Saturday 21st September 2024 - kick-off 5.30pm

🏆 Scottish League Cup: Aberdeen v The Spartans

Ways to make the SPL better?

McMaster

Everyone seems to fecked off we the way the SPL is just now.

So how can we change it.

Personally I would love to see it getting back to basics.  So many players must belong to your region.  IE, Since we are Aberdeeen, At least a majority of ( dont know how many) must come from your home area.  Every region should be subjected by the SPL. 

You cannae sell players until they have reached a certain age (to avoid selling tae the auld firm or abroad for cheap prices and help their training at the club)

So many Under 21s (or less) must be in the squad (again undecided numbers)

Only a certain amount of overseseas players (UK included)

And a wage budget that ALL SPL teams must work under that you cannot go over.

OK its a very basic outline but just shootin a few feelers out there.  Obviously there are a lot of complications and FIFA would have a field day but there are some basics that surely could help get the SPL and Scottish football get better.

I dont know really, its all a bit fantasy but Scottish club fitba is the worse I have seen it in my 30years.  Change is due.

The only way to possibly keep up with the fantasy nations is to stop trying to copy them and instead try something different. My vision has always been the "socialist" league as ably demonstrated by the anti-communist Yanks.

1. Disolve the three Scottish bodies

2. Create a new league structure (Make this league structure viable, long term)

2.1.1 Equally shared outside revenues i.e TV

2.1.2 Equally shared gate receipts

2.1.3 Shirt sponsorship, Internet etc. to remain independent

2.2. One centralised national training centre. Pool our resources.

2.2.1 Draft system from centralised training centre. i.e. Team bottom of (current SPL) first choice, team bottom of SD1 second choice etc. (based on two tier top league system)

2.2.2 A limit to the "big name" players per £ per team.

2.2.3 Local leagues below "top leagues" amalgamate amateur leagues into new "local" league structure.

There's bound to be shit unworkable ideas in amongst mine so feel free to add subtract e.t.c.

Americans really understand sports.  How to coach properly, how to drum up interest, how to make them as exciting as possible and when it comes to actually taking part no nation gets the word team quite like americans do.  I would love to see some american style administration come into the spl.

The only way to possibly keep up with the fantasy nations is to stop trying to copy them and instead try something different. My vision has always been the "socialist" league as ably demonstrated by the anti-communist Yanks.

1. Disolve the three Scottish bodies

2. Create a new league structure (Make this league structure viable, long term)

2.1.1 Equally shared outside revenues i.e TV

2.1.2 Equally shared gate receipts

2.1.3 Shirt sponsorship, Internet etc. to remain independent

2.2. One centralised national training centre. Pool our resources.

2.2.1 Draft system from centralised training centre. i.e. Team bottom of (current SPL) first choice, team bottom of SD1 second choice etc. (based on two tier top league system)

2.2.2 A limit to the "big name" players per £ per team.

2.2.3 Local leagues below "top leagues" amalgamate amateur leagues into new "local" league structure.

There's bound to be shit unworkable ideas in amongst mine so feel free to add subtract e.t.c.

Most of this.

Also bring back beer, standing & reasonably priced tickets.

Most of this.

Also bring back beer, standing & reasonably priced tickets.

Mate has told me that Edinburgh Rugby have got a new standing section down the length of the pitch on the running track at Murrayfiled and it has vastly improved the atmosphere at the game + they get served beer there. And that standing area was done exactly for that reason.

Aberdeen FC boss wants more Lotto cash for football

Brown in art attack

By Charlie Allan :wave:

Published: 27/08/2011

ABERDEEN FC manager Craig Brown today called for more Lottery cash to be directed into saving Scottish football.

Pittodrie boss Brown wants money used to fund the Arts redirected to help create better facilities for developing young players.

The Aberdeen FC manager said: “It’s wrong that there seems to be more Lottery money poured into things like music, drama, opera and painting than there is into football and other sports.”

Summer football (although most people would scoff at the mere sugestion) would result in better attendances, better quality pitches and give Scottish teams a chance at a start in Europe.

As said before a structure to that of what the MLS has would be advantagious. A draft system would only work if junior football was properly developed with better facilities, coaching etc. Currently the US Youth Scoccer Association has over 3 million players registered between 5-19.

Lastly the MLS has had 9 winners since 1996. What other football league can match that?

Purely and simply, to improve Scottish football ban the of, ban any club that has ever had any "sectarian" allegiance, spread the gate money between all clubs in each league evenly (i.e. the SPL clubs share the SPL money, etc), put European earnings into a pot to be distrubuted as prize money for the domestic competitions in a "balanced" way (league and cup winners get more than runners up etc....) one governing body for SPL, SFL, SFA, SJFA, HL, etc.........

Oh, yeah, I must've been smokin' sometting strong dudes  ;D

Mate has told me that Edinburgh Rugby have got a new standing section down the length of the pitch on the running track at Murrayfiled and it has vastly improved the atmosphere at the game + they get served beer there. And that standing area was done exactly for that reason.

Giving the fans what they want? Revolutionary idea there!

Ah yes but you see Dave in sports all bar one of the worlds worst stadium disasters have involved football (the other one was ancient rome so im presuming wolf, shadow and lighting were in action)

Theres never been anything like that in a Rugby match so say 'can we stand at the rugger' and the authorities say no problem.

What the authorities apparently wont even consider is apart from ellis park in 2001 these disasters happened in very old or poorly maintained stadiums. The ellis park one coincidentaly is very similar to hillsborough in that too many fans were allowed in. Being an all seated stadium does fuck all when 120,000 people force their way into a 60000 capacity ground.

Personally I think the chances of standing returning to UK grounds will improve if the classified Hillsborough documents ever see the light of day.

I'd be willing to bet that one of the main reasons that the majority of Stadium disasters have been at football ground is because the majority of sports played in stadiums with crowds of a reasonable size are football ones.

I'm no expert but i'm pretty sure that standing/sitting hasn't been one of the primary causes for any of these disasters.

I've not sat in one of these "Safe standing" areas that they have in the Bundesliga, but I was under the impression that it consisted of your standard european cheap seat (ie. bit for arse, nothing for your back) then infront of you there was a barrier - almost exactly the same as an all seated stadium except that during the match you can stand up. lean on the barrier infront of you and shout abuse at Darren Mackie.

I was also under the impression that the findings of the Hillborough report have no legal basis in Scotland.

Hillsborough report isnt the problem. Neither is the Taylor report really.

The taylor report apparently states terracing can be safe so long as it is properly stewarded, ticketed etc.

It is the governing bodies stance by just outlawing terracing in the top divisions.

I dont really blame them as the SFA and co were hardly going to say 'fuck yas we are keeping terracing'. The media (and hysterical public at the time) would have crucified them claiming it was a slur on the dead fans or the SFA wanted people to die in scottish stadiums etc.

Problem is now getting them to accept that terrible things happen due to the failings of men and people learn from mistakes.

UEFA and FIFA also ban terracing (not that that is necessiraly much of a pressing issue in Scotland  :hammer:)

Noticed one game last week with a completely empty stand behind the goal as it was terracing.

The alternative is something along the German model which is a bit fancier than Dave suggests:

In the year 2000, German clubs faced a challenge. UEFA said that all of their games, i.e. Champions League and (then) the UEFA Cup (now the Europa League), had to be played in all-seater stadia. How could they continue to provide standing accommodation for their fans at domestic games and go all-seater for European matches? Being a cunning lot, the Germans came up with three solutions:

At many grounds they left their normal terraces in place and when the club plays in Europe the groundstaff carry in steel girders with seats mounted on them and bolt these to the terrace steps. A very labour-intensive solution!

The second solution, used at just two grounds, comprises of an aluminium terrace step that gets folded up and over for European games, revealing a fold-out seat fitted underneath.

The third solution is 'Variositze', what we call 'rail seats'.

img179923109.jpg

Currently used by 8 of the 18 Bundesliga clubs (including the likes of Borussia Dortmund, VfB Stuttgart, Werder Bremen and Wolfsburg), rail seats are robust metal seats incorporating a high back that forms a waist-high rail for the person behind. The seat frames link together at the top forming a continuous, sturdy rail right along the row. The seat bottoms can be locked in the 'up' position (i.e. out of use for sitting), which is how German clubs use them for all domestic games. Installed only in designated standing areas, the seat bottoms are only ever unlocked and lowered for European matches. Fans in the standing areas thus stand at sturdy rails for all domestic matches, while the club is able to make the ground all-seater for the odd game in Europe.

Quite enjoyable game yesteraday despite the result.

Interesting to note the crowds at yesterdays games which not so long ago would have had the sold out signs at the gates:

Rangers v Aberdeen - 44,070

St Mirren v Celtic - 6,223

Hearts v Hibs - 15,868

Not a huge surprise. Perhaps if the huns are struggling they should increase our allocation...

A post stolen from elsewhere, interesting points:

The level of debate on on BBC Radio Scotland this week has been absolutely dismal.

For instance Chick Young has been going on and on about the fact that we should switch to summer football because since doing so Irish football has been on the up. This despite the fact that no Irish team made it to the Play Off round of the Europa League last season unlike, say Motherwell, and ignoring the fact that Dundalk had been absolutely shagged 8-0 by Levski Sofia. This season Bohemians got knocked out at the first hurdle by Olimpija Ljubljana. St. Patrick's got pure gubbed of Karpaty Lviv after beating an unknown mob from Kazakhstan and Sligo Rovers were easily dispatched by Poltava,

But all because Shamrock Rovers sneaked through against Partizan by one goal, Chick in his almighty wisdom wants to change the whole structure of Scottish football!

Jimmy Calderwood stated Dutch football (big surprise!) success but didn't mention that the Netherlands has 4 times the population of Scotland as well as foreign territories to draw it's footballers from.

Another (I think Derek Ferguson) went on about how we should follow Norway's example and have more good quality indoor facilities, failing to mention Rosenborg, Norways biggest and most succesful club went out last week to Cypriot opposition, Valerenga got absolutely horsed by PAOK, and Stromgodset went out to Atletico Madrid, meaning Norway have no clubs left in the competition either.

Jim Traynor suggests kids should be forced to play sports for hours a day with cuts to school lessons! Then he bemoaned that fact that we had lost all our club before the end of August without knowing or caring that for most of European club competition history the first round wasn't completed to the first week in October and first round defeats for Scottish clubs have are nothing new at all.

And they all seemed to think that if some or all of these changes were made Scotland would never suffer any bad results in European competition!

The level of analysis was pathetic.