mizer Posted September 28, 2011 Report Posted September 28, 2011 But that's not the purpose. The purpose is to trial the time to see if more people will turn up. And when you think about how many young lads play their own games for their own teams on Saturdays and therefore can't make it to Pittodrie it will allow many of these people to attend. Personally I think they need to tackle the product and the ticket prices in that order. (this goes for the whole of the SPL premier league not just AFC football club) But I'm please they're at leats trying something to change things. I think the real reason is they are trying it to try and find another TV slot. The problem with it being played in Aberdeen is that many if not a majority of Aberdeen fans live outwith the city and the transport system is gash. That means there is no way to head south on a train and only 10mins to get to the station for the last Inverness train. Quote
Jute Posted September 28, 2011 Report Posted September 28, 2011 I think the real reason is they are trying it to try and find another TV slot. The problem with it being played in Aberdeen is that many if not a majority of Aberdeen fans live outwith the city and the transport system is gash. That means there is no way to head south on a train and only 10mins to get to the station for the last Inverness train. I suspect you a right with this. Quote
mizer Posted September 28, 2011 Report Posted September 28, 2011 I suspect you a right with this. You were the one that convinced me that was the reason Quote
mizer Posted September 30, 2011 Report Posted September 30, 2011 Aberdeen midfielder Chris Clark insists there is enough quality in the Dons squad despite their poor start to the season. Craig Brown's side go into Friday night's Scottish Premier League clash with Dunfermline at Pittodrie sitting second bottom in the table having failed to score in seven of their nine games. Former manager Jimmy Calderwood, who lost his job in May 2009, this week questioned whether the players brought to Pittodrie in recent seasons are as good as the experienced players who have left. Clark returned to the club this summer after three and a half seasons at Plymouth and he is confident his team-mates are good enough to get Aberdeen out of trouble. Clark said: "A lot has changed. The management has changed, almost the entire squad has changed, maybe only four or five players have stayed. "We have got a very young squad as well. I think, especially with the young players, there is a lot of quality all the way through. "It's not fair to compare players past and present. You can go back to 1983 if you want to. "We know we have got good players, the management know we have got a good squad. "We just need to put a good run together and get ourselves back up the table." Two of Brown's summer signings, Youl Mawene and Kari Arnason, have been particularly critical of the team's output in recent weeks but Clark believes such frustration can be eradicated by some good results. "I think the confidence is there," the 31-year-old said. "It's just frustration really - over the past few weeks people have been expressing it in different ways and obviously the results haven't been there for us. "There have been positive signs in our performances, I think that's why the frustration has been building up. "We have got a lot of belief we can do a lot better than we have. "We can't go panicking, we can't worry about things too much. "Obviously everyone has their thoughts about their game and everyone probably has their own thoughts about what's going wrong. "But everyone has to pull together - it's times like this you really have to dig deep and show a great work ethic." But panic could set in among the fans if the Dons lose tonight, especially with games against Dundee United, Celtic and Rangers to follow after the international break. Clark said: "It's obviously a big one for everyone at the club, going into a two-week break, so it's important we come away with a good result. "I don't think the performance is the biggest aspect, just getting the three points is important." Quote
Tyrant Posted September 30, 2011 Report Posted September 30, 2011 I was in the ticket office yesterday (and coincidently saw Clark leaving but that's neither here nor there) and I asked what the ticket sales were like. The lassie burst out laughing. Then she went on and on how it was a bit slow probably caused by the East Fife result. For some reason I felt pity towards her. She seemed really lonely and I don't think she wanted me to leave. But then I did. The club is rotten from the very top to the very bottom. Quote
mizer Posted September 30, 2011 Report Posted September 30, 2011 I think all the haterz are gonna look mighty daft when there's a bumper crowd that cheers us onto victory! (before hounding oot Milne) You going does not constitute a bumper crowd Quote
mizer Posted September 30, 2011 Report Posted September 30, 2011 For some reason I felt pity towards her. She seemed really lonely and I don't think she wanted me to leave. :lolabove: :lolabove: :lolabove: Quote
Azteca1903 Posted September 30, 2011 Report Posted September 30, 2011 In or Oot - Oot Pre-Match - Pub Match - Partick Thistle v Greenock Morton Post Match - Pub Prediction - 2-0 Pars Crowd - 5629 Quote
jmo Posted September 30, 2011 Report Posted September 30, 2011 In or Oot - Oot Pre-Match - Pub/Home Match - Either listening on the radio or heading to the Partick Thistle match Post Match - Train to Edinburgh Prediction - 1-0 Aberdeen Crowd - 4,500 Quote
mizer Posted September 30, 2011 Report Posted September 30, 2011 Post Match - Train to Edinburgh You do realise the last train leaves Aberdeen when the game will most likely be still being played - right? Just making sure. Quote
BobbyBiscuit Posted September 30, 2011 Report Posted September 30, 2011 You do realise the last train leaves Aberdeen when the game will most likely be still being played - right? Just making sure. Probably just as well he's going from Glasgow (or thereabouts) then... Quote
Tyrant Posted September 30, 2011 Report Posted September 30, 2011 You do realise the last train leaves Aberdeen when the game will most likely be still being played - right? Just making sure. You do realise he's nae going to the Aberdeen game? Just making sure. Quote
jmo Posted September 30, 2011 Report Posted September 30, 2011 Train from Glasgow to Edinburgh. Quote
Madbadteacher Posted September 30, 2011 Report Posted September 30, 2011 Oot Lunch Either online, on chat here, or cleaning the hoose if it's going shitey at Pittodrie Dinner 2-1 to the Dons Crowd 4400 Quote
Jute Posted September 30, 2011 Report Posted September 30, 2011 Sp much for Brown wielding the axe. Only one change is Clark out Fyvie in. Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted September 30, 2011 Report Posted September 30, 2011 1-0 Vernon Good stuff. Quote
Biggalloot Posted September 30, 2011 Report Posted September 30, 2011 I'm quite liking this friday night football if this is how we play Quote
wi_09 Posted September 30, 2011 Report Posted September 30, 2011 Vernon double! Be good if he goes on to complete his hat-trick! Lets just hope this isn't a reversal of the Killie game!! Quote
wi_09 Posted September 30, 2011 Report Posted September 30, 2011 Fyvie has just scored an absolute belter by the sounds of it!!! GET IN!!!! Quote
Kowalski Posted September 30, 2011 Report Posted September 30, 2011 I always thought Friday Night football was a great idea! Quote
mizer Posted September 30, 2011 Report Posted September 30, 2011 Cant get radio? More detail about Fyvies goal please! Quote
Edinburghdon Posted September 30, 2011 Report Posted September 30, 2011 Cant get radio? More detail about Fyvies goal please! He scored the third goal of the game. Hope that helps Quote
tom_widdows Posted September 30, 2011 Report Posted September 30, 2011 Cant get radio? More detail about Fyvies goal please! Only available online. They announced it too late for BBC scotland to change their usual friday night schedule or something like that Quote