Sandaldinho Posted August 19, 2011 Report Posted August 19, 2011 Algeria Under-23 striker Mohamed Chalali has agreed a contract to join Aberdeen. But the 22-year-old will be unavailable to face Inverness on Saturday as the paperwork will not be completed until next week. Ahead of the completion of negotiations, Aberdeen manager Craig Brown said: "We're pleased with what we see in training." International clearance and a work permit will now be sought. Chalali is a free agent after being offloaded by Greek Super League club Panionios a year into a three-year contract. The Paris-born striker began his career with Le Havre before moving on to another French second-tier outfit, Chateauroux. Aberdeen have failed to score in their four Scottish Premier League games so far this season. Brown is therefore keen to add to his attacking options, although he insists that his current squad are capable of ending the goal drought. Quote
McMaster Posted August 19, 2011 Report Posted August 19, 2011 www.delighted.com. All the best to the boy. Clearance granted, he is one of what is needed at Pittodrie. :-) Quote
mizer Posted August 19, 2011 Report Posted August 19, 2011 To be honest, I am hoping this boy can improve us up front, but he is young and untested. Quote
Graeme_S Posted August 19, 2011 Report Posted August 19, 2011 www.delighted.com. All the best to the boy. Clearance granted, he is one of what is needed at Pittodrie. :-) Forgive my negativity, but delighted for what reason? Quote
Biggalloot Posted August 19, 2011 Report Posted August 19, 2011 Delighted.com that we will not have to play the bungling idiot that is Darren "dazzling" Mackie up front against Der Hun! Quote
dave_min Posted August 19, 2011 Report Posted August 19, 2011 Welcome aboard. Unless yer shite. Quote
McMaster Posted August 19, 2011 Report Posted August 19, 2011 Forgive my negativity, but delighted for what reason? That we have new blood in, and from all reports can cause an upset for defences unlike our punting it up the field to the strikers in hope. We have a good centre midfield and he (hopefully) can the spark that without him we would lack. With no Aluko or Maguire if we went for the other boy who is a poacher we would heve been sunk. Listen, I aint saying he is our saviour or nothing but our other options were sorely lacking. Gie the boy a chance I am sure this Omid Djalili boy will be great Ever the optimist Quote
Sandaldinho Posted August 20, 2011 Author Report Posted August 20, 2011 Welcome aboard. Unless yer shite. What he said! Quote
octavion Posted August 20, 2011 Report Posted August 20, 2011 Welcome to Aberdeen may you be the player we are praying for Quote
Graeme_S Posted August 20, 2011 Report Posted August 20, 2011 That we have new blood in, and from all reports can cause an upset for defences unlike our punting it up the field to the strikers in hope. We have a good centre midfield and he (hopefully) can the spark that without him we would lack. With no Aluko or Maguire if we went for the other boy who is a poacher we would heve been sunk. Listen, I aint saying he is our saviour or nothing but our other options were sorely lacking. Gie the boy a chance I am sure this Omid Djalili boy will be great Ever the optimist Fair enough. I admire your optimism. Years of freebie foreign imposters unable to keep mackie out the team have left a sceptical auld c**t these days. Quote
manc_don Posted August 20, 2011 Report Posted August 20, 2011 Fair enough. I admire your optimism. Years of freebie foreign imposters unable to keep mackie out the team have left a sceptical auld c**t these days. Join the club! But still, as Dave says.l Quote
RDU_64 Posted August 20, 2011 Report Posted August 20, 2011 Our options up front have severely been lacking right enough but I can't help thinking that this signing is a case of 'we've got nothing else on the transfer front, so we'll give this guy a shot'. But all the best to the boy and hopefully he can provide a badly needed spark of creativity. Quote
KGB Posted August 20, 2011 Report Posted August 20, 2011 Our options up front have severely been lacking right enough but I can't help thinking that this signing is a case of 'we've got nothing else on the transfer front, so we'll give this guy a shot'. But all the best to the boy and hopefully he can provide a badly needed spark of creativity. I agree with you RDU, I hope the boy turns out to be a good signing but it does smack slightly of desperation. Time will tell as always, he may turn out to be a budding star, but with our track record... Quote
Madbadteacher Posted August 20, 2011 Report Posted August 20, 2011 Welcome aboard! Lets just hope expectations dinna weigh the guy down too much Quote
Tyrant Posted August 22, 2011 Report Posted August 22, 2011 Not exactly wetting myself at this signing but we canna be picky. You never know. He could turn out to be amazing and his last club realeased him two years early from his deal because they needed to slash their wage bill. Ahh the power of denial. Quote
Kowalski Posted August 23, 2011 Report Posted August 23, 2011 http://www.afc.co.uk/javaImages/85/5a/0,,10284~9919109,00.jpg[/img] http://www.afc.co.uk/javaImages/87/5a/0,,10284~9919111,00.jpg[/img] http://www.afc.co.uk/articles/20110823/algerian-completes-dons-deal_2212158_2429251 Aberdeen have confirmed the signing of striker Mohamed Chalali, with the completion of his international paperwork resulting in his inclusion in the squad for this evening's Scottish Communities League Cup 2nd round clash with Dundee at Pittodrie. The 22 year old returned to the Granite City this morning having spent yesterday at Panionis, his former club in Greece, securing the signed documentation that allowed him to receive international clearance. Pittodrie boss Craig Brown is delighted to have the Algerian under-23 skipper cleared to play. "The lad is ready to explode on to the scene. Although he had a very early start today, he's now getting some rest and is desperate to play. He can play wide but wants to be a forward." Tonight's game, which kicks off at 7.45 pm, will go to extra time and penalties if required. Quote
manc_don Posted August 23, 2011 Report Posted August 23, 2011 Welcome aboard I hope it works out for all parties. Quote
mizer Posted August 23, 2011 Report Posted August 23, 2011 Aye welcome, hopefully we can get a few goals from him Quote
tlg1903 Posted August 23, 2011 Report Posted August 23, 2011 Would like to know the length of contact Quote
rocket_scientist Posted August 23, 2011 Report Posted August 23, 2011 Muslim striker joins third rate club in a fifth rated league. Can't imagine he's going to be brilliantly good but hey, remember Zero. Quote
tlg1903 Posted August 23, 2011 Report Posted August 23, 2011 I foresee a version of amarillo being sung for this guy if he's even slightly good Quote
rocket_scientist Posted August 23, 2011 Report Posted August 23, 2011 I foresee a version of amarillo being sung for this guy if he's even slightly good The crux will be the sweet Marie who waits for me substitute but yes, good forseeance. Quote
mizer Posted August 23, 2011 Report Posted August 23, 2011 I foresee a version of amarillo being sung for this guy if he's even slightly good On you go Sha la la lala lalala Sha la la lala lalala Sha la la lala lalala When the day is dawningon a Texas Sunday morning how I long to be there with Marie who's waiting for me there every lonely city where I hang my hat ain't as half as pretty as where my baby's at Is this the way to Amarillo every night I've been hugging my pillow dreaming dreams of Amarilloand sweet Marie who waits for me show me the way to Amarillo I've been weeping like a willow crying over Amarillo and sweet Marie who waits for me Sha la la lala lalala Sha la la lala lalala Sha la la lala lalala and Marie who waits for me There's a church bell ringing hear the song of joy that it's singing for the sweet Mariaand the guy who's coming to see her just beyong the highway, there's an open plain and it keeps me going through the wind and rain Is this the way to Amarillo every night I've been hugging my pillow dreaming dreams of Amarilloand sweet Marie who waits for me show me the way to Amarillo I've been weeping like a willow crying over Amarillo and sweet Marie who waits for me Sha la la lala lalala Sha la la lala lalala Sha la la lala lalala and Marie who waits for me Quote
tlg1903 Posted August 23, 2011 Report Posted August 23, 2011 Indeed, if he sets up mackie to score something along those lines could be in there......... Ok so back to the drawing board on that one then Quote