Saturday 23rd November 2024 - kick-off 3pm

Scottish Premiership - St Mirren v Aberdeen

• Replies 136

I similary blame the manager of the day for wasting Zander Diamonds career. He should have been much better, and would have been under better guidance.

No blame at Zander's door?

It's teen me aboot 3 weeks to pluck up the courage efter the last roastin for having the sheer affrontery of having an alternate view. I'm a puir wee soul.

All I'm saying is that Lee Miller was a far better player than he latterly showed at Pittodrie. He was wasted in a role that did nothing for him or the team.

I similary blame the manager of the day for wasting Zander Diamonds career. He should have been much better, and would have been under better guidance.

See you in 3 weeks, you're still full of shite!

Oh aye Zander has to take some responsibility for himself, nae question.

As for talkin shite, well it's the internet.

Zander has been horrendous to his OWN career and I reckon the McGhee interlude has been hazardous to quite a few careers.

Calderwood's style has been blamed for a number of career downfalls but was it really? Zander had the world at his feet and had more than capable partners to help him progress, good readers of the game in Seve and Anderson. They leave and he suddenly regresses. McGhee arrives and he turns into an absolute bombscare.

Maybe he can sort it out, under Broon it seems that is possible, no more than that though given Zander's liking for self harm. But there's nae excuses any more for a guy that should be establishing himself by now and now we have a reputable manager in place it may well be his last opportunity to get to where he should have been.

I was quite comfortable with Diamond under Calderwood, though that is not to say he didn't have his "moments". This past 18 months have been the worst of his career no doubt, as during his worst spells wi Calderwood I never once wanted rid.

Technically Miller is a much better player than Vernon but Vernon has the strikers knack of being in the right place at the right time. If we can get the creative players in our team firing on all cylinders then what Vernon offers will far outweigh what Miller could and did.

Exactly

This.

On his day Miller could have been one of the best strikers in the SPL.  Was too few and far between though.

I agree with this and think we struggled without Miller in some games after he left.