control took him to close to the keeper. He claimed the keeper took him down, but I couldn't tell. Not sure what brown did different from McGhee. But the players were transformed. I'm convinced the players simply stopped playing for McGhee, if they ever did. Shocking if so. Quote
Torryloon Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 Not sure what brown did different from McGhee. But the players were transformed. I'm convinced the players simply stopped playing for McGhee, if they ever did. Shocking if so. Could it be that Brown has treated them as men, just like the great Eddie Turnbull did all those years ago. Quote
centraldon Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 Could it be that Brown has treated them as men, just like the great Eddie Turnbull did all those years ago. Quite possibly. I'm no fan of McGhee and can see why the players didn't take to him. But even so. A bit of professional pride. Anyway. Thankfully that's all in the past. Really looking forward to smashing Hamilton now. Assuming it's on. Quote
tsr Posted December 26, 2010 Report Posted December 26, 2010 Worth minding that one of the few decent performances under McGhee was also against Hibs. Quote