Tyrant Posted August 31, 2012 Share Posted August 31, 2012 I'm hearing Darren Mackie has retired. Hopefully now we can pack in all the jokes and rumours about him re-signing for us. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RDU_64 Posted August 31, 2012 Share Posted August 31, 2012 I'm hearing Darren Mackie has retired. Hopefully now we can pack in all the jokes and rumours about him re-signing for us. No big surprise given that he hasn't gotten a gig at another club. Thought he was a stick on for Ross County or a First Division club. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
BigAl Posted August 31, 2012 Share Posted August 31, 2012 I am astounded no one has offered him a deal of any kind, even if it were at lower level SFL. Wish him all the best in his retirement if this is the case, and thanks for "THAT" goal. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted August 31, 2012 Share Posted August 31, 2012 I am astounded no one has offered him a deal of any kind, even if it were at lower level SFL. Wish him all the best in his retirement if this is the case, and thanks for "THAT" goal. Likewise, would have thought he'd get a gig somewhere. Best of luck Darren! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted August 31, 2012 Author Share Posted August 31, 2012 Apparently he did get offers but obviously none of them were too good to turn down. His missus wants to stay in Aberdeen. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superstar Tradesman Posted August 31, 2012 Share Posted August 31, 2012 I am astounded no one has offered him a deal of any kind, even if it were at lower level SFL. Wish him all the best in his retirement if this is the case, and thanks for "THAT" goal. Three goals of his stick in my mind. Leaping like a salmon to head home against Nistru Otachi, which sent us to Berlin. D'nipro, again, another header and nicking the ball off Rab Douglas to win nine games in a row sending Pittodrie into a mass snowballing Christmas celebration! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
glasgow sheep Posted August 31, 2012 Share Posted August 31, 2012 All the best dazzler Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
El Padre™ Posted August 31, 2012 Share Posted August 31, 2012 This happened about two weeks ago I thought? A true don and gave us some great times. All the best Dazzler! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dandy Posted August 31, 2012 Share Posted August 31, 2012 Thought it happened 2 seasons ago!! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
TENEMENTFUNSTER Posted August 31, 2012 Share Posted August 31, 2012 A wee mention of a pearler he scored at Tynecastle too. All the best Dazzler if true. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
manc_don Posted August 31, 2012 Share Posted August 31, 2012 And his "strike" against Killie Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
mizer Posted August 31, 2012 Share Posted August 31, 2012 A wee mention of a pearler he scored at Tynecastle too. All the best Dazzler if true. Aye, that was a cracking goal! Also a special mention to the goal at Parkheid in the cup QF resulting in some bounce. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted August 31, 2012 Author Share Posted August 31, 2012 Aye, that was a cracking goal! Also a special mention to the goal at Parkheid in the cup QF resulting in some bounce. I was ill when I went to that game. That bounce did me no favours whatsoever. I thought I was going to die but I was ok with it. Undoubtedly Darren has provided us with some cracking moments. I too wish him all the best for the future. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madbadteacher Posted August 31, 2012 Share Posted August 31, 2012 How old is he? Hope he finds a good career somewhere either in or out of football. All the best Daz! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
RDU_64 Posted August 31, 2012 Share Posted August 31, 2012 Aye, that was a cracking goal! Also a special mention to the goal at Parkheid in the cup QF resulting in some bounce. Aye I travelled doon to that game. Best game and bounce I've been in! Still got the ticket which was up on my wall not so long ago! His goal against Hearts too was a cracker. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted August 31, 2012 Author Share Posted August 31, 2012 Aye I travelled doon to that game. Best game and bounce I've been in! Still got the ticket which was up on my wall not so long ago! His goal against Hearts too was a cracker. I think the John Budgie Stewart bounce in the 3-2 game was better tbh be honest. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
CtS Posted August 31, 2012 Share Posted August 31, 2012 Rumours he's retraining as a librarian. Awrabest loon, thanks for the memories. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted August 31, 2012 Share Posted August 31, 2012 Rumour he's getting taken on as a strikers coach at Pittodrie. All the best Dazzler, thanks for some special goals. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mentorred Posted August 31, 2012 Share Posted August 31, 2012 Apparently he did get offers but obviously none of them were too good to turn down. His missus wants to stay in Aberdeen. Surely something is better than nothing , and if it's cause his wife wants to stay in Aberdeen that kinda sucks. If you marry a footballer then you know there is a chance your going to be moving around alot. All the best Darren. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted August 31, 2012 Author Share Posted August 31, 2012 Surely something is better than nothing , and if it's cause his wife wants to stay in Aberdeen that kinda sucks. If you marry a footballer then you know there is a chance your going to be moving around alot. All the best Darren. I agree completely but I reckon Darren was very much of the same mindset as his missus on this one. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
maverick sheep Posted August 31, 2012 Share Posted August 31, 2012 A wee mention of a pearler he scored at Tynecastle too. All the best Dazzler if true. absolute peach Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reekie_Red Posted August 31, 2012 Share Posted August 31, 2012 nicking the ball off Rab Douglas to win nine games in a row sending Pittodrie into a mass snowballing Christmas celebration! Still one of the best memories I have of Pittodrie. The game itself was pretty shite except for three things ... Dadi skinning Bobo Baldi with a sublime piece of skill that bamboozled even himself Mackie's goal Pelting Alan Thompson with snabas Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kowalski Posted September 20, 2012 Share Posted September 20, 2012 Mackie sees rise of Phoenix Published: 20/09/2012 Former Aberdeen attacker Darren Mackie is poised for a surprise move to America. The 30-year-old, released by manager Craig Brown at the end of last season after 13 years, nearly 350 appearances and 67 goals for the Dons, has been training with Aberdeen as he has been unable to find a new club. Former Aberdeen and Rangers defender David Robertson, in charge of Phoenix FC who next April will make their debut in the second-tier USL Pro League, wants the Inverurie-born attacker to lead the new franchise in Arizona. I would change the title of the thread but I don't have the rights Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tyrant Posted September 20, 2012 Author Share Posted September 20, 2012 I would change the title of the thread but I don't have the rights Sorted. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reekie_Red Posted September 20, 2012 Share Posted September 20, 2012 Nice one, Beano. Hopefully he signs Mackie and the Kemnay kid makes a good name for himself state-side. Was it Mackie who was from Kemnay? Or was it Chris Clark? The above article says Mackie's fae Inverurie, but I'm sure he's from Kemnay Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...