CtS Posted January 30, 2012 Report Posted January 30, 2012 I'm sure there's been holiday threads before but I had no luck finding them during a (very brief) search, so I've started a new one for 2012. Far ye gan? And, anyone done the whole Orlando experience, theme parks, attractions, swimming with dolphins and other shite like that? Doing a bit of research for a possible family trip there in October, and all I can see are dollar signs - and fucking loads of them. Ta. Quote
dave_min Posted January 31, 2012 Report Posted January 31, 2012 This yeah I'm going to: - London - Ljubljana - Frankfurt - Gothenburg - Oslo - New York - Hamburg - Copenhagen - Amsterdam - Brussels Might go to China too. I went to Florida about 10 years ago. Was alright. Quote
mizer Posted January 31, 2012 Report Posted January 31, 2012 Nothing foreign planned other than the Scotland games in Oct (Wales and Belguim) which fall on my birthday. Got a long weekend up in the Cairngorms planned for April, drinking and bagging a couple of munros hopefully. Quote
BigAl Posted January 31, 2012 Report Posted January 31, 2012 Away somewhere for my fiftieth in April, but probably just for a week and then have a main holiday later on in the year although no idea where. Quote
Penfold Posted January 31, 2012 Report Posted January 31, 2012 Only a trip to London booked. Thinking about New York but will depend on cash I think. Went to Florida a few times as a kid. Always stayed in a villa in Kissimmee which I think was about 20mins drive from the Disney parks. Get your own little pool and most of those resorts of Villas have golf courses within them. Played golf quite a few times over there. I enjoyed the Universal parks better than the Disney ones, but that probably depends on age. Busch Gardens in Tampa worth a visit. We went to the Kennedy Space Centre but canna say I enjoyed it too much. Quote
Kowalski Posted January 31, 2012 Report Posted January 31, 2012 I've been to Florida several times as I used to have family over there. Orlando is mental and good fun for kids and adults. The theme parks are very busy though and be prepared to queue. Quote
manc_don Posted January 31, 2012 Report Posted January 31, 2012 Off to Barcelona in April for a holiday and a friends wedding, week back home in holland in June and then possibly a week up north visiting family at some point in August. Thats all that i've got planned so far. Quote
Tyrant Posted January 31, 2012 Report Posted January 31, 2012 I'm sure there's been holiday threads before but I had no luck finding them during a (very brief) search, so I've started a new one for 2012. Far ye gan? And, anyone done the whole Orlando experience, theme parks, attractions, swimming with dolphins and other shite like that? Doing a bit of research for a possible family trip there in October, and all I can see are dollar signs - and fucking loads of them. Ta. I'm going to to do much the same thing myself in September. Booked a Villa with 5 mates not far from where Penfold mentioned. Also going to Miami at the end of March for a week. Quote
rocket_scientist Posted January 31, 2012 Report Posted January 31, 2012 Manc, you MUST go to Parc Guell in Barca and you MUST go to La Sagrada Familia. Gaudi rocks. Orlando is shite. Worst part of America and worst place in the world. Just a horrible flat place full of horrible fat bastards. Quote
scunnered999 Posted January 31, 2012 Report Posted January 31, 2012 Off to Sharm el Sheikh for a weeks diving in a couple of weeks time, then Maui & Hawaii in June and probably Malaysia/Thailand December Quote
rocket_scientist Posted January 31, 2012 Report Posted January 31, 2012 Was in Barca and Amsterdam in December. Algarve in a couple of weeks. Rabat in March. Will be nice to get some heat after months of shite. Paris - just south - in July. England next week. Manchester Weds but Birmingham next Thursday will be the best trip of the lot, surprisingly. Quote
bilbobaggins Posted January 31, 2012 Report Posted January 31, 2012 Off to Swizerland for some skiing in 2 weeks, then Austria 2 weeks after that for a boys long weekend on the piste. Sadly no summer holiday for me this year as we have a big project in July at work, but the wife and kids off to Spain without me. Week of golf in Tenerife in October and a wedding in Aberdeen in November. Quote
bilbobaggins Posted January 31, 2012 Report Posted January 31, 2012 Was in Barca and Amsterdam in December. Algarve in a couple of weeks. Rabat in March. Will be nice to get some heat after months of shite. Paris - just south - in July. England next week. Manchester Weds but Birmingham next Thursday will be the best trip of the lot, surprisingly. Belfry? Quote
manc_don Posted January 31, 2012 Report Posted January 31, 2012 Manc, you MUST go to Parc Guell in Barca and you MUST go to La Sagrada Familia. Gaudi rocks. Orlando is shite. Worst part of America and worst place in the world. Just a horrible flat place full of horrible fat bastards. Aye been before, love the city! But it's one that you always manage to find something new Will definitely be going back to Parc Guell though Quote
BrownyBrown Posted January 31, 2012 Report Posted January 31, 2012 St Lucia this year for my honeymoon is booked. Nothing else so far. Planning a few holidays in Scotland this year, perhaps go back to Skye again. Quote
Mentorred Posted January 31, 2012 Report Posted January 31, 2012 Going to Maderia Beach near Tampa Florida for a week at Easter. Quote
amp Posted February 1, 2012 Report Posted February 1, 2012 Honeymoon in Cyrpus in August. London in mid-Feb. Quote
Tyrant Posted February 1, 2012 Report Posted February 1, 2012 St Lucia this year for my honeymoon is booked. Nothing else so far. Planning a few holidays in Scotland this year, perhaps go back to Skye again. Skye? Jesus. Have you seen the Hogmany Still Game special where they go to that remote island? That's what Skye reminded me of. The locals stare at ye because you're in a car they're nae familiar with! It was creepy but worth a day trip. Not longer! Quote
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted February 1, 2012 Report Posted February 1, 2012 Skye? Jesus. Have you seen the Hogmany Still Game special where they go to that remote island? That's what Skye reminded me of. The locals stare at ye because you're in a car they're nae familiar with! It was creepy but worth a day trip. Not longer! Went to Ullinish on Skye for some of my honeymoon and it was brilliant. Quote
Kowalski Posted February 1, 2012 Report Posted February 1, 2012 Skye? Jesus. Have you seen the Hogmany Still Game special where they go to that remote island? That's what Skye reminded me of. The locals stare at ye because you're in a car they're nae familiar with! It was creepy but worth a day trip. Not longer! You didn't wear your KKK outfit did you? I think Skye is great for a visit. Quote
rocket_scientist Posted February 1, 2012 Report Posted February 1, 2012 Skye is horrendous. I couldn't pass through quick enough. It's the Florida of Scotland, just not as flat. People-wise, just a blight on humanity. At least Fife and Glasgow are real in terms of their inhumanity. Skye folk are just weird. Edgar Allen Poe was thinking of Skye fruits when he wrote his shizz. South Uist however, through Skye one travels to find, is a delight. Their people are slightly less weird and more open, not being as cursed by Satan but their landscape is one in which you can breathe. In Skye, one gasps for air, the environs being cursed in blackness. Quote
Tyrant Posted February 2, 2012 Report Posted February 2, 2012 Went to Ullinish on Skye for some of my honeymoon and it was brilliant. I didn't realise that honeymoons were traditional with civil partnerships. You didn't wear your KKK outfit did you? I think Skye is great for a visit. It is great for a visit. Just a very short visit. Skye is horrendous. I couldn't pass through quick enough. It's the Florida of Scotland, just not as flat. People-wise, just a blight on humanity. At least Fife and Glasgow are real in terms of their inhumanity. Skye folk are just weird. Edgar Allen Poe was thinking of Skye fruits when he wrote his shizz. South Uist however, through Skye one travels to find, is a delight. Their people are slightly less weird and more open, not being as cursed by Satan but their landscape is one in which you can breathe. In Skye, one gasps for air, the environs being cursed in blackness. In what way does Skye compare to Florida? Quote
manc_don Posted February 2, 2012 Report Posted February 2, 2012 I can sort of see where rocket it coming from, though its somewhat of a generalisation as most of Florida isn't fake. Can't say I've ever had a bad experience on Skye apart from the ridiculous amount of rain they get. Quote
Kowalski Posted February 2, 2012 Report Posted February 2, 2012 There's alligators in Skye - hunners of them... and theme parks... and of course CSI:Portree And Mickey Mouse was on the island when Rocket visited... Quote